Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 1, 2011, 03:13 AM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Parallels Desktop 7 for Mac Allows You to Run Windows and Even Another Copy of Lion





Running Windows 7 and OS X Lion
Parallels has announced version 7 of their popular virtualization software that allows Mac users to run Windows on their machines alongside Mac OS X. The new version is said to include 90 new features and enhancements including:

- Lion integration and support, including Launchpad and Mission Control for Windows programs
- Shared iSight and FaceTime HD cameras in both Windows and Mac
- Up to 1GB of video memory, for ultra-high resolutions
- Improved graphics performance, up to 45% faster 3D
- 60% faster resuming Windows
- Windows on Demand - purchase and automatically install Windows on your Mac from Parallels Desktop 7 in the U.S.

Parallels 7 supports running OS X Lion as a "guest" operating system under virtualization, meaning you can run a completely separate copy of Lion within your main copy of Lion. In July, we reported that Apple had changed the license agreement in OS X Lion that allowed users to run up to 2 additional copies of Lion on a single machine without the need for extra licenses.


Click here to read rest of article...

Article Link: Parallels Desktop 7 for Mac Allows You to Run Windows and Even Another Copy of Lion
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 03:23 AM   #2
kockgunner
macrumors 68000
 
kockgunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
The annoying thing I've found with Parallels is that if you install it, it makes it hard to redo your Bootcamp partition because files cannot be moved or something. I haven't used Parallels for a while, but I remember I always had to fix errors by using iDefrag. Does it still do this?
__________________
2010 15" MBP | iPhone 4 16GB | PB G4 12" 1.33 Ghz, 768MB RAM, replacement 30GB HDD
kockgunner is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 03:23 AM   #3
wonderspark
macrumors 68030
 
wonderspark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oregon
Looks cool, but I wonder if I can run Windows and Snow Leopard.
__________________
Wait a second... So you're telling me anything that happens in the sky is legal, and there's a giant crime-blimp flying around this place? I don't know how I missed that.
wonderspark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 03:26 AM   #4
Silentwave
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gainesville, FL
Send a message via AIM to Silentwave Send a message via MSN to Silentwave Send a message via Skype™ to Silentwave
So, if we were to run a copy of Windows 7 in Parallels on Lion in a Parallels VM in Lion...which was itself being run in a Parallels VM on Lion as well, would Leo DiCaprio show up?
__________________
+ R3D
Macs, Cameras and way too much data for a sane person to have to store.
Silentwave is offline   28 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 03:28 AM   #5
duffy666
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Yo dawg, I herd you like Os X Lion, so I put a Parallels in your Os X Lion so you can use Os X Lion while you are using Os X Lion.
duffy666 is offline   13 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 03:30 AM   #6
lostngone
macrumors Demi-God
 
lostngone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Anchorage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silentwave View Post
So, if we were to run a copy of Windows 7 in Parallels on Lion in a Parallels VM in Lion...which was itself being run in a Parallels VM on Lion as well, would Leo DiCaprio show up?
No, but the memory manufactures would really love you...
lostngone is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 03:31 AM   #7
BeauGiles
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by wonderspark View Post
Looks cool, but I wonder if I can run Windows and Snow Leopard.
You can only virtualise Snow Leopard (and Leopard?) Server, the client EULA doesn't allow virtualising.
__________________
twitter | lifestream | last.fm
BeauGiles is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 03:38 AM   #8
VulchR
macrumors 68000
 
VulchR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silentwave View Post
So, if we were to run a copy of Windows 7 in Parallels on Lion in a Parallels VM in Lion...which was itself being run in a Parallels VM on Lion as well, would Leo DiCaprio show up?
Ouch. My head hurts.
__________________
My first was a Mac+. Now I own an iPhone with 3.5x the pixels, a colour display, WiFi, 512x the RAM, >1500x the data storage, and 100x the speed. And it fits in the palm of my hand.
VulchR is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 03:46 AM   #9
Feek
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I like Parallels and I've been a [registered] user for quite a few versions now but I don't really like their pricing upgrade structure.

It's also frustrating because I know that I could buy this upgrade and then in a few months time it'll be included in one of the bundles, probably for less than I have to pay for the upgrade

I know I'm not being forced to buy the upgrade as Parallels 6 works perfectly well and this time I may just wait for whatever bundle it is this time to come along.
__________________
Mid 2011 27" iMac x 2 (i5 & i7) - Early 2008 Mac Pro (deceased) - Late 2009 Mac Mini - 64Gb iPad 2
TV - TV2 - iPod(s), 64Gb iPhone 4S - 3Tb Time Capsule - Airport Extreme Base Station
Feek is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 03:48 AM   #10
Donald.
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
EDIT: I realized I was being stupid... Its the Mission Control App I saw..
__________________
13" MacBook Pro ; 32 GB Iphone 5
Donald. is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 04:17 AM   #11
roxxette
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I got it few hrs ago , can honestly say windows 7 runs even more smooth and boot up faster but cant say anything about the new features as i dont even use any of it on lion why bother with it.... the upgrade was about 40usd
roxxette is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 04:21 AM   #12
CTU Kyoto
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: London
Using Parallels 6 (trial version) to virtualise Windows 7 on a MacBook Air running 10.7 caused constant kernel panics for me. Can anyone report on whether this issue is fixed in 7?
__________________

Quidquid latine dictum sit altum viditur.
CTU Kyoto is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 04:32 AM   #13
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeauGiles View Post
You can only virtualise Snow Leopard (and Leopard?) Server, the client EULA doesn't allow virtualising.
That doesn't mean it technically can't work...
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 04:36 AM   #14
mattchiro
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Does this mean it'll be faster on C2D machines?

I recently (2 weeks ago) purchased a copy of Parallels 6 for my old mac mini (early 2009 - C2D 2.0GHZ 8GB RAM) - running Win7 Pro.

Will it be worth upgrading to Parallels7? Is it noticeably faster than Parallels 6 in Lion??
mattchiro is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 04:46 AM   #15
cryingrobot
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Will not buy

Parallel 3 was very buggy and unpredictable. Upgrading to 4 was even worse since the PAID upgrade to fix their earlier buggy version 3 was itself very buggy. Following the seemingly insane advice I found on forums, I just kept trying the upgrade install and it just worked on the 4th try. Still, sometimes it finds the HD and sometimes it does not.

Customer support was useless. Since the much improved Word 2011 for Mac, the only reason to use the virtual windows has been gaming and no serious gaming can be done on a virtual system. I am going to give Vbox (free) a try just to have the option to run W7 if I ever need to for some reason.

I rank Parallels somewhere between Bongo Buddy and Norton Antivirus in terms of utility. On the low end, you have that malicious software that costs you money, uses up your system resources, slows your computer to a crawl and nearly impossible to get rid of and the other end you have the irritating but free Bongo Buddy.
cryingrobot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 04:49 AM   #16
tinman0
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattchiro View Post
I recently (2 weeks ago) purchased a copy of Parallels 6 for my old mac mini (early 2009 - C2D 2.0GHZ 8GB RAM) - running Win7 Pro.

Will it be worth upgrading to Parallels7? Is it noticeably faster than Parallels 6 in Lion??
You will learn to hate Parallels over time, like I did. I now use VMware and strangely enough, I don't get screwed over once a year.

If you want some sound advice - decamp to VMWare or VirtualBox today and never look back. Trust me, it'll be cheaper. You will end up spending more money on Parallels than you will on OSX and Windows.
tinman0 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 04:57 AM   #17
SirHaakon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinman0 View Post
Trust me, it'll be cheaper.
But which one works better?
SirHaakon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 04:57 AM   #18
sofyan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattchiro View Post
I recently (2 weeks ago) purchased a copy of Parallels 6 for my old mac mini (early 2009 - C2D 2.0GHZ 8GB RAM) - running Win7 Pro.

Will it be worth upgrading to Parallels7? Is it noticeably faster than Parallels 6 in Lion??
Mattchiro, you are probably entitled to a free upgrade, check here:
http://www.parallels.com/keyfor7/
__________________
Mac Pro(2009), Macbook Pro 13" (late 2009), Ipod classic 80gb and a Blackberry Torch mauahahah....
sofyan is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 05:03 AM   #19
foidulus
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirHaakon View Post
But which one works better?
Depends on your definition of "better"

VMWare is updated less often which means that it doesnt always have some of the cutting edge features(for instance you still cannot virtualize Lion on it yet), but at least in my experience it is significantly more stable and performs better to boot. However since I do not virtualize Windows, I virtualize Leopard Server and Linux, and dont do any graphics stuff on either platform YMMV.
foidulus is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 05:05 AM   #20
McNitefly
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Yeah, that's good News.
I'm gonna try it right away ... let's see.
__________________
My Blog on Taking Notes:
MemoFrosch.de
My mac: MacBook Pro 15'', 2,66 GHz, 8 GB RAM
120 GB SSD for system & progs, 1 TB for data
McNitefly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 05:13 AM   #21
Ori
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

Well I upgraded and the best and only thing about it that has made it worth it is that in coherence mode I can run full screen apps like mail and safari and my windows app still stays running on my second screen! No grey backdrop!!
Why doesn't everything run like that?
Ori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 05:16 AM   #22
adrian.oconnor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nottingham, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinman0 View Post
You will learn to hate Parallels over time, like I did. I now use VMware and strangely enough, I don't get screwed over once a year.
I started out with Parallels and moved to VMWare, and I don't think there's much to choose between them. I know people who use both and all are happy.

I don't think either company screw the customer. Parallels certainly release more often, which means more paid upgrades, but I guess that's because they're smaller and more focused than VMWare (where fusion is just a tiny little project in a sea of corporate virtualisation software). I bought the VMWare 1-year upgrade thing late last year, thinking they would be bound to release v4 in 2011, given how long v3 has been out. Now, I'm not so sure. We've only had 6 updates since v3 was released nearly two years ago! That said, I don't mind a bit of stability.
adrian.oconnor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 05:30 AM   #23
KPOM
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I just upgraded. Full Screen works well enough. My net WEI score stayed the same. Memory went down, actually, but graphics scores went up slightly. Overall it seems like it might be a little faster. It did take care of the bug where Parallels 6 kept opening up Windows automatically.
KPOM is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 05:43 AM   #24
L0s7man
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by cryingrobot View Post
Parallel 3 was very buggy and unpredictable. Upgrading to 4 was even worse since the PAID upgrade to fix their earlier buggy version 3 was itself very buggy. Following the seemingly insane advice I found on forums, I just kept trying the upgrade install and it just worked on the 4th try. Still, sometimes it finds the HD and sometimes it does not.

Customer support was useless. Since the much improved Word 2011 for Mac, the only reason to use the virtual windows has been gaming and no serious gaming can be done on a virtual system. I am going to give Vbox (free) a try just to have the option to run W7 if I ever need to for some reason.

I rank Parallels somewhere between Bongo Buddy and Norton Antivirus in terms of utility. On the low end, you have that malicious software that costs you money, uses up your system resources, slows your computer to a crawl and nearly impossible to get rid of and the other end you have the irritating but free Bongo Buddy.
I think it was ArsTechica who did extensive gaming review under Parallels6 and A LOT of games were totally playable.

There are few somewhat older or less performance heavy games that would work perfectly well under Parallels and that's a big benefit. I don't want to switch to Windows every time I want to play something; but if I know my system is powerful enough to run a VM and play the game, then why not?

Sometimes you can get away with making your own Cider/CXEX port or using Crossover Games or something, but running VM on top of a bootcamp partition seems like an easy solution.

I use VirtualBox for virtualizing linux; it works great; but they don't care for 3D graphics support. But Parallels folks do as that's one of their bigger selling points.
L0s7man is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 05:46 AM   #25
firestarter
macrumors 603
 
firestarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Green and pleasant land
I used to use Parallels - now a happy VMWare user.

If you have any interest in development, Linux and stuff like that then VMWare is a much much better choice. There's a large community of people out there producing virtual machines in VMWare format.
firestarter is offline   2 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I make a copy of my Windows 8 PC to Parallels? idyll Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jan 18, 2014 11:54 AM
Apple Retail Stores to Encourage Mac Business Usage with Parallels Desktop, Parallels 9 Pre-Orders Begin Popping Up MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 132 Nov 13, 2013 06:48 PM
I run Windows 7 via Parallels 8 on my MBA running OS X10.8.4. FHayek Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Jun 7, 2013 02:13 PM
32 or 64 bit Windows with Parallels Desktop question Fatboy71 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 7 Nov 5, 2012 04:49 PM
Can the new MBA run windows 7 in Parallels? MacRunner68 MacBook Air 23 Aug 2, 2012 05:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2015, MacRumors.com, LLC