Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 16, 2012, 09:18 AM   #101
JodyK
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern Atlanta suburbs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaboi View Post
I have an iPhone 5 I'm using it with simple mobile now. I wanna know if this refarm will also benefit me on simple mobile and also I live in ga has anyone had 3G here yet
Earlier in the post there is a link to 3G reported coverage ... There are 2 posts in GA ... 1 Near Covington and 1 near Emory in Atlanta.

Idk if it was a fluke but in Acworth I looked at my iPhone 5 and it did say 3G for a split second. I even took a screen shot but I lost signal and back to edge. No data with it or speed test ... Again think it was a fluke but hoping it will be soon!
__________________
RMBP 15 2.3 16GB Ram - 27 iMac - iPad mini LTE - 64GB iPhone 5s Silver "proudly on Tmobile" - 3 Apple TV's - 2 Time Capsules
JodyK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 10:36 AM   #102
Mr Hill
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Simple Mobile users will have access to Tmobile HSPA+ on their unlocked devices after the refarm but I believe the upcoming LTE network will be limited to T-Mobile postpaid customers only.
Mr Hill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 10:40 AM   #103
Anijake
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by geeman1997 View Post
i was in front of a restaurant called dinosaur bbq in harlem ny and when i looked at my iphone 4s it said 3g there was no longer an e for edge i got so excited and i started showing everyone who was there with me that i was running on 3g,so if your ever by 700 east 125 street and you stand in front of that restaurant just switch your iphone to airplane mode and switch it back and you will see the 3g pop right up
Best BBQ in NYC!
Anijake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 10:47 AM   #104
212rikanmofo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Can anyone in Houston and surrounding area tell me if they are able to get 3G? Does having 3G require me to upgrade my plan on T-mobile to require data? I don't think I ever had internet on my phone before, but i do get EDGE when I'm not connected to my WIFI. So does this mean I already have internet included in my plan?
212rikanmofo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 12:23 PM   #105
sanches12
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Spotty 3G in San Diego

So far I've only been able to get 3G at my house but nowhere else in San Diego. I guess it will be a while until the entire city gets 3G 1900 MHz.

Last edited by sanches12; Oct 16, 2012 at 03:14 PM. Reason: Duplicate
sanches12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 02:57 PM   #106
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Just got 3G in Denver, Colorado Yesterday
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo copy 2.PNG
Views:	30
Size:	1.07 MB
ID:	369944   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo copy 3.PNG
Views:	35
Size:	915.7 KB
ID:	369945   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo copy.PNG
Views:	33
Size:	495.1 KB
ID:	369946  

Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.PNG
Views:	30
Size:	436.1 KB
ID:	369947  
iPhonesandMacs is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 03:18 PM   #107
stayblunted
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Had a hint of 3G on the M train by the Williamsburg bridge in NYC, really hope the refarm gets completed by the end of this year.
stayblunted is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 06:17 PM   #108
arram
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 212rikanmofo View Post
Can anyone in Houston and surrounding area tell me if they are able to get 3G? Does having 3G require me to upgrade my plan on T-mobile to require data? I don't think I ever had internet on my phone before, but i do get EDGE when I'm not connected to my WIFI. So does this mean I already have internet included in my plan?

yes some areas of houston ive seen 3g, and if you see edge up there, then youll see 3g when you pass an area that has it
arram is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 06:37 PM   #109
Prime85
macrumors 6502a
 
Prime85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Finally the map is starting to show 3g in South Florida! now my only problem is trying to find an iPhone 5 in stock!
__________________
iPhone 5 (White 64GB) ; MBP 2.2Ghz i7 Quad-core,16GB RAM, 512GB Samsung SSD; TV 3
Prime85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 06:43 PM   #110
Satnam1989
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
 
Again anyone have any confirmation in Chicago, IL area? Also can someone possibly put together a map that I can put on the first page?
Satnam1989 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 09:05 PM   #111
Gaboi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prime85 View Post
Finally the map is starting to show 3g in South Florida! now my only problem is trying to find an iPhone 5 in stock!
Try bestbuy, radio shack, the smaller AT&T and Verizon stores I found one the other day only had to drive about 30 miles don't just look in your own city. Good luck
Gaboi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 01:13 AM   #112
icanhasiphone?
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanches12 View Post
So far I've only been able to get 3G at my house but nowhere else in San Diego. I guess it will be a while until the entire city gets 3G 1900 MHz.
I'm having the same issue here in San Diego too! The minute I leave my house in Spring Valley i'm back on Edge, really weird.

Hopefully over the next few weeks things improve.
__________________
 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 processor
 64GB Black iPhone 5
 64GB Black iPad Mini
icanhasiphone? is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 02:06 AM   #113
iTouch
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Korea Town, Monterey Park, Alhambra had 3G for me. With Speedtest it was around 3Mbps. Not bad.
__________________
Mac Mini|2.6Ghz i5|8GB|1TB|Samsung 250GB SSD|LG 34" UM94P|Samsung Galaxy S5|Canon 60D|24-105mm f/4L|Macbook Air|1.4Ghz i5|4GB|256GB SSD|Windows 7|iPad Mini Retina|
iTouch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 01:35 AM   #114
BiggieFats
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Found 3G coverage in downtown Newark, NJ near Broad & Market St.
BiggieFats is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 05:38 PM   #115
Prime85
macrumors 6502a
 
Prime85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaboi View Post
Try bestbuy, radio shack, the smaller AT&T and Verizon stores I found one the other day only had to drive about 30 miles don't just look in your own city. Good luck
Thanks, but i have tried best buy and radio shack and they all tell me i cant buy it device only. They only allow you to purchase a phone if you are on Att, verizon or sprint. so it looks like the only way to get a device only without being with one of the major carriers. Plus i need 2 Iphones which make it even more difficult.
__________________
iPhone 5 (White 64GB) ; MBP 2.2Ghz i7 Quad-core,16GB RAM, 512GB Samsung SSD; TV 3
Prime85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 08:43 PM   #116
Adez1101
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chicago southside 3G on iPhone 4s today, lightning fast!
Adez1101 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 10:35 PM   #117
southpaw773
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
looks like small scale sites in many locations in the city of chicago now....ironically right around tmobile stores. i'd get 3g and go a block and back to E. however, it looks like it will get more widespread ....more reports popping up at www.airportal.de (user generated iphone 3G sightings for tmobile)
southpaw773 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 11:02 PM   #118
Gaboi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prime85 View Post
Thanks, but i have tried best buy and radio shack and they all tell me i cant buy it device only. They only allow you to purchase a phone if you are on Att, verizon or sprint. so it looks like the only way to get a device only without being with one of the major carriers. Plus i need 2 Iphones which make it even more difficult.
Thanks strange I walked right into an AT&T store and bought mine out right with no problems
Gaboi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 12:33 AM   #119
southpaw773
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
i went right into an Apple store and got mine device only (full price).
southpaw773 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 12:40 AM   #120
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaboi View Post
Thanks strange I walked right into an AT&T store and bought mine out right with no problems
Quote:
Originally Posted by southpaw773 View Post
i went right into an Apple store and got mine device only (full price).
Same here, but I bought 8 lol
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 08:19 AM   #121
wordoflife
macrumors 604
 
wordoflife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Word on street is that it is Activé in South FL ...
wordoflife is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 06:16 PM   #122
Prime85
macrumors 6502a
 
Prime85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by southpaw773 View Post
i went right into an Apple store and got mine device only (full price).
You didn't need an account with them?
Prime85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 06:36 PM   #123
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prime85 View Post
You didn't need an account with them?
I bought 8 with no account ... Paid full price no contract
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 12:15 AM   #124
victorbd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
i bought 172 and got every store of my city's stock and i'm really happy about that.
victorbd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 01:31 AM   #125
Lamster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I been getting 3g in Staten Island. According to speed test i get:


Lamster is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 3GS T Mobile Family Mobile vs T Mobile in2tech iPhone 7 Jul 23, 2014 02:09 PM
Anyone tried GoSmart Mobile? designs216 Buying Tips and Advice 0 Apr 25, 2013 08:03 AM
T-Mobile LTE works on AT&T Unlocked iPhone 5 CONFIRMED iPhoneTech iPhone 20 Mar 28, 2013 09:32 PM
Straight talk vs GoSmart Mobile CharismaticNerd iPhone 21 Mar 5, 2013 06:47 AM
T-Mobile GoSmart Prepaid ($30 for unlimited talk and text) EbookReader iPhone 5 Feb 6, 2013 12:16 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC