Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 9, 2012, 06:10 AM   #1
parish
macrumors 65816
 
parish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wilts., UK
iMac G3 127GB disk limit

I read somewhere that G3 iMacs have a 127GB disk limit (it said disk, not volume).

My G3 was running Jaguar and when I connected my Firewire disk the main volume (490GB) didn't show up, just the two smaller volumes, which I expected.

Now I've done a clean install of Tiger and not only does the main volume now mount, I can browse it, open files on it, and Finder reports the correct size and free space.

So does this mean that the 127GB limit is (was) an OS limit so I could replace the very noisy 10GB HDD with one >127GB?
__________________
Retina MBP 2.6GHz/16GB/512GB | MBP3,1 15.4"/2.4GHz/6GB/160GB | 400MHz Ruby iMac G3 | 32GB iPhone 5C | 32GB iPhone 4S | 32GB Wi-Fi iPad | AEBS | ATV3
parish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 06:35 AM   #2
pistooli
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hungary
You can even use the 500GB drive. Just partition it to four 125GB parts.
__________________
MacBook Air, 13", Mid 2012, Mountain Lion
Mac Mini, Late 2006, upgraded to 2GHz, 2GB, Lion 10.7.5
iBook G4, 1.42 MHz, 1.5 GB, 160 GB, Leopard
PowerBook 5300cs, 3400c, G3 Pismo, Mac Mini G4 1,33
pistooli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 08:00 AM   #3
parish
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
parish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wilts., UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by pistooli View Post
You can even use the 500GB drive. Just partition it to four 125GB parts.
It's a boot limit then, i.e. it can't boot from a volume >127GB
parish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 10:04 AM   #4
92WardSenatorFE
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Send a message via AIM to 92WardSenatorFE Send a message via MSN to 92WardSenatorFE
The 128GB limit is a hardware limitation, not an OS limitation (as long as you are using Mac OS 10.2+). Tiger has nothing to do with it.
__________________
MacBook (Early 2008) 2.4GHz, iMac G4 17" 1GHz, iBook G4 14" 1.33GHz, iBook G3 12" 500MHz
92WardSenatorFE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 10:16 AM   #5
parish
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
parish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wilts., UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by 92WardSenatorFE View Post
The 128GB limit is a hardware limitation, not an OS limitation (as long as you are using Mac OS 10.2+). Tiger has nothing to do with it.
The limit is only for the boot volume then?
parish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 10:24 AM   #6
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
My understanding is that this is a hardware limitation period, not just the boot volume - but I'm no expert.

This might help. Inetech Speedtools ATA High Capacity driver. It's a high capacity driver that loads at boot time and allows you to see the full volume of the boot drive. The only downside is that you have to have one 127GB partition and a second partition. But that's better than 4 or more.
__________________
PMG4 QS - 1.6Ghz DP | Sprint iPhone 5 - 64GB Black/Slate, iOS 7.1.2 <== I HATE iOS7!!!
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!

Last edited by eyoungren; Apr 9, 2012 at 10:29 AM.
eyoungren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 12:06 PM   #7
parish
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
parish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wilts., UK
Ah, this is me being thick isn't it?

The limit applies to internal disks, but not external ones, hence why my 490GB FW drive works?
parish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 12:10 PM   #8
adcx64
macrumors 65816
 
adcx64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cudi Zone
^yes

The limit is in the IDE controller. This is why the firewire drive works fine.
__________________
iPhone 5S, iOS 7, Verizon LTE
Xbox One (Titanfall Alpha!)
Competitive Call of Duty
adcx64 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I don't want to be a bad mom, but... [how to limit son's time on iMac] karinatwork OS X 32 May 3, 2014 11:51 AM
help please;copy windows 7 onto usb from disk for imac without disk drive help please samich08 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Aug 18, 2013 12:09 PM
Zeroing external hard drives - does Disk Utility limit you to one at a time? Charlie Croker OS X 1 Nov 8, 2012 08:53 AM
External disk repair can't unmount disk / disk still in use diskwarrior musio OS X 0 Aug 16, 2012 02:04 PM
iTunes Match 25,000 limit/Amazon Cloud Player 250,000 limit kingledley Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jul 31, 2012 04:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC