Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 20, 2012, 04:02 AM   #126
beeinformed
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaboi View Post
Thanks strange I walked right into an AT&T store and bought mine out right with no problems
Hi,

Where did you purchase your phone? I did not know that you could purchase a device-only iphone 5 at an AT&T store as I thought you needed an account with AT&T in order to buy the phone, even at full-retail price.
beeinformed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 05:37 PM   #127
Gaboi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by beeinformed View Post
Hi,

Where did you purchase your phone? I did not know that you could purchase a device-only iphone 5 at an AT&T store as I thought you needed an account with AT&T in order to buy the phone, even at full-retail price.
I live in Warner Robins ga but I purchased it in perry ga I walked right in the AT&T store told em I wanted to buy an iPhone 5 and that I'd activate it later she ask for my name on number I paid and was on my way
Gaboi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 08:10 PM   #128
tito2020
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
From what i read in the forums do not get a phone from carriers as they will implenment you in the system in 30 days and u will have to agree on a 2 year contract automatically.
tito2020 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 12:40 PM   #129
Westside guy
macrumors 601
 
Westside guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: The soggy part of the Pacific NW
Seems to be rolling out south of Seattle now - I'm seeing new 3G areas pop up fairly regularly in places like Kent, Des Moines, and Federal Way. Still EDGE at my house, though; although my home wi-fi is faster than 3G anyway.
__________________
Your post count is insufficient to view signature
Westside guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 08:56 PM   #130
Gaboi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I can't wait to get it in central Georgia the E is just to slow I can't send mms or receive them unless there iMessage. On my tmobile s3 I get speeds of 11mbps consistently
Gaboi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 09:04 PM   #131
google
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Oswego, IL is getting 3G signal on iphone
google is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 09:10 PM   #132
Cebuano1976
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Verrado, Buckeye, Arizona
IP5 on T-Mobile

West Phoenix is still EDGE.
Cebuano1976 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 09:13 PM   #133
Satnam1989
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
 
I have updated the first post with info from Mr Hill who is a member of the forum, he also posted a website link that provides great detail about T-Mobile coverage areas! please check out first post and do provide feedback to the website so we can have a better map
Satnam1989 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:34 PM   #134
snarestud940
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
3G in Milford Comnecticut!!!

Have an iPhone 4S. Went on the aiportal.de site and saw that there was 3G in Milford Connecticut. Sure enough after toggling my phone in and out of airplane mode, it worked! Can't wait until the refarm hits the rest of the state.

Maybe by Christmas I will get an iPhone five, if the refarm is done!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	193.9 KB
ID:	371963  
__________________
13" Aluminum Macbook (Late 2008), 21.5" iMac (2012)
iPod Touch 2nd Generation, 8 GB, Apple TV (2012)
The new iPad, 16 GB
iPhone 5, 16 GB, T-Mobile
snarestud940 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:52 PM   #135
wws
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaboi View Post
I live in Warner Robins ga but I purchased it in perry ga I walked right in the AT&T store told em I wanted to buy an iPhone 5 and that I'd activate it later she ask for my name on number I paid and was on my way
You went into an ATT store, bought an iPhone 5 for $199, and went home without activating it?
wws is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 05:13 PM   #136
Mr Hill
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Still not a hint of 3G anywhere around the Charlotte Area. Though I haven't been to the southside lately. I'm almost tempted to temporarily buy an Android but I know I would get tired of it after about a week.
Mr Hill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 01:02 PM   #137
rak007
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I am in DFW area and it seems 3G is available here for iPhone. My wife has an iPhone 4 and using Tmobile 50$ monthly plan with unlimited calls, SMS and EDGE internet. But since i am now getting 3G signals i can use 3G as well.
I want to know whether this 3G is unlimited in my plan or not ?
rak007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 01:30 PM   #138
Mr Hill
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by rak007 View Post
I am in DFW area and it seems 3G is available here for iPhone. My wife has an iPhone 4 and using Tmobile 50$ monthly plan with unlimited calls, SMS and EDGE internet. But since i am now getting 3G signals i can use 3G as well.
I want to know whether this 3G is unlimited in my plan or not ?
The $50 plan is only going to get you 100MB of 3G, past that and you get throttled back to 2G. You have to be on their postpaid plans to get fully unlimited data.
Mr Hill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 01:50 PM   #139
Gaboi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by wws View Post
You went into an ATT store, bought an iPhone 5 for $199, and went home without activating it?
No I went to the AT&T store and bought it for 649.99 and yes I went home without activating it but I did have to pay to have it unlocked
Gaboi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 02:22 PM   #140
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaboi View Post
No I went to the AT&T store and bought it for 649.99 and yes I went home without activating it but I did have to pay to have it unlocked
Lol you got screwed... AT&T iPhones purchased at full price come unlocked, and if they aren't, you call AT&T and they will do it for you
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 02:54 PM   #141
Gaboi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhonesandMacs View Post
Lol you got screwed... AT&T iPhones purchased at full price come unlocked, and if they aren't, you call AT&T and they will do it for you
Lol check again they don't come unlocked I knew all about the just restore it in iTunes trick it didn't work so I call both AT&T and apple they said that the people who bought iPhones that's we're unlocked was an error and the imei was put into the system wrong so att iPhone do not come unlocked I got mine unlocked for $20 on eBay and I'm using with with simple mobile now

Sorry the the run on sentence

Last edited by Gaboi; Oct 25, 2012 at 02:57 PM. Reason: Run on sentence
Gaboi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 07:38 PM   #142
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaboi View Post
Lol check again they don't come unlocked I knew all about the just restore it in iTunes trick it didn't work so I call both AT&T and apple they said that the people who bought iPhones that's we're unlocked was an error and the imei was put into the system wrong so att iPhone do not come unlocked I got mine unlocked for $20 on eBay and I'm using with with simple mobile now

Sorry the the run on sentence
Its not a trick... I bought 8 of them full price, and all of them were unlocked... I sold them all on ebay, got all positive feedback, and they went all over the world. Must of been an error... 8 times
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 11:25 PM   #143
Gaboi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhonesandMacs View Post
Its not a trick... I bought 8 of them full price, and all of them were unlocked... I sold them all on ebay, got all positive feedback, and they went all over the world. Must of been an error... 8 times
Maybe you just got lucky before they caught the error but when I bought mine it wasn't unlocked. It doesn't bother me much though I only paid $20 for the unlock, what's $20 when the phone cost $700 lol
Gaboi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 11:38 PM   #144
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaboi View Post
Lol check again they don't come unlocked I knew all about the just restore it in iTunes trick it didn't work so I call both AT&T and apple they said that the people who bought iPhones that's we're unlocked was an error and the imei was put into the system wrong so att iPhone do not come unlocked I got mine unlocked for $20 on eBay and I'm using with with simple mobile now

Sorry the the run on sentence
Sorry but you're wrong.
If you buy it full price even from AT&T it is unlocked.
Somehow yours wasnt but its not supposed to be like that.
They messed up with your iphone but it generally doesnt work like that. If you dont buy it under contract then its not locked to them.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 12:13 AM   #145
Minhimalism
macrumors 6502a
 
Minhimalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by rak007 View Post
I am in DFW area and it seems 3G is available here for iPhone. My wife has an iPhone 4 and using Tmobile 50$ monthly plan with unlimited calls, SMS and EDGE internet. But since i am now getting 3G signals i can use 3G as well.
I want to know whether this 3G is unlimited in my plan or not ?
Too bad I can't grab 3G in the suburbs. My dad works in Dallas and gets 3G every day at work.. out here in near-farm land I don't get ****. Not even at school at UTD, haha. Also, we're all on the 5.99 / month T-Zones plan and we get unlimited 3G with that, assuming we can pick it up at all!
__________________
iPhone 6; MacBook Air
Twitter Instagram Flickr deviantART
Minhimalism is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 01:43 AM   #146
BiggieFats
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
A few more NJ locations I've found; Route 22 in Hillside and Routes 1&9 in Elizabeth between Jersey St and Newark Airport
BiggieFats is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 01:45 AM   #147
iPhonesandMacs
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaboi View Post
Maybe you just got lucky before they caught the error but when I bought mine it wasn't unlocked. It doesn't bother me much though I only paid $20 for the unlock, what's $20 when the phone cost $700 lol
You could of just called ATT for free, you have the receipt, and you paid full price, they will unlock it
iPhonesandMacs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 02:23 AM   #148
bluemonkeyguy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cebuano1976 View Post
West Phoenix is still EDGE.
Any day now right
__________________
MacPro 2013 | iMac 2010 | MacBook Pro 2012 | iPad 3 | iPhone 5 | Canon EOS 7D | Korg PA2X |
bluemonkeyguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 08:29 AM   #149
Gaboi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhonesandMacs View Post
You could of just called ATT for free, you have the receipt, and you paid full price, they will unlock it
Wow maybe I was unlucky I don't know why my phone didn't come unlocked when I called att they sent to to a form to fill for an unlock that would of taking up to 7 days

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhonesandMacs View Post
You could of just called ATT for free, you have the receipt, and you paid full price, they will unlock it
I called them the same day an they sent me to a form to fill out but that way would of taking to long
Gaboi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 08:59 AM   #150
Cebuano1976
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Verrado, Buckeye, Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemonkeyguy View Post
Any day now right
I'm in no hurry. I don't even have a data plan with my iPhone 5. It's all Wifi for me.
Cebuano1976 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 3GS T Mobile Family Mobile vs T Mobile in2tech iPhone 7 Jul 23, 2014 02:09 PM
Anyone tried GoSmart Mobile? designs216 Buying Tips and Advice 0 Apr 25, 2013 08:03 AM
T-Mobile LTE works on AT&T Unlocked iPhone 5 CONFIRMED iPhoneTech iPhone 20 Mar 28, 2013 09:32 PM
Straight talk vs GoSmart Mobile CharismaticNerd iPhone 21 Mar 5, 2013 06:47 AM
T-Mobile GoSmart Prepaid ($30 for unlimited talk and text) EbookReader iPhone 5 Feb 6, 2013 12:16 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps