Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 26, 2012, 02:08 PM   #1
nowisthetime
Guest
 
New Imac / Password

Hello,

I am trying to register my new Imac and cannot get past the Password screen. I would very much like to be able to bypass the Password Login but it will not let me ignore the Password box. Is there anyway to get right to the desktop without a password?

I did not receive any Recovery Discs or Operating Instructions Discs of any kind. I

Also, this screen called Select Your Wi-Fi Network, if I am connecting wirelessly, do I need to connect an ethernet cable? Or is the one power cord all I need to connect?

I am so confused with all this as I am switching from windows to Imac and am not computer saavy.I cannot call a store for help as I bought it from Amazon.

Will someone please direct me?

Thank you in advance,
Mary
  0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 02:17 PM   #2
DanPosMaytee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Preston, England.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nowisthetime View Post
Hello,

I am trying to register my new Imac and cannot get past the Password screen. I would very much like to be able to bypass the Password Login but it will not let me ignore the Password box. Is there anyway to get right to the desktop without a password?

I did not receive any Recovery Discs or Operating Instructions Discs of any kind. I

Also, this screen called Select Your Wi-Fi Network, if I am connecting wirelessly, do I need to connect an ethernet cable? Or is the one power cord all I need to connect?

I am so confused with all this as I am switching from windows to Imac and am not computer saavy.I cannot call a store for help as I bought it from Amazon.

Will someone please direct me?

Thank you in advance,
Mary
Hi I stumbled across this online after doing a search, it may help?
http://osxdaily.com/2010/08/10/forgo...-mac-password/
__________________
HP Pavilion: Pentium Dual-Core e5200 @ 2.50 GHz, 3.0 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 w/ 1GB Dedicated RAM.

(As you can tell I need a new PC, iMac time in June!)
DanPosMaytee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 02:29 PM   #3
Razorhog
macrumors 6502a
 
Razorhog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arkansas
Quote:
Originally Posted by nowisthetime View Post
Hello,

I am trying to register my new Imac and cannot get past the Password screen. I would very much like to be able to bypass the Password Login but it will not let me ignore the Password box. Is there anyway to get right to the desktop without a password?

I did not receive any Recovery Discs or Operating Instructions Discs of any kind. I

Also, this screen called Select Your Wi-Fi Network, if I am connecting wirelessly, do I need to connect an ethernet cable? Or is the one power cord all I need to connect?

I am so confused with all this as I am switching from windows to Imac and am not computer saavy.I cannot call a store for help as I bought it from Amazon.

Will someone please direct me?

Thank you in advance,
Mary
Sounds to me like you are in the initial setup of the iMac. You have to enter a password there. Write it down. Once you get past the initial setup, the computer will boot straight to the desktop, but you'll need that password to install apps and make other kinds of changes.

If you are using wireless, you don't need an ethernet cable.
Razorhog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 02:40 PM   #4
CrickettGrrrl
macrumors 6502a
 
CrickettGrrrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: B'more or Less
Quote:
Originally Posted by nowisthetime View Post

I am so confused with all this as I am switching from windows to Imac and am not computer saavy.I cannot call a store for help as I bought it from Amazon.
Hi Mary,

even though you bought your new Mac on Amazon (so did I), you still get 90 days complimentary Apple technical telephone support and one-year limited warranty --so you can call Apple for support, or if need be, you can make an appointment and bring it in to an Apple Store for help setting it up (transferring stuff from your previous computer) for free.

(---And you can get Apple Care to extend it for 3 years total.)
CrickettGrrrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 03:02 PM   #5
Bobby.e
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kansas
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrickettGrrrl View Post
Hi Mary,

even though you bought your new Mac on Amazon (so did I), you still get 90 days complimentary Apple technical telephone support and one-year limited warranty --so you can call Apple for support, or if need be, you can make an appointment and bring it in to an Apple Store for help setting it up (transferring stuff from your previous computer) for free.

(---And you can get Apple Care to extend it for 3 years total.)
Yes. This person is correct. You get 90 days of phone support to AppleCare
Bobby.e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 03:27 PM   #6
DanPosMaytee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Preston, England.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrickettGrrrl View Post
Hi Mary,

even though you bought your new Mac on Amazon (so did I), you still get 90 days complimentary Apple technical telephone support and one-year limited warranty --so you can call Apple for support, or if need be, you can make an appointment and bring it in to an Apple Store for help setting it up (transferring stuff from your previous computer) for free.

(---And you can get Apple Care to extend it for 3 years total.)
The way I read this she got it second hand off Amazon (because she didn't receive or disks etc?
__________________
HP Pavilion: Pentium Dual-Core e5200 @ 2.50 GHz, 3.0 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 w/ 1GB Dedicated RAM.

(As you can tell I need a new PC, iMac time in June!)
DanPosMaytee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 03:29 PM   #7
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanPosMaytee View Post
The way I read this she got it second hand off Amazon (because she didn't receive or disks etc?
"Lion Internet Recovery" - no discs with a new Mac.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 04:12 PM   #8
CrickettGrrrl
macrumors 6502a
 
CrickettGrrrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: B'more or Less
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanPosMaytee View Post
The way I read this she got it second hand off Amazon (because she didn't receive or disks etc?
Bear is correct, the Lion Macs ship with no discs. So I didn't read it as a second-hand purchase either.

I think that is part of the OP's confusion, especially as she is transferring from a Windows machine: only ONE cord, no discs, tiny booklets. (And simple wifi set-up.) All of that blew my brother away when he got a Mac last year, but then he's an engineer --he expects layers of complication.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby.e View Post
Yes. This person is correct. You get 90 days of phone support to AppleCare
And with Apple Care, the phone support is 3 years.
CrickettGrrrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 08:00 PM   #9
nowisthetime
Guest
 
After I posted I called Apple Care and after explaining to them that I wanted to register without having to have a login password, he had me enter one each time the password boxes came up, which was several times, assuring me that at the end he would fix it so that I wouldn't have to use a password. When it didn't turn out that way he just told me to call my email server which is Charter and have them fix it. Now i'm worse off than before because I not only have to enter a password to logon, but also to enter my email, which doesn't even work when I get in there. So I went back to my pc email and I couldn't believe that it was now exactly the same problem! I never had to enter a pw before but I do now. And, for some reason, I am not getting any more email to my pc. I was just about on the verge when I called another help number and got something called Yogi Care. I didn't realize until talking to them for some length of time that they were a remote system and would take over my computer and configure everything for me if I purchased a plan for 399.00 for three years. After all the time I wasted with that I was really ready to return this computer as it was just too complicated for me to set up and get everything working, and I now had more problems than when I started.
Has anyone used the this Remote System and do you think it would be a good way to go?

Apple offers the 3 year plan also for that price, but it is all through the phone, whereas this other company takes over the computer and configures everything for you remotely and you really don't have to do anything.

I bought this machine new from Amazon, not second hand. Only rec'd 3 things, power cord, keyboard and mouse.

Thank you to those who answered my first questions,
Mary
  0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 08:20 PM   #10
dangerfish
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Hi Mary,

Don't give up. We can likely help you. The Mac is NOT complicated. It is very simple to set and use. The problem here is you. You are trying to do things incorrectly. You MUST have a password. This isn't a login password so much as it is an administrator password. OS X requires you to enter your admin password when the computer wants to do something important (install software or updates). This is what helps make OS X secure. You will NOT be entering your password all the time to login. You will NOT have to enter your password all the time to check your email. It will remember. Just follow the instructions and the computer will walk you through it.
__________________
Recovering Windows user.
dangerfish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 10:02 AM   #11
nowisthetime
Guest
 
Sorry to have to disagree with you dangerfish, but I am REQUIRED to enter a password to logon. The worst part is that after typing in the CORRECT password, it is not accepted. The box turns blue and wiggles and that's it. This happens evertime I want to logon.

I'm trying to get through to Apple Care right now to ask for help to undo the help I got yesterday.






Quote:
Originally Posted by dangerfish View Post
Hi Mary,

Don't give up. We can likely help you. The Mac is NOT complicated. It is very simple to set and use. The problem here is you. You are trying to do things incorrectly. You MUST have a password. This isn't a login password so much as it is an administrator password. OS X requires you to enter your admin password when the computer wants to do something important (install software or updates). This is what helps make OS X secure. You will NOT be entering your password all the time to login. You will NOT have to enter your password all the time to check your email. It will remember. Just follow the instructions and the computer will walk you through it.
  0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 10:18 AM   #12
dangerfish
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Mary,

You need to change a setting to make it so that you don't have to enter your password. You need to turn automatic login on and you won't have to input your password anymore. Same thing with email; you will tell it to remember your password.
But you need to get into your computer first before you can do any of that.
If you are getting the wiggly box, then you are inputting the wrong password. I know you think you are putting in the correct password, but at some point yesterday when you were putting in all the passwords when you were on the phone with Apple Care, you put in a different admin password. You may have misspelled it the first time you put it in or maybe you have the capitalization incorrect but the truth is that you are now trying to input something different than you originally did.
You need to get Apple Care to help you start over from scratch. Set up the account from the beginning. Write down your password and keep it safe. Once you get into your account, you can set it so that yo don't need to input the password to login.

You can find the answer to most everything you want to do with a simple Google search. Keep your search terms simple when searching.
Lion automatic login
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	25
Size:	56.3 KB
ID:	337534   Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled1.png
Views:	18
Size:	207.5 KB
ID:	337536  
__________________
Recovering Windows user.

Last edited by dangerfish; Apr 27, 2012 at 10:26 AM.
dangerfish is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 11:10 AM   #13
Razorhog
macrumors 6502a
 
Razorhog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arkansas
Mary - Purchase AppleCare so you can call when you need. You need some one-on-one training and help, so going to an Apple store and getting an appointment would be a very good idea.

Also check out the Mac 101 stuff, it is for Mac beginners:

http://www.apple.com/support/mac101/
Razorhog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 11:52 AM   #14
nowisthetime
Guest
 
razorhog, dangerfish, others

I got help from Apple and they were able to reset my logon password so that it is now automatic; so relieved that's over. He was really helping me when my phone died and couldn't get him back. I think you're only allowed one call per day on the 3 months free service so I'll have to wait for more help.

I am thinking about the Apple Care for 3 years but wondering if it would be the same from Amazon? It is 164.00 as opposed to 399.00. Is it the same ? Should I wait until the 90 days free care is up?

I would like to ask though if I should network my pc to the iMac. One is wired, the other wireless. Does this cause problems, esp. since the email address the same? Seems like all the email is going to the pc instead of the iMac now even though it's set up in iMac.

Thanks,
Mary
  0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 12:07 PM   #15
dangerfish
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Apple sells Apple Care for many of their products and the price is different for all of them. It might be a little cheaper on Amazon, but I doubt the $164 version is for your iMac.
You can certainly network your PC and Mac if you have a reason to. It should even be automatic. Open a Finder window and if your PC is on the same network, you should see it there under "Shared". You just need to click it and enter your credentials to log in.
If your Mac is not receiving email then something is probably set up incorrectly. Do you know if your email is Pop or IMAP?

----------

I stand corrected. Amazon does appear to sell Apple Care for much less.
http://www.amazon.com/AppleCare-Prot...5546280&sr=8-1

This is a steal.
__________________
Recovering Windows user.
dangerfish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 02:10 PM   #16
AppleNewton
macrumors 65816
 
AppleNewton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 1 Finite Place
Quote:
Originally Posted by dangerfish View Post
Apple sells Apple Care for many of their products and the price is different for all of them. It might be a little cheaper on Amazon, but I doubt the $164 version is for your iMac.
You can certainly network your PC and Mac if you have a reason to. It should even be automatic. Open a Finder window and if your PC is on the same network, you should see it there under "Shared". You just need to click it and enter your credentials to log in.
If your Mac is not receiving email then something is probably set up incorrectly. Do you know if your email is Pop or IMAP?

----------

I stand corrected. Amazon does appear to sell Apple Care for much less.
http://www.amazon.com/AppleCare-Prot...5546280&sr=8-1

This is a steal.
AppleCare for iMacs retails $169USD Amazon is a deal, $5 off sans Tax as well.

If networking the PC & Mac together, ensure the PC has the proper settings in place to allow connections through any of the installed firewalls. And the iMac has File Sharing enabled as well.
AppleNewton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 07:14 PM   #17
nowisthetime
Guest
 
Red face

All,

I went to Apple store today and purchased the wired keyboard but not mouse although I really wanted it but ratings were not very good for it on Amazon.
Also bought the 3 yr AppleCare plan for 164.00. They were selling it for 169.00 but I asked them to match Amazon's price and they did. Still had to pay tax though that I would have saved from Amazon.
Got caught up in the fever of the store and impulsively bought an iPad 2. Don't know if I'll keep it . Mary

ps wish I knew how to bookmark websites to my desktop to make it convenient to go to them. Still trying to make the pc to iMac switch.
  0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 08:56 PM   #18
dangerfish
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Mary! DONT DO IT!
You are not allowed to clutter you desktop with hundreds of shortcuts! That's the Windows way. There really is no reason to do that. Learn to use Spotlight. You can use it to launch any application, find documents, contacts, photos, emails and even launch a song from iTunes. All without cluttering up your gorgeous screen real estate.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=csLsernrD5Y

But if you truly must have a shortcut to a website on your desktop, all you have to do is drag it there from the URL bar. We may stop helping you though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Desktop-Trek[3].jpg
Views:	34
Size:	94.7 KB
ID:	337595  
__________________
Recovering Windows user.
dangerfish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2012, 01:04 PM   #19
Jxnhole
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Just found this site looking for an answer to the same question. I am setting a clients computer who didn't want the password either. While it's true that you have to put in a password setting up the machine, you don't have to live with it. After the set up is complete click on the apple icon on the top left of your screen. Go to system preferences. Go to users and groups. At the bottom left of the box that pops up click on the padlock to unlock. It will ask for the password you created to unlock the users. From their click on the user you created in setting up the computer and then click change password. You will then enter your old password (for the last time, I promise) and leave the two fields for your new password empty. Click save and you will never have to enter your user password again. At times in the future, for purposes of installing software or other similar changes when you are asked for a password, leave it blank and just hit enter.
Jxnhole is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 11:53 AM   #20
mdgolom
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrickettGrrrl View Post
Hi Mary,

even though you bought your new Mac on Amazon (so did I), you still get 90 days complimentary Apple technical telephone support and one-year limited warranty --so you can call Apple for support, or if need be, you can make an appointment and bring it in to an Apple Store for help setting it up (transferring stuff from your previous computer) for free.

(---And you can get Apple Care to extend it for 3 years total.)
I just received my 27" iMac from Amazon on Wednesday and had to call Apple support about a Wifi issue. The Apple support site told me that my complimentary 90-day support had expired. The person from Apple was nice, explained this occurs sometimes when you purchase from a third party and corrected the start date on the iMac. I've always had good luck with Apple support.
mdgolom is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost password to connect to 2nd Imac CyrusOz iMac 7 Feb 7, 2014 03:05 PM
I forgot my imac firmware password? bengrafik iMac 27 Oct 10, 2013 11:27 AM
When iMac is sleep and awakes asking for password, can I shut off? bobright iMac 11 May 15, 2013 09:29 PM
IMac won't boot after trying to reset password LindaH iMac 8 Jan 2, 2013 09:19 AM
New iMac, password troubles baxlobs Mac Basics and Help 7 Dec 11, 2012 11:16 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC