Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 6, 2012, 08:56 AM   #1
macman0911
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Apple TV running Linux, I want iOS!

I got an Apple TV first generation on eBay running Gentoo Linux and I want to restore it to the standard Apple TV OS but I don't know how. Can anyone give me a way to do this without having to spend any money?
macman0911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2012, 09:11 AM   #2
maturola
macrumors 68040
 
maturola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Send a message via AIM to maturola
Quote:
Originally Posted by macman0911 View Post
I got an Apple TV first generation on eBay running Gentoo Linux and I want to restore it to the standard Apple TV OS but I don't know how. Can anyone give me a way to do this without having to spend any money?
You need a MIcro USB cable, then just hook the ATV to your computer, and use iTunes to restore. If that doesn't work, you may need to put the ATV on DFU (you can google or youtube that so you can get a step by step) and then restore.
__________________
Sometime when I am alone I Google myself!!!
13'' Unibody MacBook / Made by , Fix by the Dev Team
LockedUSB Adapter - USB Charger Firewall and Power Optimizer
maturola is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2012, 09:14 AM   #3
bucksaddle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
If you have purchased a 1st generation Apple TV (silver casing) and you manage to restore it you will not be getting the iOS based operating system seen on the current generation Apple TV's.
You will get the Mac OS X 10.4 based version which is not being updated anymore by Apple.
bucksaddle is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2012, 09:16 AM   #4
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by maturola View Post
You need a MIcro USB cable, then just hook the ATV to your computer, and use iTunes to restore. If that doesn't work, you may need to put the ATV on DFU (you can google or youtube that so you can get a step by step) and then restore.
That won't work on the first gen Apple TV.

You need to hope that the seller left the partitions intact. If he didn't, you're going to have a really hard restoring the Apple TV OS. Try starting it up in recovery mode. I don't remember the correct remote button sequence for it. If it does startup in recovery mode, just restore it. If it doesn't after a few attempts, then the partitions are no longer there and you'll have to pull the Apple TV's hard drive and restore them.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2012, 09:45 AM   #5
maturola
macrumors 68040
 
maturola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Send a message via AIM to maturola
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
That won't work on the first gen Apple TV.

You need to hope that the seller left the partitions intact. If he didn't, you're going to have a really hard restoring the Apple TV OS. Try starting it up in recovery mode. I don't remember the correct remote button sequence for it. If it does startup in recovery mode, just restore it. If it doesn't after a few attempts, then the partitions are no longer there and you'll have to pull the Apple TV's hard drive and restore them.
Yeah, you are right i got confuse since the OP said he wanted iOS and iOS doesn't run on the original TV, but he did said first generation, my mistake.
__________________
Sometime when I am alone I Google myself!!!
13'' Unibody MacBook / Made by , Fix by the Dev Team
LockedUSB Adapter - USB Charger Firewall and Power Optimizer
maturola is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2012, 10:25 AM   #6
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Well restoring it is easy with atvcloner.

The main issue you have is you need to find the boot, efi, and restore images that atvcloner needs to take your atv 1 back to normal.

The interwebs may offer those files.
dynaflash is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2012, 02:57 PM   #7
Gjwilly
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Is this any help?
http://stmlabs.com/forum/topic/how-t...tions-software
Gjwilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 03:21 PM   #8
Meanee
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
I used to sell ATV1 HDD upgrades on eBay. Made a shell script on a macbook and saved all partitions before. Took me quite a lot of time to do.

If you would like to, you can send me a hard drive, and I can image it for you. PM me if you want that option. As long as you pay for shipping, I will do that.
Meanee is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple replaced my iphone 5 running iOS 7! tmanto02 iOS 7 34 Aug 14, 2013 03:34 PM
Apple TV can now be set up with any iOS device running iOS 7 with Bluetooth! ethan028 Apple TV and Home Theater 16 Jul 30, 2013 01:57 PM
Running Linux on my Mac nathanfrancy Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 13 Jan 15, 2013 07:21 PM
General: Running redsn0w on Linux - Possible? AppleRob. Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Jan 4, 2013 02:21 PM
Running Linux on Mac? macuser1232 MacBook Pro 19 Jun 23, 2012 12:39 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps