Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 26, 2012, 10:54 PM   #1
zerb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Pro 1.1 Only shows 8gb ram, has 16gb in it

Bought 8gb of ram. 4x2gb sticks from transintl a few weeks ago. Popped it in, all was well. Ordered the same stuff again Monday, for a total of 16gb, popped it in this evening and noticed that Activity Monitor only shows 8gb of ram still. about this Mac shows 16, geek bench shows 16. But activity monitor only shows 8gb. Issue? Or just a technicality?



Last edited by zerb; Apr 27, 2012 at 08:24 AM.
zerb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 07:45 AM   #2
saulinpa
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
You should see all 16. Try this - From the Apple () menu, choose About This Mac - More info - then Memory. It should show all sticks and a status of OK.
saulinpa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 08:17 AM   #3
zerb
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I did that yesterday evening, forgot to take a screen pic, and it did show that all slots were full with 2gb sticks and all said OK.
zerb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 12:22 PM   #4
saulinpa
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Strange. I would try re-arranging them to unused slots and see what happens.
saulinpa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 07:05 PM   #5
zerb
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
all fixed now. first took the new 8gb out and just had the old stuff in, it registered 8gb so good. took that out, put just the new stuff if...registered 8gb, good. took 2 sticks out and mixed old and new, two sticks per riser...8gb still showing. took it all out, new stuff on one riser, older stuff on the other. and now its seeing all 16gb in activity monitor. so its all good.
zerb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 12:57 AM   #6
makaveli559m
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I read your remedy and I tried it on my own Mac Pro and all my RAM read I bought one used and it needs some work. Now I need the video cards working correctly, also this wierd humming noise. This does help a lot of people I am grateful for the help I get here
__________________
15" MBP (mid 2010) Core i5 2.40GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB Momentus XT Hybrid HD, Nvidia GT330m/ Intel HD.
makaveli559m is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8gb or 16gb RAM 15-inch MacBook Pro with Retina madele MacBook Pro 33 Jan 5, 2014 09:08 PM
15" Retina MacBook Pro: 8GB vs 16GB RAM Veradun MacBook Pro 50 Mar 2, 2013 05:27 PM
Added 16gb Ram but Mac only shows 8gb AaronMac1981 MacBook Pro 5 Dec 31, 2012 10:04 AM
Should I Cancel my MacBook Pro Retina 8GB RAM and switch to 16GB? iRobby MacBook Pro 43 Oct 26, 2012 03:03 PM
The new MacBook Pro with Retain Display. 8GB or 16GB of Ram? henry72 MacBook Pro 4 Jun 11, 2012 09:35 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC