Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 25, 2012, 08:21 AM   #1
mac-collector
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Europe
Mountain Lion memory

I want to ask the people who have used ML if they feel it is any easier on the RAM compared to Lion. Some describe Lion as quite the memory hog, do you notice any improvement? If so how much?

Thanks.
mac-collector is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 10:43 AM   #2
andrewpturko
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Francisco
I'm glad you asked, because in DP3 I do see better performance overall than Lion. The main processes running in the background seem to be taking up less memory.

Take a look at my processes and see what you think:

andrewpturko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 11:12 AM   #3
mac-collector
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Europe
I'd say that looks better than Lion - only 2 GB. I struggle with keeping it around 3 GB with just a few apps running (browser, iCal, Mail, dropbox...) Did you disable/not start dashboard? Or is it really taking <15 MB of RAM?
mac-collector is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 11:33 AM   #4
ssn637
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Switzerland
I performed a clean installation of DP3 on a 2010 13" MacBook Pro and all seemed well until mdworker (User) started kicking in randomly. Spotlight had long since completed its indexing but I noted CPU loads of 100% and temperatures in excess of 80 C. Quitting the process via Activity Monitor calmed things down for a while, but the process kept resurfacing.

Not sure if it was a problem with the operating system or incompatibility with one of my applications, but I was forced to go back to 10.6.8. Has anyone else experienced this issue?
ssn637 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 12:34 PM   #5
andrewpturko
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Francisco
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssn637 View Post
I performed a clean installation of DP3 on a 2010 13" MacBook Pro and all seemed well until mdworker (User) started kicking in randomly. Spotlight had long since completed its indexing but I noted CPU loads of 100% and temperatures in excess of 80 C. Quitting the process via Activity Monitor calmed things down for a while, but the process kept resurfacing.

Not sure if it was a problem with the operating system or incompatibility with one of my applications, but I was forced to go back to 10.6.8. Has anyone else experienced this issue?
@ssn637: I haven't noticed the issue, and I haven't heard of that bug as well.

@mac-collector: Dashboard now seems to be rather efficient because, if I'm not mistaken, it seems to become disabled in the DP3 after a short while of inactivity (ie. not in the dashboard space for more than 10 mins), thus using a low amount of memory.
andrewpturko is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 08:54 AM   #6
Watabou
macrumors 68030
 
Watabou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United States
Judging by the page ins, you took that screenshot just a few minutes after you turned on your mac. Would be great if someone could post how the memory usages are after a considerable time and some heavy lifting.

The only thing about Lion that I really dislike is the memory management. I'd be really happy and upgrade in a heartbeat if ML is better in that respect so I don't have to use the purge command every five minutes.
__________________
Haswell 15" rMBP (2.3Ghz, 16GB, 750M GT) | iPhone 5 | Check out Lyrical on the MAS! | Last.fm
Watabou is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 09:14 AM   #7
atMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewpturko View Post
I'm glad you asked, because in DP3 I do see better performance overall than Lion. The main processes running in the background seem to be taking up less memory.

Take a look at my processes and see what you think:

Image
With the same apps open +Adium I'm using 500MB less than you with Lion 10.7.4

And I have not rebooted in almost a week.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-04-28 at 9.13.23 AM.png
Views:	537
Size:	132.7 KB
ID:	337644  
__________________
13in 2012 rMBP: Core i5, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD; Nexus 7 3G; Nexus 4 16GB
atMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 12:34 PM   #8
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
In my experience, it's just not worth trying to run on anything less than 4GB these days. Just booting to the desktop will basically fill up 2GB, and as soon as you start running apps you'll overflow. One thing to keep in mind is that the amount of memory used by the graphics stack has increased with Lion, given all the new visual effects they've added.

Besides, RAM is pretty cheap these days, and upgrading the amount of memory you have is probably the simplest way to extend the life of your machine.
Asgorath is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 01:11 AM   #9
afin
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Midwest USA
Where do we draw the line between it being the OS maintainer's fault or just the natural progression of technology? I understand that in comparison, windows memory management looks pretty "lean-and-mean" these days, but why are we even comparing OS's that are designed in two completely different mindsets?
afin is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 08:05 AM   #10
matamoris
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I much prefer the aesthetics of Mac OS X. It's just enjoyable to use. But I have to say that Windows 7 performs better in my experience. Believe it or not, Windows 7 is snappier running in Parallels than native Lion on the same machine!

I really believe it all comes down to the virtual memory problem that has been exacerbated in Lion -- it just kills performance. Has anyone noticed any improvements in this area in Mountain Lion?
matamoris is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 09:37 PM   #11
Drew017
macrumors 65816
 
Drew017's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: East coast, USA
Send a message via Skype™ to Drew017
I'm wondering what the performance of ML will be on 3GB of memory. Right now I have 2GB, but am considering upgrading RAM and OS X. Right now on SL my Mac's wonderfully fast... but I want an upgrade.
__________________
Who'll put on my shoes while I'm walking slowly down the hall of fame?
MacBook Air 13 inch (Mid 2013); Intel Core i5; 4GB RAM; OS X 10.10 Yosemite
iPhone 5c

Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Drew017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 11:03 AM   #12
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
FYI, i have a VM with mountain lion DP3 in it.

With 2gb of ram allocated to the VM, and app store open, and safari at apple.com, i have 930mb of free ram.

It is also FAST. I'd say faster than Lion, when running in a VM under lion

Memory management seems to be much improved over lion.


I suspect Lion was a little too aggressive with regards to swapping things out and attempting to keep recently accessed data in RAM. It runs fine with an SSD, which is likely what apple tested most with at a guess.

Mountain Lion is certainly different.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 11:46 AM   #13
atMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I still have to check my mem usage, but the latest update to ML DP3 has made things feel much better.
__________________
13in 2012 rMBP: Core i5, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD; Nexus 7 3G; Nexus 4 16GB
atMac is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 12:30 PM   #14
PurrBall
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Send a message via MSN to PurrBall
Better-ish.
Here's after a fresh boot.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-05-02 at 12.22.28 PM.png
Views:	426
Size:	194.3 KB
ID:	338240

Here's with things open.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-05-02 at 12.18.38 PM.png
Views:	730
Size:	1.20 MB
ID:	338242
__________________
iMac 24" 2.93 GHz C2D | MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz i7 | iPad Air 16 GB | iPhone 5s 32 GB
PurrBall is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 10:05 PM   #15
TheMTtakeover
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
glad to hear that ML is better on ram usage. That's really my only dislike of lion. I understand its 64-bit but I've run plenty of 64-bit OSs and none take up memory like Lion.
__________________
#TeamTaji
TheMTtakeover is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 03:54 PM   #16
wikus
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Planet earth.
Can anyone comment on the performance & memory usage of Mountain Lion compared to Snow Leopard?

I had Lion installed for a few days when I got my MacBook Pro, but it was absolutely terrible.
wikus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 04:30 PM   #17
leman
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMTtakeover View Post
glad to hear that ML is better on ram usage. That's really my only dislike of lion. I understand its 64-bit but I've run plenty of 64-bit OSs and none take up memory like Lion.
Dunno, Lion surely feels snappier than Windows 7 running on the same iMac. With Lion I can open 40 tabs in Chrome + having lots of applications open and it runs happily. With Windows, even 20 tabs result in noticeable slowdowns.

Bottomline: why would you care what the activity monitor shows when the performance is good?

P.S. I run some benchmarks between Lion and ML DP3, they were virtually identical.
leman is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 12:25 AM   #18
TheMTtakeover
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by leman View Post
Dunno, Lion surely feels snappier than Windows 7 running on the same iMac. With Lion I can open 40 tabs in Chrome + having lots of applications open and it runs happily. With Windows, even 20 tabs result in noticeable slowdowns.

Bottomline: why would you care what the activity monitor shows when the performance is good?

P.S. I run some benchmarks between Lion and ML DP3, they were virtually identical.
Well I have 8gb of RAM with lion so I don't really have to worry about it, but its just habit to check. I started out with 4gb and that was getting pushed to the max when doing music production and having a few other programs open but having the same thing open in Win 7 would only be like 2.5gb of used ram and around 1gb in Ubuntu.

It's not the end of the world, I still like Lion
__________________
#TeamTaji
TheMTtakeover is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 03:43 AM   #19
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
I suspect they've tweaked the behavior with regards to swapping things out and placing memory into the "inactive" pool.

I don't believe Lion is a "hog" simply because it is bloated, i think perhaps the VM system just wasn't quite tweaked right with regards to priority placed on swapping and caching.

It probably tested fine on SSDs before release, and works fine on an air, but on a mechanical disk it sucks a bit.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 03:56 AM   #20
chevalier433
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled3.png
Views:	433
Size:	2.53 MB
ID:	339001  

Last edited by chevalier433; May 24, 2012 at 10:31 AM.
chevalier433 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 10:51 AM   #21
jevel
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
I run DP3 on an MBA 2009 with SSD. It runs quite OK compared to Lion which barely crawled along.

Not sure if it is due to memory or if the system itself is snappier.

-KJ
jevel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2012, 01:06 AM   #22
kristoffer4
macrumors 6502a
 
kristoffer4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Denmark
Good to hear. It seems they have fixed some things under the hood compared to lion.
kristoffer4 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 06:14 AM   #23
dede4metal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Ram Usage

Hi guys
Running MLDP4 not from fresh installation on MBA 13" early 2011 1.86 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo; 2 GB 1067 MHz DDR3.

The RAM usage is much much lower than with lion I am genuinely impressed! Lower by 20%!
dede4metal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 06:26 AM   #24
maril1111
macrumors 68000
 
maril1111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Sweet, more ram for the apps to use as well as a snappier computer.
__________________
13" 2011 MBP 2.3,8 GB Ram,320GB HDD;13"MB 4.1 3 GB Ram 120GB HDD;iPad 3 32Gb 4G+Wifi;Ipod Classic 160GB;ipod nano 8GB
maril1111 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 06:32 AM   #25
Feed Me
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Location Location
I never have memory problems with Lion, and I have 4gb of RAM.
You guys are taking into account that "inactive" RAM is practically the same as "free" RAM, right?
Feed Me is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Erase Macbook Memory (OSX Mountain Lion) erase.memory Mac Basics and Help 4 Aug 29, 2013 05:09 PM
Mountain Lion Memory Management Huntn OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 13 Aug 25, 2013 07:29 PM
AdBlock For Safari Memory Leak Mountain Lion? smurray OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 6 Jul 11, 2013 01:22 PM
Mountain Lion Memory - is it improved in management? iOrbit OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 65 Oct 8, 2012 09:13 AM
Mountain Lion memory limitation tested wallysb01 Mac Pro 4 Aug 8, 2012 09:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC