Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 17, 2012, 06:01 PM   #51
ITGuy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prime85 View Post
Anyone have any news on Miami? Ill be buying an unlocked iPhone 5 when they go on sale and I hope they get the 3g running.... and LTE hopefully by the summer
I heard from a T-Mobile employee that the frequency refarming for Miami/Fort Lauderdale with 1900 PCS HSPA+ 42 Mbps will be ready by mid-October. This is around the same time that T-Mobile will also have nano-SIM cards available for use with iPhone 5.

I pre-ordered an unlocked iPhone 5 from Canada and it will be delivered on Sep 21. I'll have it up and running on T-Mobile's 2G network by cutting and sanding my SIM card to nano size. Mid-October can't come soon enough so I can enjoy my iPhone 5 on T-Mobile's 4G HSPA+ 42 Mbps network.

-ITG
ITGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 08:12 PM   #52
DorkieDoode
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Cutting and sanding? Is that even possible? I cut my sim to micro for it to fit on an iPhone 4 and I cant find anymore place you can cut unless it straight into the metal contact.
DorkieDoode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 08:43 PM   #53
richyirich
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITGuy View Post
I pre-ordered an unlocked iPhone 5 from Canada and it will be delivered on Sep 21.
Are US citizens allowed to order unlocked iPhone 5 through Apple Store Canada?
richyirich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 09:16 PM   #54
ivnj
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
No need for all that just get a sim cutter.

http://www.amazon.com/Micro-SIM-Cutt...rds=sim+cutter
__________________
Mac mini 2011 2.3ghz i5 2gb ram.
ivnj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 09:18 PM   #55
ITGuy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by DorkieDoode View Post
Cutting and sanding? Is that even possible? I cut my sim to micro for it to fit on an iPhone 4 and I cant find anymore place you can cut unless it straight into the metal contact.
Yes you can cut into the metal contact. The chip underneath is actually very small. See the template @ http://www.airportal.de/How_to_cut_M...o_Nano_SIM.pdf

Also see http://asia.cnet.com/can-you-convert...m-62218746.htm

-ITG

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivnj View Post
No need for all that just get a sim cutter.

http://www.amazon.com/Micro-SIM-Cutt...rds=sim+cutter
That may not work as nano-SIM cards are also THINNER. We have to wait until iPhone 5 is available to see if it will fit in the nano-SIM tray without sanding. If it is too thick you will have to sand it down or obtain an official nano-SIM from your wireless carrier.

-ITG

Last edited by ITGuy; Sep 17, 2012 at 09:36 PM.
ITGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 09:20 PM   #56
ivnj
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
actually my bad they sell a micro card already

http://www.t-mobile.com/shop/phones/...micro-sim-card
__________________
Mac mini 2011 2.3ghz i5 2gb ram.
ivnj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 09:22 PM   #57
ITGuy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by richyirich View Post
Are US citizens allowed to order unlocked iPhone 5 through Apple Store Canada?
Anyone can purchase from Apple Canada if you have a Canadian shipping address. I just added the Canadian address as an authorized shipping address on my US credit card so the charge would be authorized. Easy peasy.

-ITG
ITGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 03:19 PM   #58
MizterKewl
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Question 3G in Atlanta!?

I feel like everyone is West...is there anyone in the South getting 3G? I'm hoping Atlanta pops up soon!
MizterKewl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 08:38 PM   #59
dolphin842
macrumors 65816
 
dolphin842's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by mellofello View Post
Do you guys really save enough money to justify being on 2g most of the time? I would seriously jump off a bridge if I was relegated to edge speeds.
For our particular needs, a family plan would be $70/month cheaper on T-Mobile vs AT&T (plus T-mobile would have soft-cap data instead of overages). Even paying retail for a few new iPhones, we'd still be well ahead (and contract-free) with T-mobile after a year.
dolphin842 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 11:10 AM   #60
midiyuga
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Got 3G or actually 4G speed in Cedar Park Texas!!!

Was at Hillsong Live Concert in Cedar Park Texas and Got 4G speed on my Factory Unlocked Iphone 4S!!! on Thursday Sept 20 2012.
I was at mall mall strip at Hwy 183 and FM 1431http://cdn.macrumors.com/vb/images/smilies/smile.gif


I live in austin so my happiness did not last...http://cdn.macrumors.com/vb/images/smilies/confused.gif
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0149.PNG
Views:	34
Size:	482.3 KB
ID:	361755  
midiyuga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 11:27 AM   #61
Mr Hill
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by midiyuga View Post
Was at Hillsong Live Concert in Cedar Park Texas and Got 4G speed on my Factory Unlocked Iphone 4S!!! on Thursday Sept 20 2012.
I was at mall mall strip at Hwy 183 and FM 1431http://cdn.macrumors.com/vb/images/smilies/smile.gif


I live in austin so my happiness did not last...http://cdn.macrumors.com/vb/images/smilies/confused.gif
Very nice. Still on Edge here in Charlotte. I want to buy a 5 but there's no point until they finish the refarm. Since the 5 supports hspa+ 42, I believe we will be able to see download speeds of around 20mbps like some of t-mobile's androids do.
Mr Hill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 12:00 AM   #62
snarestud940
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Anyone in Connecticut seeing 3G speeds? Can't wait to see the refarm.
__________________
13" Aluminum Macbook (Late 2008), 21.5" iMac (2012)
iPod Touch 2nd Gen, 8 GB, Apple TV (2012)
iPad 3rd Gen, 16 GB
iPhone 6+, 64 GB, T-Mobile
snarestud940 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 12:05 AM   #63
milan03
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York City
Go here: http://airportal.de And you'll know if it's available.
If you see 3G in your location and it's not on the map, add it.

Thanks.
__________________
2013 15" rMBP 2.6Ghz, 16GB RAM, 1TB
milan03 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 12:09 AM   #64
snarestud940
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Bummer. Not yet. Will the entire country be refarmed eventually?
__________________
13" Aluminum Macbook (Late 2008), 21.5" iMac (2012)
iPod Touch 2nd Gen, 8 GB, Apple TV (2012)
iPad 3rd Gen, 16 GB
iPhone 6+, 64 GB, T-Mobile
snarestud940 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 01:37 AM   #65
Jj0248
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I've been getting 3G on and off around JFK airport since the month started, and some times around LGA!
Jj0248 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 02:12 AM   #66
fmlmann
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
3G in Tacoma/Seattle?

Hi, I currently have a Galaxy S2, but am considering moving to the iPhone 4S (originally an iPhone user, but got tired of EDGE) Any confirmation in the Tacoma area?

Last edited by fmlmann; Sep 25, 2012 at 02:12 AM. Reason: typo
fmlmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 11:06 AM   #67
richyirich
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmlmann View Post
Hi, I currently have a Galaxy S2, but am considering moving to the iPhone 4S (originally an iPhone user, but got tired of EDGE) Any confirmation in the Tacoma area?
Check http://www.airportal.de. I get 3G on my iPhone 4S when I'm outside of my office at work in Bothell, but goes back to EDGE as soon as I head in the building. Still no 3G sightings in Mukilteo/Everett area.
__________________
15" rMBP, 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7, 8 GB RAM, 1600 MHz DDR3
iPhone 5S 16GB
iPod Classic 160GB
Sony a77 + 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6
richyirich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 11:16 AM   #68
silvrbullet
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Are you guys running IOS 6?

It seems like T-moble is offering more and more iPhone support, but I'm afraid to upgrade my girlfriends unlocked 4S to IOS6. When I went from 5 to 5.1, the MMS quit working, and I had a hell of a time getting it to work again.

She is also anxiously awaiting 3G service in Kansas!
__________________
15" Retina MacBook Pro | 2.6 | 16 GB RAM | 512 GB HD
iPad 64GB WIFI | iPhone 4s 32gb
Canon 5D Mark II
silvrbullet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 11:30 AM   #69
imac9556
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
I am confirm that in downtown Kansas City, MO. T-mobile has 3G on the iPhone 4!
imac9556 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 11:38 AM   #70
richyirich
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvrbullet View Post
Are you guys running IOS 6?

It seems like T-moble is offering more and more iPhone support, but I'm afraid to upgrade my girlfriends unlocked 4S to IOS6. When I went from 5 to 5.1, the MMS quit working, and I had a hell of a time getting it to work again.
I'm running iOS 6. Working fine so far, including MMS.
__________________
15" rMBP, 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7, 8 GB RAM, 1600 MHz DDR3
iPhone 5S 16GB
iPod Classic 160GB
Sony a77 + 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6
richyirich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 01:56 AM   #71
krnboy503
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by swoosh0217 View Post
I'm here in Beaverton Oregon and we finally have consistent 3G signal in the area. I go past Portland and it goes back to EDGE network but I'm sure by the end of this year, every area will have 3G signal.
What speeds are you getting?
I have an iPhone 5 with AT&T...thinking about paying the ETF and switching over to T-Mobile to save some money...

Live in Hillsboro.
krnboy503 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:18 AM   #72
vincewchan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
I have 3G in Rosemead (Los Angeles area). iPhone4
__________________
13" MbA 256 | iPhone 5 32 | iPhone4S 64 | iPhone4 16 | iPod Nano 6g | iPad2 16 | iPad 16
vincewchan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 01:17 PM   #73
silvrbullet
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by richyirich View Post
I'm running iOS 6. Working fine so far, including MMS.
Did you have to do anything special to get MMS to work?
__________________
15" Retina MacBook Pro | 2.6 | 16 GB RAM | 512 GB HD
iPad 64GB WIFI | iPhone 4s 32gb
Canon 5D Mark II
silvrbullet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 04:43 PM   #74
wolfecd09
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Working in Brighton and some parts of Watertown/Cambride MA. Have a little faith. It'll come.
wolfecd09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 04:50 PM   #75
adeedew
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
3G in Vegas confirmed
adeedew is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 3GS T Mobile Family Mobile vs T Mobile in2tech iPhone 7 Jul 23, 2014 02:09 PM
Anyone tried GoSmart Mobile? designs216 Buying Tips and Advice 0 Apr 25, 2013 08:03 AM
T-Mobile LTE works on AT&T Unlocked iPhone 5 CONFIRMED iPhoneTech iPhone 20 Mar 28, 2013 09:32 PM
Straight talk vs GoSmart Mobile CharismaticNerd iPhone 21 Mar 5, 2013 06:47 AM
T-Mobile GoSmart Prepaid ($30 for unlimited talk and text) EbookReader iPhone 5 Feb 6, 2013 12:16 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC