Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 7, 2012, 09:09 AM   #1
duckhuntgangsta
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Airport Extreme vs. Airport Express

What is the difference between Airport Extreme vs. Airport Express? I read the description on both and it wasn't very clear.

I need a router but the Extreme seems to be a ridiculous amount to pay for a router despite it's solid reviews and sleek design. Am I missing something? The express seems reasonable but not sure if it meets my needs.

Not harping on Apple. I love my Mac, iPhone, and I'll be getting an iPad & Apple TV soon. Those are all worth the money to me, just not sure about the Airports.

Thx

DHG
duckhuntgangsta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2012, 09:11 AM   #2
TjeuV
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Belgium
Express is used to extend a network


Quote:
Originally Posted by duckhuntgangsta View Post
What is the difference between Airport Extreme vs. Airport Express? I read the description on both and it wasn't very clear.

I need a router but the Extreme seems to be a ridiculous amount to pay for a router despite it's solid reviews and sleek design. Am I missing something? The express seems reasonable but not sure if it meets my needs.

Not harping on Apple. I love my Mac, iPhone, and I'll be getting an iPad & Apple TV soon. Those are all worth the money to me, just not sure about the Airports.

Thx

DHG
__________________
No Nonsense!
TjeuV is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2012, 10:13 AM   #3
marzer
macrumors 65816
 
marzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Both the extreme and express are wifi routers. The extreme has more capabilities, such as ethernet ports and can have a printer or harddrive hooked to it. In fact using a usb hub you can hook multiple drives or ptinters to it. The extreme can extend an existing network but will not provide airplay functionality.

The express can act as a router or extend an exisitng network, but will also act as an airplay node for iTunes. It has a usb port but only for connecting a printer and cannot be extended with a hub.

Another point is wifi bands, extreme operates on 5 and 2.4 ghz simultaneously which provides significant throughput advantages. The express can operate on one or the other but not both simultaneously.

For selection it comes down to your needs and price tolerance. The express is a simple and cheap wifi router if your needs are simple and the area its covering not particulary large. If it suits your needs the airplay function is very handy.

The extreme has more capability for connecting: simultaneous bands, ethernet ports and usb expansion. With a drive connected it can be used as a remote time machine host for backups. But of course costs more.

Last edited by marzer; Apr 7, 2012 at 10:20 AM.
marzer is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2012, 04:52 PM   #4
DaveTheRave
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckhuntgangsta View Post
What is the difference between Airport Extreme vs. Airport Express? I read the description on both and it wasn't very clear.

I need a router but the Extreme seems to be a ridiculous amount to pay for a router despite it's solid reviews and sleek design. Am I missing something? The express seems reasonable but not sure if it meets my needs.
I have an Extreme and its great, no complaints at all. From what I've read the Extreme is generally "better" than the Express in terms of tech specs. However the Express beats the Extreme in portability and the Express also has Airtunes/Airplay functionality, which for some reason is missing in the Extreme.

The Extreme is a bit heavy, but not a big deal because its not meant to be moved around. Just set it and forget it. I read somewhere the Extreme has 3 antennas inside. I thought I read somewhere that the Express only has 1. So you'd think that the Extreme has better range than the Express but I can't confirm that anywhere. The Apple website doesn't go into specifics, only saying that Express is good for small homes and apartments and the Extreme is good for homes and businesses.
DaveTheRave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2012, 09:23 AM   #5
kylera
macrumors 65816
 
kylera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seoul
Another feature the Express has which isn't widely advertised since it is minor is the ability to connect devices that have no wireless wirelessly.

As for the Extreme and its priciness, I do agree that it is on the expensive side. However, having owned one for a year and not having to fix it or redo it during that year, I think that lack of going on the fritz makes it worth the price. I had a different router before that, but I had to keep it close to reset it every now amd then, causing not only me, but others in my house annoyance. Not anymore with the Extreme.
__________________
Current Macs: 2012 13" MBA | 2011 27" iMac
Current iOS: iPad 4 cellular 64GB | iPhone 5C 16GB
Retired: PowerBook G4 12" | eMac 700Mhz| iPhone 4S 16GB
kylera is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2012, 09:47 AM   #6
Medic278
macrumors 6502a
 
Medic278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New York
I currently have the Express and couldn't be happier. I think its great, my issue was my router supplied by my ISP didn't really have a powerful signal and I needed one because I like to work my deck or my balcony when the weather is nice. I picked up the Express 2 days ago, it took about 45 seconds to install and get up and running and works great. The extreme is useful if your running a lot off your router, for example, your Macs, iPods/iPhones, iPad, Video games etc etc then I would go extreme, but if all you want it for is a Mac or two then express is the way to go its cheaper and very capable and will make you happy.
__________________
2011 13" MacBook Pro 240GB Intel 520 SSD | 2011 11" MacBook Air 128SSD | 2011 27"iMac |
64gb+3g iPad1 | 16gb iPhone 4 | TV 2 |

Last edited by Medic278; Apr 8, 2012 at 09:48 AM. Reason: Spelling
Medic278 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2014, 08:57 AM   #7
bilh39
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Airport Extreme vs. Airport Express

Thank you who posted clear answers to this perplexing question.

One wonders why Apple does not give this information on its Apple Store web site
bilh39 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2014, 09:36 AM   #8
smellalot
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilh39 View Post
Thank you who posted clear answers to this perplexing question.

One wonders why Apple does not give this information on its Apple Store web site
They do:
http://www.apple.com/compare-wifi-models/
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 13" 2012 i5 2,5Ghz 8GB RAM 128GB SSD
iPad 4 16GB WiFi
iPhone 5 16 GB Black
smellalot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2014, 09:45 AM   #9
michsunshine
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Would AirPort Extreme solve my problem?

I currently use Airport Express with my new Imac. I changed over from a windows computer and a Linkyss router. I also use a Verizon Network Extender that requires an Ethernet port. It is not working with my Airport Express. The Verizon Extender increases my cellular signal from one bar to five bars in my home, so I need it to work. Here is the link explaining the set up for my Verizon Extender.

http://www.verizonwireless.com/dam/s...ser_manual.pdf

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.
michsunshine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2014, 12:51 PM   #10
Altemose
macrumors 604
 
Altemose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States of America
Quote:
Originally Posted by michsunshine View Post
I currently use Airport Express with my new Imac. I changed over from a windows computer and a Linkyss router. I also use a Verizon Network Extender that requires an Ethernet port. It is not working with my Airport Express. The Verizon Extender increases my cellular signal from one bar to five bars in my home, so I need it to work. Here is the link explaining the set up for my Verizon Extender.

http://www.verizonwireless.com/dam/s...ser_manual.pdf

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.
Make a new thread next time so you can get the right help. Did you connect the extender via Ethernet to the Express?
__________________
Altemose
Altemose is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2014, 01:23 PM   #11
mneblett
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by michsunshine View Post
I currently use Airport Express with my new Imac. I changed over from a windows computer and a Linkyss router. I also use a Verizon Network Extender that requires an Ethernet port. It is not working with my Airport Express. The Verizon Extender increases my cellular signal from one bar to five bars in my home, so I need it to work. Here is the link explaining the set up for my Verizon Extender.

http://www.verizonwireless.com/dam/s...ser_manual.pdf

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.
If you are running your ISP's cable into the Express (i.e., in WAN mode), you cannot use the second Ethernet port as a LAN port for the range extender. See here: http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201577 (note the comment that WAN and LAN cannot be used simultaneously).

If you want to stay Apple, you need to have an Airport Exreteme or a Time Capsule, both of which have several Ethernet LAN ports in addition to a single WAN port.
mneblett is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2014, 02:42 PM   #12
Altemose
macrumors 604
 
Altemose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States of America
Quote:
Originally Posted by mneblett View Post
If you are running your ISP's cable into the Express (i.e., in WAN mode), you cannot use the second Ethernet port as a LAN port for the range extender. See here: http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201577 (note the comment that WAN and LAN cannot be used simultaneously).

If you want to stay Apple, you need to have an Airport Exreteme or a Time Capsule, both of which have several Ethernet LAN ports in addition to a single WAN port.
The second generation AirPort Express has both a WAN and a LAN port.
__________________
Altemose
Altemose is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2014, 04:27 PM   #13
michsunshine
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
I have a blue light for my power and also for my wan on my network extender, talking to Verizon now to see if we can get a blue light for system and gps, then I will be all set. So I do not think its an apple issue as much as we are trying to connect it direct to my cable modem now and its doing the same thing. Will keep you advised.
michsunshine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2014, 04:33 PM   #14
Altemose
macrumors 604
 
Altemose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States of America
Quote:
Originally Posted by michsunshine View Post
I have a blue light for my power and also for my wan on my network extender, talking to Verizon now to see if we can get a blue light for system and gps, then I will be all set. So I do not think its an apple issue as much as we are trying to connect it direct to my cable modem now and its doing the same thing. Will keep you advised.
Which Express do you have and are you running a Double NAT config?
__________________
Altemose
Altemose is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2014, 06:23 PM   #15
michsunshine
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
I have AirPort Express 802.11n (2nd Generation)

I think all Verizon was trying to do was see if my Network Extender would work connected direct to my modem, which so far it has not. This would tell them if maybe my extender is defective or if I had an issue with my router. They said the Extender shoul work off my router also.
michsunshine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2014, 11:12 AM   #16
mmomega
macrumors Demi-God
 
mmomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckhuntgangsta View Post
What is the difference between Airport Extreme vs. Airport Express? I read the description on both and it wasn't very clear.

I need a router but the Extreme seems to be a ridiculous amount to pay for a router despite it's solid reviews and sleek design. Am I missing something? The express seems reasonable but not sure if it meets my needs.

Not harping on Apple. I love my Mac, iPhone, and I'll be getting an iPad & Apple TV soon. Those are all worth the money to me, just not sure about the Airports.

Thx

DHG
You can use both the Express or Extreme as your main router.
That being said the Express has some limitations.

One being it only has 1 ethernet input and 1 ethernet output.
Extreme has 1 input and 3 outputs.

Express handles up to 802.11n WiFi speeds.
Extreme handles up to 802.11ac WiFi speeds.

The extreme also has much stronger antennas to better cover your household with WiFi goodness.

IMHO, the Express would be a good router in a small setting, think college dorm or small apartment.
Extreme would be better suited to cover the square footage of a 1,300+ sq ft home.
__________________
2013 iMac 27" i7, 32GBRAM, GTX780M, 256GB Flash, VESA, Yosemite
2012 Mac Mini Server w/ 23TB Storage, DS1515+
iPad Air 32GB, iPhone 6+ Gold 128GB, iPad Mini 16GB
3x AEBS 802.11ac, 5x AppleTV
mmomega is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance issues when extending airport extreme network with airport express Birkovic Mac Peripherals 17 Sep 1, 2014 08:47 AM
Bridge Mode for Airport Extreme & Airport Express? ssavanna OS X Mavericks (10.9) 7 Apr 1, 2014 10:22 AM
Questions RE: Airport Express (2012) vs. Airport Extreme (2011) warvanov Mac Peripherals 3 Jan 3, 2014 12:15 PM
Streaming live Audio from Airport Extreme to an Airport Express (not iTunes/Airplay) marku5 Mac Peripherals 10 Sep 4, 2013 08:53 AM
Wireless Setup Question: Airport Express or New Airport Extreme? Mac21ND Mac Peripherals 7 Aug 2, 2013 12:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2015, MacRumors.com, LLC