Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 13, 2012, 08:38 PM   #1
Legacy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Send a message via MSN to Legacy
Running Logic Studio 7 or 6 or iBook G3?

I really want to use my new iBook as a portable studio out and about. I was considering doing some light work with logic and a USB midi keyboard.

Would I be able to install logic 7, and I'd so, how many software instruments could the machine cope with? If not I'd happily record midi instruments and transfer it to logic at home on my MBP.

Specs are 500Mhz ram will be 640Mb hard disk is 40Gb. I am also considering over locking the CPU as I have heard it can be pushed to 600Mhz?
Legacy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 08:57 PM   #2
sk8er123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Logic 7

Well I'm afraid that the minimum requirements for 7 is a 1.24Ghz G4 with 1gb of ram. Sorry.
sk8er123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2012, 08:59 PM   #3
TacticalDesire
macrumors 68000
 
TacticalDesire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legacy View Post
I really want to use my new iBook as a portable studio out and about. I was considering doing some light work with logic and a USB midi keyboard.

Would I be able to install logic 7, and I'd so, how many software instruments could the machine cope with? If not I'd happily record midi instruments and transfer it to logic at home on my MBP.

Specs are 500Mhz ram will be 640Mb hard disk is 40Gb. I am also considering over locking the CPU as I have heard it can be pushed to 600Mhz?
I don't think Logic Pro 7 will run very well on your iBook. You'd be better off using your Macbook Pro

Logic Pro 7 System Requirements

Macintosh computer with PowerPC G4 or faster processor (G5 or dual G4 processors recommended).
PowerPC G5 and Gigabit Ethernet connectivity for Logic Node applications.
Mac OS X v10.3 or later.
512 MB of RAM.
DVD drive for software installation.
Available USB port for XSKey (copy protection).
Low-latency multi-I/O audio hardware and MIDI interface recommended.
4GB of available hard drive space.
TacticalDesire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2012, 06:38 AM   #4
Legacy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Send a message via MSN to Legacy
What about logic 6? As I said, I am only really looking to record in midi so I can play around with the music later on logic 9 on my mbpro.
Legacy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2012, 07:47 AM   #5
sk8er123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Logic 6

Mac OS 10.2 or higher / Mac OS 9.1 or higher, a Macintosh computer with a 300-MHz or faster PowerPC G4 or G5 processor, QuickTime 6, 256MB of RAM and 350MB of available disk space for installation.

Your iBook will be able to handle Logic 6 fine (even if you still have OS 9)
sk8er123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC