Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 10, 2012, 02:53 PM   #1
wrinkster22
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
iMac G4 As Tv?

Hey,
I need so help getting an iMac G4, I know many of you know lots about them (Like Goftery). The iMac would be like a tv, I would connect my usb hard drive to it and watch the content.
The specs are:
It is a 17" screen (no dead pixels)
1 GHz Power PC processor
512 Ram
USB 2.0
Super Drive (burnes DVD
80 GB Hard Drive
no airport
comes with keyboard, speakers, and mouse
They are asking $130

Would it be able to:
-play 480p content or the occasional 720p?
-play youtube content (mactubes)
thats it..
Is it a good price?
Can it do those things?
What upgrades could I do?
thanks a lot.
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 04:24 PM   #2
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kepler 186F
I don't know where you got the idea that I know a lot about these, as I've never owned, or used one before.

But I'll base my answer around my 1ghz eMac (similar machines, specs etc.)

It'll play 480p fine (not streamed video of course), but no way will it play 720p.
It'll play YouTube videos fine through MacTubes & will play 240p in the browser no problems.
$130 (80 in my country) is a fantastic price, I'd grab that as soon as I could get my hands on it if I were you.
As for upgrades, you could get yourself 2gb RAM, then install Leopard (I run Leopard on my eMac with 512mb RAM & it's really sluggish). There doesn't seem much point in upgrading the hard drive considering you'll be watching movies of an external.

Sorry I couldn't be more help. I'm really un-knowledgeable when it comes to G4 iMacs.

But for that price, definitely buy it ASAP. It's a really nice machine for a really great price.
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, 750GB HDD, HD5770 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB, 32GB SSD, 9700 | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz | PowerMac G5 2x 2.3GHz | OnePlus One 64GB | Canon EOS 500D
Goftrey is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 04:31 PM   #3
wrinkster22
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goftrey View Post
snip
You do know something
Thanks for the information. Most of my content is not 720 anyway (only a few things)
Realistically this will just play 480p content from a USB 2 hard drive.
Do I need the ram upgrade?
Also what version of iTunes would it support?
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 04:34 PM   #4
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kepler 186F
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinkster22 View Post
You do know something
Thanks for the information. Most of my content is not 720 anyway (only a few things)
Realistically this will just play 480p content from a USB 2 hard drive.
Do I need the ram upgrade?
Also what version of iTunes would it support?
Tiger will run iTunes 9.2.1
Leopard will run the current version of iTunes (10.6)

For Leopard, I highly recommend at LEAST 1gb RAM. 512 or 768mb just doesn't cut it IMO.
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, 750GB HDD, HD5770 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB, 32GB SSD, 9700 | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz | PowerMac G5 2x 2.3GHz | OnePlus One 64GB | Canon EOS 500D
Goftrey is online now   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 04:35 PM   #5
wrinkster22
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
This would be the first computer upgrade I will have done (Air user)
Where could I get iMac g4 ram (I assume it is different then new stuff!)
And would iFixit have a guide?
Thanks
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 04:45 PM   #6
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kepler 186F
I've just realised if it is a 17" 1ghz, it can't have USB 2.0, they only have USB 1.1.

Anyway, iFixit don't seem to have a guide on there for whatever reason. Here's a random YouTube dude replacing in the 'harder' RAM slot. There's two slots, one is really simple, the other, not so.



The RAM slot under the base plate will be a PC2100 SODIMM & the other (on the logicboard) will take a 184-pin DIMM.

EDIT - Also, as shown in the video, you'll have to apply some paste on the heatsink.
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, 750GB HDD, HD5770 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB, 32GB SSD, 9700 | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz | PowerMac G5 2x 2.3GHz | OnePlus One 64GB | Canon EOS 500D
Goftrey is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 04:51 PM   #7
cocacolakid
macrumors 6502a
 
cocacolakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago
You can check the specs, what ram they use, etc. for any Mac at Everymac.

Here is the link for the iMac G4 you're considering...

http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl...1.0_17_fp.html

It can take 2 1GB sticks of either PC2100 (which is the ram it came with) or PC2700 (which is faster but will only run at PC2100 speeds). Whenever you see a machine that can run two speeds of ram, always check which one is less expensive, sometimes there is a great difference in what each type is selling for at today's prices. Also, don't mix the two speeds, make sure each stick you have is the same as the other - i.e. 2 PC2100's, but not 1 PC2100 and 1 PC2700. Mixing ram often leads to kernal panics and instability.

You can shop on eBay or if you prefer to shop somewhere else, OWC carries a bunch of upgrades for that Mac, including ram. Here is their link for ram...

http://eshop.macsales.com/MyOWC/Upgrades.cfm?model=177[COLOR="#808080"]

----------
__________________
2012 Mini 2.3 i7 Samsung 840 250 GB SSD 16GB RAM
2012 13" MBP Samsung SSD, 16GB RAM
TBD, iPad 4, iPhone 4S

Last edited by cocacolakid; Apr 10, 2012 at 05:01 PM.
cocacolakid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 04:54 PM   #8
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kepler 186F
Quote:
Originally Posted by cocacolakid View Post
Everymac says that model unofficially supports 2gb.
I was on about USB speeds, not the RAM capacity
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, 750GB HDD, HD5770 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB, 32GB SSD, 9700 | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz | PowerMac G5 2x 2.3GHz | OnePlus One 64GB | Canon EOS 500D
Goftrey is online now   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 04:55 PM   #9
wrinkster22
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goftrey View Post
Snip
Thanks for that video, I will definitely take a look. Why do you say that it could not have USB 2.0? I doubt my intended use will work if it does not


Quote:
Originally Posted by cocacolakid View Post
Snip
Are you sure that is the model I am looking at? I don't think I can use this if it uses USB 1. Thanks for the ram, I am assuming that all iMac G4's use the same ram.
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 04:56 PM   #10
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
I have that exact iMac model. It can do some stuff if the content is played back with VLC 1.1.12 and it isn't too high quality. If you want to use a USB TV tuner type device with it, it won't work. USB 1.1 doesn't have enough bandwidth for television signals.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cocacolakid View Post
Everymac says that model unofficially supports 2gb.
The USB speed is 1.1. Not a maximum of 2Gb.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinkster22 View Post
Thanks for that video, I will definitely take a look. Why do you say that it could not have USB 2.0? I doubt my intended use will work if it does not
Are you sure that is the model I am looking at? I don't think I can use this if it uses USB 1. Thanks for the ram, I am assuming that all iMac G4's use the same ram.
That iMac has USB 1.1, not 2.0. The only G4 iMacs that have USB 2 are the 1Ghz 15" and the 1.25Ghz 17/21" models. Not all G4 iMacs use the same RAM. Some use PC133 or PC2100 or PC2700 depending on the model.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 04:57 PM   #11
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kepler 186F
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinkster22 View Post
Thanks for that video, I will definitely take a look. Why do you say that it could not have USB 2.0? I doubt my intended use will work if it does not




Are you sure that is the model I am looking at? I don't think I can use this if it uses USB 1. Thanks for the ram, I am assuming that all iMac G4's use the same ram.

----------



Oh good you scared me a little!
Yep, it's USB 1.1

You could buy yourself a FW400 caddy & run off that? It's just a great price, it'd be a shame to pass it up because it only has USB 1.1
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, 750GB HDD, HD5770 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB, 32GB SSD, 9700 | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz | PowerMac G5 2x 2.3GHz | OnePlus One 64GB | Canon EOS 500D
Goftrey is online now   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 05:01 PM   #12
wrinkster22
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Snip
Thanks Intell, I was not referring to a tuner, the purpose of this was to play my iTunes content as I can not run cable to where it will be located
Lets get this straight:
USB-1.1
Ram: 2gb
?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goftrey View Post
Snip
Could I get a firewire>usb 2 adapter? is there such thing?
I am almost positive I am going to get this!
Thanks again
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 05:04 PM   #13
cocacolakid
macrumors 6502a
 
cocacolakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago
My mistake.

Here is a handy photo guide for removing the bottom and upgrading the ram or other parts:

http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/systems/i...takeapart.html

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinkster22 View Post
Lets get this straight:
USB-1.1
Ram: 2gb
?
Correct.
__________________
2012 Mini 2.3 i7 Samsung 840 250 GB SSD 16GB RAM
2012 13" MBP Samsung SSD, 16GB RAM
TBD, iPad 4, iPhone 4S
cocacolakid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 05:05 PM   #14
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinkster22 View Post
Lets get this straight:
USB-1.1
Ram: 2gb
?

Could I get a firewire>usb 2 adapter? is there such thing?
I am almost positive I am going to get this!
Thanks again
Correct, USB 1.1 and 2Gb. FireWire to USB adapters/converters do not exist.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 05:07 PM   #15
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kepler 186F
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinkster22 View Post
Thanks Intell, I was not referring to a tuner, the purpose of this was to play my iTunes content as I can not run cable to where it will be located
Lets get this straight:
USB-1.1
Ram: 2gb
?



Could I get a firewire>usb 2 adapter? is there such thing?
I am almost positive I am going to get this!
Thanks again
USB 1.1
2gb RAM (1gb officially supported)

And I haven't actually found FW400 to USB adapters.

EDIT - Just found some FW400 to USB adapters in Hong Kong Here. Not sure if they'll achieve USB 2.0 speeds, it says so, but these Hong Kong & Chinese companies tend to speak out of their backsides when advertising their products. They're male USB as well, so looking a bit weird to be honest with you.
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, 750GB HDD, HD5770 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB, 32GB SSD, 9700 | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz | PowerMac G5 2x 2.3GHz | OnePlus One 64GB | Canon EOS 500D
Goftrey is online now   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 05:09 PM   #16
cocacolakid
macrumors 6502a
 
cocacolakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinkster22 View Post
Could I get a firewire>usb 2 adapter? is there such thing?
I am almost positive I am going to get this!
Thanks again
You want to run an external USB 2.0 hard drive connected to this?

The machine has 3 USB 1.1 ports (I think it's actually 2, the 3rd is on the keyboard) and 2 Firewire 400 ports.

There are no Firewire to USB adapters that I am aware of. You could buy an external hard drive or external hard drive case that has Firewire 400 ports on it and it will run far faster than USB 1.1 speeds (and almost the same theoretically as USB 2.0. FW400 is 400mbps compared to USB 2.0's 480mbps, although Firewire to me has always seemed faster than USB, period.)
__________________
2012 Mini 2.3 i7 Samsung 840 250 GB SSD 16GB RAM
2012 13" MBP Samsung SSD, 16GB RAM
TBD, iPad 4, iPhone 4S
cocacolakid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 05:11 PM   #17
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goftrey View Post
EDIT - Just found some FW400 to USB adapters in Hong Kong Here. Not sure if they'll achieve USB 2.0 speeds, it says so, but these Hong Kong & Chinese companies tend to speak out of their backsides when advertising their products. They're male USB as well, so looking a bit weird to be honest with you.
Those won't work. You'd probably end up blowing your device or computer if you tried using on of those. The bus types are much too different for anything short of an actual computer to convert between.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 05:20 PM   #18
wrinkster22
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
Providing their is no adapter..
I already have a usb 3.0 Hard drive.
How hard would it be to upgrade the internal hard drive of the g4?
Would it me unbearable for 480p to go over usb 1?
how much are FW hard drives?
My mac, does not have a firewire port anyway.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by cocacolakid View Post
You want to run an external USB 2.0 hard drive connected to this?
yup
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 05:21 PM   #19
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
The internal hard drives in G4 iMacs are a bit tricky to get to. You have to open the dome and remove the drive caddy and then the hard drive. Don't forget to replace the heatsink grease on the two posts or it will over heat.

FireWire drives typically run slightly more than USB 2 hard drives of the same size.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 05:24 PM   #20
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kepler 186F
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinkster22 View Post
Providing their is no adapter..
I already have a usb 3.0 Hard drive.
How hard would it be to upgrade the internal hard drive of the g4?
Would it me unbearable for 480p to go over usb 1?
how much are FW hard drives?
My mac, does not have a firewire port anyway.[COLOR="#808080"]
Here's an iFixit manual on replacing a 17" iMac hard drive.

Firewire caddies are relatively cheap, depending on what sort of quality you're expecting, I spent 20 ($35 approx.) no a FW400 caddy from CiT once, and it really was shockingly poorly put together. I'd spend at least 30 on a caddy, and then you can put yourself any 3.5" SATA hard drive in there.
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, 750GB HDD, HD5770 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB, 32GB SSD, 9700 | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz | PowerMac G5 2x 2.3GHz | OnePlus One 64GB | Canon EOS 500D
Goftrey is online now   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 05:24 PM   #21
wrinkster22
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
snip
Seeing as I have never done a computer upgrade I do not think I want to attempt this!
My macbook air clearly does not have a firewire port so thats also not ideal
How unbearable would it be through Usb 1?

Eventually I will copy 40 gb of media onto the internal disk then drag that onto the firewire disk. I will need to do that 2 or 3 times.
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 05:26 PM   #22
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinkster22 View Post
Seeing as I have never done a computer upgrade I do not think I want to attempt this!
My macbook air clearly does not have a firewire port so thats also not ideal
How unbearable would it be through Usb 1?

Eventually I will copy 40 gb of media onto the internal disk then drag that onto the firewire disk. I will need to do that 2 or 3 times.
Most FireWire caddies and hard drives come with a USB port as well as FireWire. USB 1.1 maxes out at 1.5 megabytes per second. Not very fast. For comparison, USB 2 is about 32 megabytes per second and FireWire is about 36 megabytes per second. If you want to upgrade it to its max of 2Gb, you'll have to open the dome. At that point, you'll be half way with removing the old hard drive.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 06:07 PM   #23
wrinkster22
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
Due to my lack of abilities, How difficult would it be & how expensive would it be to:
-upgrade ram to 2gb
-install 320gb hard drive
-thermal paste?
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 06:09 PM   #24
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
You'll have to look at Goftrey's posted link for the hard drive upgrade. If you can't do that, you can at least upgrade the ram to 1.25Gb just by removing the bottom plate instead of opening up the dome.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 08:14 PM   #25
wrinkster22
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
Thanks for all the help,
I am not sure if I am getting the iMac but if I do:
-Copy external contents to internal (as much as fits)
-get external drive in the future
-upgrade ram at the same time
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac SMC Firmware Update 1.1 - Fan Noise - Late 2013 27 iMac alksion iMac 139 Jan 17, 2014 09:51 AM
Help, Erased iMac HDD volume drive trying reset my iMac to factory conditions trueq iMac 12 Dec 23, 2013 09:27 AM
Is possible to install Ati HD 6670m (iMac 2011 21,5) in iMac 27 late 2009?? Gianca90 iMac 4 Nov 5, 2013 04:08 PM
Late 2009 27" iMac Graphics Card DYING AGAIN. Which new iMac to replace it? DracoDWS iMac 0 Sep 29, 2013 08:50 PM
iMac late 2012 not the same brightness as iMac 2011/2010/2009? Krrrt iMac 10 May 16, 2013 08:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC