Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 5 and earlier

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 2, 2012, 11:59 PM   #1
AdinaLeba
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Question How can I get my iPhone 3GS to recognize my AT&T SIM card after upgrade to iOS 5.1?

I upgraded my previously-unlocked iPhone 3GS to iOS 5.1 today, from iOS 4. I hadn't upgraded the OS in awhile (since the phone was unlocked before a trip overseas).

iTunes says: "There is no SIM card installed in the iPhone you are attempting to activate. Please disconnect and insert a SIM card in the iPhone." I tried taking out and reinserting the SIM card, but that didn't help. It seems that I cannot restore to factory settings now, since iTunes doesn't think my phone has a SIM card and so won't connect to my phone at all.

I realize now that I should have restored to factory settings before upgrading, but given that I did not, how can I fix this retroactively?

Help?!

Thanks!

Last edited by AdinaLeba; Apr 3, 2012 at 12:02 AM. Reason: wanted to add the question icon, since I didn't see it earlier
AdinaLeba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2012, 12:34 AM   #2
macbook pro i5
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdinaLeba View Post
I upgraded my previously-unlocked iPhone 3GS to iOS 5.1 today, from iOS 4. I hadn't upgraded the OS in awhile (since the phone was unlocked before a trip overseas).

iTunes says: "There is no SIM card installed in the iPhone you are attempting to activate. Please disconnect and insert a SIM card in the iPhone." I tried taking out and reinserting the SIM card, but that didn't help. It seems that I cannot restore to factory settings now, since iTunes doesn't think my phone has a SIM card and so won't connect to my phone at all.

I realize now that I should have restored to factory settings before upgrading, but given that I did not, how can I fix this retroactively?

Help?!

Thanks!
Put it it in DFU(device firmware update) mode here is how:
1)Turn the phone off
2)Press and hold the home/wake and sleep/power on button for 10 seconds
3)After the ten seconds let go of the power button and continue holding home button for a further 10 seconds.
Now iTunes will inform you that it has discovered an iPhone in recovery mode,Go to the iphone tab and it should give an option to restore the iPhone press that,after that let it do its thing now if you require additional assistance for DFU mode go to this link: http://limitededitioniphone.com/how-...mode/#comments
macbook pro i5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2012, 02:24 AM   #3
Holoshed
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Carolina
Send a message via AIM to Holoshed
Just to cover for information sake, are you sure it was hardware unlocked and not software unlocked? I know it's rejecting your AT&T sim which means over seas bought but I could still have been a software unlock which would make it not work when new iOS installed.

If it is hardware unlocked for sure then go into settings and reset is in there somewhere. Can try to do a full reset and let it try to activate connected to iTunes.
__________________
Developer and geek with lots of Apple devices
Holoshed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 01:55 PM   #4
theromulus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Having the same problem with my 3gs. AT&T unlocked my iPhone which I previously had unlocked with redsn0w. I plugged it in and got the phone unlocked message and everything worked fine. Then I decided to upgrade to 5.1 since it was unlocked. Now I keep getting the message that there is no SIM card installed in the phone you are attempting to activate. I have restored a few times deactivated with redsn0w and SAM and still getting this message with the at&t sim as well as a couple of different tmobile sims. Any advice? I tried the restore from dfu as was mentioned in one of the replies as well, still no good.
theromulus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 12:13 AM   #5
lelisa13p
macrumors 65816
 
lelisa13p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Have either of you tried calling AT&T, since they were the source of your unlock?
lelisa13p is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 5 and earlier

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC