Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 16, 2012, 10:32 AM   #1
kjay80
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
How do I check if my verizon iphone has a sim card without opening a trey?

i just swapped my iphone 4s at the apple store, but when i restored the backup data at home, the itunes says no sim card.
apparently, the gunius bar forgot to put the sim card from the old unit.
I just wanna make sure before visiting the store but dont have a tool to open the trey to check right now.
anyone help?
kjay80 is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 10:53 AM   #2
Shadowbech
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central U.S.
You could use a small paper clip to pop the sim card tray out.
__________________
The Apple Product
Shadowbech is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 11:00 AM   #3
Bobby.e
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kansas
I'm pretty sure the Verizon iPhone doesn't use a sim card
Bobby.e is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 11:01 AM   #4
kjay80
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
but the verizon version comes with a sim card for internation roaming.
kjay80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 11:05 AM   #5
Shadowbech
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central U.S.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby.e View Post
I'm pretty sure the Verizon iPhone doesn't use a sim card
That's if the OP has a 4S, which does have a sim card in there for international & roaming use. However the iPhone 4 does not.
__________________
The Apple Product
Shadowbech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 11:41 AM   #6
Jordan921
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby.e View Post
I'm pretty sure the Verizon iPhone doesn't use a sim card
The 4S does use one because it can be used internationally.

Op just find a paperclip and pop it out.
__________________
Space Grey 64gb 6plus AT&T, 13.3" MacBook Air 1.86GHZ 4GB Ram 128GB SSD
Jordan921 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 11:43 AM   #7
NTeggerdine
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Montrose Iowa
I still have the little key that came with the original iPhone to open the sim tray. I think they only shipped it with the original iPhone.
NTeggerdine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 11:49 AM   #8
Shadowbech
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central U.S.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NTeggerdine View Post
I still have the little key that came with the original iPhone to open the sim tray. I think they only shipped it with the original iPhone.
They provide a sim card tray remover clip if you buy an unlocked iphone as well.
__________________
The Apple Product
Shadowbech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 03:09 PM   #9
LotusLord
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
The 3GS I got off ebay had the sim remover tool in the box.
LotusLord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 03:16 PM   #10
Givmeabrek
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NY
Wow, can't find a paperclip?
Givmeabrek is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 03:21 PM   #11
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
How do I check if my verizon iphone has a sim card without opening a trey?

You cannot check if there's a sim in there without opening the tray.
Common sense
Applejuiced is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 04:27 PM   #12
Geckotek
macrumors G3
 
Geckotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
You cannot check if there's a sim in there without opening the tray.
Common sense
Wouldn't you be able to check the ICCID in Settings->General->About?
__________________
Gecko Art | Facebook | flickr
Geckotek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 04:32 PM   #13
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geckotek View Post
Wouldn't you be able to check the ICCID in Settings->General->About?
Not sure how the cdma iphone works, but most likely if it says no sim card then there is no sim card in there.
And it would take seconds to be 100% sure just by popping out the tray to see what's going on. Instead of posting a thread at a forum and waiting for answers right? Or maybe Im crazy
Applejuiced is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 05:36 PM   #14
hexonxonx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Not sure how the cdma iphone works, but most likely if it says no sim card then there is no sim card in there.
And it would take seconds to be 100% sure just by popping out the tray to see what's going on. Instead of posting a thread at a forum and waiting for answers right? Or maybe Im crazy
I just tried this on my Verizon 4S. I removed the sim and the no sim installed message came up on the screen.
hexonxonx is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 05:56 PM   #15
Geckotek
macrumors G3
 
Geckotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Not sure how the cdma iphone works, but most likely if it says no sim card then there is no sim card in there.
And it would take seconds to be 100% sure just by popping out the tray to see what's going on. Instead of posting a thread at a forum and waiting for answers right? Or maybe Im crazy
I do agree popping it open would be the ultimate answer. But was just thinking that checking the ICCID would be another answer. If the SIM is in there, the ICCID should be displayed....CDMA or not. At least that's my untested theory.
__________________
Gecko Art | Facebook | flickr
Geckotek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 02:22 AM   #16
Bobby.e
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kansas
It's not a Verizon sim though. The Verizon iPhone does not use a sim for Verizon service
Bobby.e is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 02:33 AM   #17
dontwalkhand
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Send a message via AIM to dontwalkhand
I know my friend's Verizon iPhone will complain over and over stating "No SIM Card Inserted" even it being a CDMA phone.
dontwalkhand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 04:51 AM   #18
gngan
macrumors 68000
 
gngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MacWorld
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Not sure how the cdma iphone works, but most likely if it says no sim card then there is no sim card in there.
And it would take seconds to be 100% sure just by popping out the tray to see what's going on. Instead of posting a thread at a forum and waiting for answers right? Or maybe Im crazy
You must be crazy to open to sim tray and check if there's a sim card in there! * sarcasm off*

Come on OP. Use your common sense!
__________________
2011 13''MBP i5 Dual HDD (128GB SSD+1TB HDD)+8gb RAM; iPhone 5S, iPod Nano 3rd & 6th gen; iPod Wheel; iPad Air 64gb; Airport Extreme/Express; Synology 4tb +WD 2tb; Canon 5D MKIII
gngan is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 09:09 AM   #19
scaredpoet
macrumors 603
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby.e View Post
It's not a Verizon sim though. The Verizon iPhone does not use a sim for Verizon service
True, it's not used when you're not roaming internationally, but it it still IS a Verizon SIM in there.

Verizon uses their SIMs for both LTE access, and for international roaming. While the 4S obviously has no LTE, the SIM is still needed when a user roams out of the country.
__________________
If you're not a clairvoyant, then you shouldn't be speaking for a dead guy.
I'm here to talk about Apple stuff, and related tech stuff. Your political beliefs? I really couldn't care less about.
scaredpoet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 09:42 AM   #20
Candurin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geckotek View Post
Wouldn't you be able to check the ICCID in Settings->General->About?
This works just fine for VZW 4S. I just confirmed that this # matches up with my VZW SIM card in my 4S.

I did also buy a tray opener for $0.50 Couldn't handle using a BARBARIC paper clip on my new phone.
Candurin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 12:18 PM   #21
kjay80
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
oh wow, thanks for the replies everyone.
yes, i did open the trey and found no sim card... so genius bar gave me a new one and i had to call verizon to update the new sim number.
anyways, i wanted to know if the sim exists under setting without physically taking out, at least as for my reference, doesnt hurt to know!!!
kjay80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 03:02 PM   #22
Interstella5555
macrumors 603
 
Interstella5555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008

?
Interstella5555 is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 03:06 PM   #23
SDub90
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Long Island
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interstella5555 View Post
Can't think of a better reply.

OP: Pop out the tray... Find a paperclip, a pin, anything stiff and thin enough to fit in the hole. If you don't have one, then I'm sure you can contact SOMEONE with something to get the job done.
SDub90 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 11:48 PM   #24
enorm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Can you transfer I-Phone 3 (something) Verizon to a network that needs a SIM Card?

I have a I-Phone 3 (sometime) from Verizon and I want to go to a network that needs a SIM Card (rogers). How can I do this?
enorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 11:57 PM   #25
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by enorm View Post
I have a I-Phone 3 (sometime) from Verizon and I want to go to a network that needs a SIM Card (rogers). How can I do this?
What's an i-phone 3? 3G or 3GS?
Verizon only had the iphone 4, 4S and now iphone 5 model. Never any previous models.
Applejuiced is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unactivated mobile sim card to check if an iPhone is unlocked? absolutemadness iPhone 0 Oct 29, 2013 01:07 AM
New SIM Card for Verizon iPhone 5s Costino1 iPhone 2 Oct 12, 2013 06:33 PM
Do I need a SIM card to activate Verizon iPhone 5? Vell843 iPhone 2 Sep 30, 2012 09:25 PM
Verizon iPhone 5 No Sim Card B.Chang iPhone 2 Sep 25, 2012 11:32 AM
Verizon iphone and sim card jayes iPhone 1 Sep 22, 2012 02:25 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC