Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 5, 2005, 04:16 AM   #1
liketom
macrumors 601
 
liketom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lincoln,UK
Send a message via AIM to liketom
PowerBook to 42" Plasma ?

well i am at work and i have a man round my house installing a 42" Hitachi plasma screen with a Hardon Kardon surround sound

anyway

you all know what i want to do with it ! POWERBOOK to PLASMA

DVI on PowerBook and DVI on Plasma


what do i need to know ? what sort of screen res can i get ?

Pictures will be posted when i get it working
__________________
18,000 miles is a long way
liketom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2005, 04:52 AM   #2
killmoms
macrumors 68040
 
killmoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Send a message via AIM to killmoms Send a message via Yahoo to killmoms
Quote:
Originally Posted by liketom
well i am at work and i have a man round my house installing a 42" Hitachi plasma screen with a Hardon Kardon surround sound

anyway

you all know what i want to do with it ! POWERBOOK to PLASMA

DVI on PowerBook and DVI on Plasma


what do i need to know ? what sort of screen res can i get ?

Pictures will be posted when i get it working
It'll probably let you go to 1920 x 1080, but there's not a 1920 x 1080 native plasma on the planet. I'd suggest 1280 x 720, especially if it's a 1024 x 768 w/ stretched pixels plasma display. It might also suggest a 13something by something else mode, which could be its native res, depending on the quality of the display.
__________________
thrillmoms.com - You know it.
Welcome to the family…
Mugi: Mid-2012 15" Retina MBP, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD
Azusa: 64GB iPhone 5, Nagato: 16GB WiFi Retina iPad Mini
killmoms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2005, 04:53 AM   #3
MattG
macrumors 68040
 
MattG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
It should look pretty awesome on there. I've tried my 12" Powerbook on a Plasma screen w/ the DVI port and it was impressive

To get it to work, just plug in, and you may have to hit the "Fn" + "F7" keys on your keyboard at the same time to mirror the image. That's it!
MattG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2005, 04:58 AM   #4
liketom
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
liketom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lincoln,UK
Send a message via AIM to liketom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cless
It'll probably let you go to 1920 x 1080, but there's not a 1920 x 1080 native plasma on the planet. I'd suggest 1280 x 720, especially if it's a 1024 x 768 w/ stretched pixels plasma display. It might also suggest a 13something by something else mode, which could be its native res, depending on the quality of the display.
Good will try that

does Mac OS X look good on a Plasma ? or does it look out of this world lol
__________________
18,000 miles is a long way
liketom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2005, 04:59 AM   #5
liketom
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
liketom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lincoln,UK
Send a message via AIM to liketom
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattG
It should look pretty awesome on there. I've tried my 12" Powerbook on a Plasma screen w/ the DVI port and it was impressive

To get it to work, just plug in, and you may have to hit the "Fn" + "F7" keys on your keyboard at the same time to mirror the image. That's it!
i would of got stuck on the Fn+F7 keys aswell lol

thanks for the tip
__________________
18,000 miles is a long way
liketom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2005, 08:04 AM   #6
Yebot
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Photos Please !
Yebot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2005, 09:03 AM   #7
michaelrjohnson
macrumors 68020
 
michaelrjohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: 54140
Send a message via AIM to michaelrjohnson
Quote:
Originally Posted by liketom
what do i need to know ? what sort of screen res can i get?
I really think it will just be plug-n-play, though, it will probably take some time to find the proper resolution (unstretched). Either way, it will no doubt be impressive.

I can't wait to see the pictures!
__________________
Designer
michaelrjohnson.com
michaelrjohnson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2005, 09:19 AM   #8
liketom
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
liketom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lincoln,UK
Send a message via AIM to liketom
just phoned home and the Plasma is mounted on the wall and the chap is setting up my surround sound -

i asked the mrs what it looks like and she just said BIG lol

but as always women are not really intrested in TV's lol
__________________
18,000 miles is a long way
liketom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2005, 12:35 PM   #9
ham_man
macrumors 68020
 
ham_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
I have been wondering about this awesome. My dad is obsessed with getting a plasma, and when I heard that the one he was looking at had DVI ports, my eyes lit up. Thanks for the info fellas, I will definately be trying this as soon as the TV gets installed in the living room...
ham_man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2005, 02:38 AM   #10
liketom
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
liketom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lincoln,UK
Send a message via AIM to liketom
ok Plasma is all in and looking stunning -

but i got all giddy with the thought of mac os being on the screen i seemed to overlook the fact i have not got a DVI cable - oops

so i'm off to the shops today in my lunch hour to buy the longest DVI cable i can afford so Pictures tonight

__________________
18,000 miles is a long way
liketom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2005, 03:10 AM   #11
Applespider
macrumors 603
 
Applespider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
John Lewis in Oxford St had a Mac Mini running OS X and iTunes on a 42" plasma... but they obviously hadn't spent any time tweaking it or figuring out the best resolution. I nearly caused a pile up at the top of the escalator when I spotted it and had to reverse...
__________________
Oops.... the cat killed the rabbit
Applespider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2005, 02:43 PM   #12
liketom
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
liketom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lincoln,UK
Send a message via AIM to liketom
Here it is

well after lots of issues with my surrond sound not being wired proper i have finally got some shots of the little beast !!
__________________
18,000 miles is a long way

Last edited by liketom; Nov 3, 2005 at 04:49 AM.
liketom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2005, 03:12 PM   #13
theonenonlyjoey
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Send a message via AIM to theonenonlyjoey
what resolution did it turn out to be?
__________________

If Apple made cars, they'd never crash.

iMac G5 2 GHz - 20" - 1.5 GB - 250 GB - Superdrive - Wireless Keyboard & Mouse - LaCie 160 GB d2 Extreme

PowerMac G4 500 MHz 22 in. Cinema Display (currently being repaired for new backlight)

iBook G3 12" 700MHz

iPod 3G 15 GB
theonenonlyjoey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2005, 03:27 PM   #14
killmoms
macrumors 68040
 
killmoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Send a message via AIM to killmoms Send a message via Yahoo to killmoms
Not the right one, judging by those photos. Ew! Get the correct screen shape, please! It's all stretched.
__________________
thrillmoms.com - You know it.
Welcome to the family…
Mugi: Mid-2012 15" Retina MBP, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD
Azusa: 64GB iPhone 5, Nagato: 16GB WiFi Retina iPad Mini
killmoms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2005, 03:34 PM   #15
ftaok
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cless
Not the right one, judging by those photos. Ew! Get the correct screen shape, please! It's all stretched.
I'd say that he's got it set on 1024x768 since that's the native resolution for all 42" HDTV plasmas on the market right now, with the exception of the ALiS interlaced panels. Although many Hitachis have the ALiS panels.

Anyways, liketom could try using SwitchResX or DisplayConfigX to get a better resolution, such as 1280x720 (aka 720p) or 1280x768. The plasma should be able to take that resolution and scale it. The text may be a little fuzzy (since the pixels are rectangular), but it'll be usable.

If it does turn out to be an ALiS panel, I don't know what your options are.
ftaok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2005, 08:58 PM   #16
Gokhan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London
k

one day ! one damn day i will be able to afford that set up !
thats what i keep telling myself anyway but thats looks stunning geezer
now to rob a bank
__________________
problematic mac boy
Gokhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2005, 09:33 PM   #17
michaelrjohnson
macrumors 68020
 
michaelrjohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: 54140
Send a message via AIM to michaelrjohnson
It's looking good!

Seems like a pretty seamless plug-n-play system. Can't wait to see pics of proper screen resolution!
__________________
Designer
michaelrjohnson.com
michaelrjohnson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2005, 03:27 PM   #18
GanChan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Isn't there a pretty significant risk of burned-in images with plasma?
GanChan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2005, 03:41 PM   #19
dejo
Moderator
 
dejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Centennial State
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftaok
I'd say that he's got it set on 1024x768 since that's the native resolution for all 42" HDTV plasmas on the market right now, with the exception of the ALiS interlaced panels. Although many Hitachis have the ALiS panels.
I'm not disputing that native resolution, but what would possess a manufacturer to produce an HDTV display that does not support the HD aspect ratio: 16:9 (or 1.78:1)? 1024x768 is only 4:3 (or 1.33:1).
dejo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2005, 04:08 PM   #20
ftaok
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by dejo
I'm not disputing that native resolution, but what would possess a manufacturer to produce an HDTV display that does not support the HD aspect ratio: 16:9 (or 1.78:1)? 1024x768 is only 4:3 (or 1.33:1).
The reason that plasma manufacturers make screens with 1024x768 resolutions is that they don't have the ability to create pixels that small in the Horizontal direction. So what they do is make the pixel rectangular. The human eye can't resolve detail in the horizontal as well as it can in the vertical direction. That's why even with the rectangular pixels, HD on 16:9 1024x768 screens look great.

Right now, only 50" plasmas use square pixels in a 16:9ish ratio. Usually, 50" screens are built at 1280x768 or 1366x768.
ftaok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2005, 04:13 PM   #21
ftaok
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by GanChan
Isn't there a pretty significant risk of burned-in images with plasma?
That pretty much is a thing of the past. The manufacturers have gotten so good with different manufacturing and operating techniques, that you really don't have to worry too much about burn in.

What you do have to do is keep the brightness and contrast down during the 1st 1000 hours of use. You also don't want to have the letterbox (or pillarbox) bars on for an extended period of time during the break-in period. Another thing you don't want to do is leave a static image on the screen for too long, which is exactly what a computer might do. So if I were to use a Mac with a plasma, I would set the screen saver to come on after a minute or so. I would also use a screen saver that changed the screen often (probably a picture slide show). And I wouldn't use an application on too long, otherwise the menu bar might cause problems.
ftaok is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Vintage" Powerbook DLSD Apple Service in CA? California PowerPC Macs 3 May 25, 2013 01:46 PM
The PowerBook G3 "Lombard" running OS X Public Beta Challenge AlbertEinstein PowerPC Macs 11 Feb 18, 2013 04:59 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC