Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 17, 2012, 05:35 PM   #1
galaxykid
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
iMac 7,1 RAM problems

I recently tried to upgrade my ram from 2x1GB to 2x2GB. The mac wont turn on with both 2GB in. If I put 1x1GB and 1x2GB it will work fine and my mac will recognize the 3GB. I've tried both 2GB and they only work one at a time with a 1GB. Why is this? Should I return the ram? Thanks
galaxykid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2012, 05:43 PM   #2
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by galaxykid View Post
I recently tried to upgrade my ram from 2x1GB to 2x2GB. The mac wont turn on with both 2GB in. If I put 1x1GB and 1x2GB it will work fine and my mac will recognize the 3GB. I've tried both 2GB and they only work one at a time with a 1GB. Why is this? Should I return the ram? Thanks
When you used the 2GB+1GB combination, was the 2GB module always in the same slot? If not you want to try it the other way around.
It sounds like you may have a memory slot/motherboard issue.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 06:35 PM   #3
galaxykid
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Thanks for your quick reply. I just turned off the mac and swapped the cards and it booted up the same way, 3GB total. So strange. Any other ideas?
galaxykid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 08:26 PM   #4
rkaufmann87
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by galaxykid View Post
Thanks for your quick reply. I just turned off the mac and swapped the cards and it booted up the same way, 3GB total. So strange. Any other ideas?
What are the exact specifications of the new RAM and exactly what brand and model is it? Please answer all questions.
__________________
27" iMac i5, 24 GB RAM; MBA 11.6" 1.4GHz 4GB RAM 128GB SSD; Multiple HP Printers; OWC & Lacie EHDs; iPhone 5S; Nikon DLSR
rkaufmann87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 02:55 PM   #5
galaxykid
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
here's a photo of the RAM let me know if you need anything else. thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo(6).JPG
Views:	21
Size:	993.5 KB
ID:	337012  
galaxykid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 05:31 PM   #6
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
^^^These 2GB sticks are PC2 6400. Exchange them to PC2 5300 (stock memory frequency for your model) and it will be OK. Analogical situation is in Mini 2010. Some Macs with some types of RAM just acting like this.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 06:44 PM   #7
galaxykid
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
awesome awesome, thanks so much, you rock!
galaxykid is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 MP 2.2 i7 16 gb ram vs 2012 iMac 2.9 i5 32gb ram absoluteelsewhe iMac 3 Feb 8, 2014 04:03 PM
New iMac, Upgraded Ram, But Ram Running @ 1333mhz Jazwire iMac 159 Jan 11, 2013 07:43 PM
21.5" iMac Has No User-Upgradable RAM; 27" Has Four Accessible RAM Slots MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 257 Dec 27, 2012 04:34 AM
RAM problems! M0esmac MacBook Pro 30 Nov 7, 2012 10:46 AM
RAM Problems 2011 iMac ghsNick iMac 15 Jul 13, 2012 12:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC