Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 17, 2012, 02:22 PM   #1
htg
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Will a standard ATX board fit in a Powermac G4 (MDD)?

Before you comment about what a noob I am and how I should just get a ATX case, I am well aware that a Powermac G4 needs some serious modding in order to accommodate any other board, be it Micro-ATX or otherwise, and I am willing to do that.

What I wanted to know was whether a standard ATX board (not Micro ATX) would fit. In all the other mods I've looked at, people have used Micro ATX, but it is physically possible to put an normal ATX board in there?

Also, heatsink fans and the like hitting the PSU shouldn't be problem as I intend to liquid cool it using an external system. Are there any other reasons why a full size ATX mobo would work (such as I/O ports etc...) Mind you, I don't think that those would cause a serious problem as you have to completely cut out the back panel anyway.

EDIT: Almost forgot, not using this for a Hackintosh, so it's perfectly legal

Thanks.
__________________
My Stuff: iPhone 3GS 8GB, Macbook 2Ghz 2.5 GB RAM 13.3 inch screen, New iPad White 16GB WiFi+4G, iPod Shuffle 4G, Original iPod, Original iPod Shuffle. My blog @ http://henrytg.com
htg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2012, 03:04 PM   #2
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wales, UK
From what it looks like, it's possible. There's a whole series on YouTube that goes in to great depth on every thing you need to take into account. Here's part 1

__________________
Hackintosh 2x3.5GHz, 4GB, 500GB, GTX660 | 13" MacBook Air 2x2.13GHz, 4GB, 256GB, 320M | 23" Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 Cube 1.2GHz, 1.5GB, 160GB. 6200 | iPhone 5 16GB | Canon EOS M 18-55mm, 22mm
Goftrey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 12:27 AM   #3
quaternio
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goftrey View Post
From what it looks like, it's possible. There's a whole series on YouTube that goes in to great depth on every thing you need to take into account. Here's part 1

YouTube: video
I was wondering the same thing: if anybody had successfully fit an atx into a MDD Powermac G4. Haven't found an answer, but to be clear, this video is not of an MDD. It's a graphite.
quaternio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 02:43 AM   #4
reddrag0n
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Send a message via AIM to reddrag0n Send a message via Skype™ to reddrag0n
Only problem i foresee in the MDD is that it takes the BTX standard boards. And i don't know if there are many Micro BTX boards out there. That's why the older G4 cases use traditional ATX standards.
__________________
red-drag0n.co.nr
reddrag0n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 09:19 AM   #5
archtopshop
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
This might be what you are looking for:

http://www.tonymacx86.com/viewtopic.php?f=76&t=50817
archtopshop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 07:41 AM   #6
Juiffi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddrag0n View Post
Only problem i foresee in the MDD is that it takes the BTX standard boards. And i don't know if there are many Micro BTX boards out there. That's why the older G4 cases use traditional ATX standards.
Is this true? I can't find any info on the old graphite G4 Logic board form factors. I happen to have some old G4 macs lying around and could actually build my PC into one.
Juiffi is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATX PSU conversion Powermac G3 Laterne PowerPC Macs 2 Jun 3, 2014 02:54 PM
Problems with Powermac g4 MDD kevin242 PowerPC Macs 4 Nov 20, 2013 07:24 PM
powermac G4 MDD os9 adamj575 PowerPC Macs 15 Apr 22, 2013 07:39 AM
If you had a PowerMac G4 MDD laying around, what would you do with it? tekboi PowerPC Macs 24 Mar 24, 2013 06:14 PM
A standard SSD might fit into a rMBP 13? CausticPuppy MacBook Pro 9 Nov 28, 2012 11:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC