Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 27, 2012, 12:19 AM   #1
abbotkinneydude
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quad G5 vs. MDD G4 2x1.42Ghz

Hello everyone !

While I love my trusty (and maxed out) MDD G4 Dual 1.42, I've had my eyes on upgrading to a Quad G5 for quite some time.

Simple question: is the Quad G5 much, much faster than the MMD G4 2x1.42 ?

I also have a Black Book 2008 (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.4 Ghz with 4GB of RAM). Will the Quad G5 top the Black Book 2008 (Penryn) or will it be in between ?

Thanks !
abbotkinneydude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 12:37 AM   #2
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
The quad will definitely be faster than your dual 1.42 G4. The G5 have a much larger RAM capacity at 16GB max while your G4 has 2GB. Even the dual core 2.3GHz G5 is faster than the DP G4.

I will enumerate to you the pros against the dual G4;
1. Faster bus
2. Faster memory
3. SATA I drive versus EIDE/PATA
4. Larger memory capacity at 16GB
5. Faster processor at 2.5GHz
6. 4 Cores against 2 Cores
7. Better graphics card option (PCIe againsts AGP)
8. USB 2.0 native against USB 1.1

Need I say more?

Now for the cons;
1. Water/Liquid cooled, prone to leak which could damage the CPU while the G4 is air cooled

Now comparing to a macbook, if they both run Leopard, i would pick the quad. The quad benches higher than the black macbook. 4 cores vs 2 cores at almost slight difference in memory speed. It is a no brainer which one to pick.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 01:00 AM   #3
abbotkinneydude
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Thanks for responding so quickly Nameci. I intend to use the Quad G5 for film scoring as well (so far I've been using my black book 2008) and wanted to make sure it would at least match the Black Book in speed (+ I'll max out the Quad with extra ram). I have a soft spot for the Duals MDD G4s; once I replaced their P/S with PC Power Supplies (what a soldering iron job that was !), they felt absolutely perfect to me. Anyway... off to the Quad G5 !
abbotkinneydude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 01:17 AM   #4
tayloralmond
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Missouri, USA
I agree with what Nameci said. The Quads are significantly faster than the MDD's. I own both (although mine's a 1.25GHz) and the Quad is a night and day difference when compared to the MDD. Also, the Quad will be faster than a BlackBook.
__________________
Mac Pro: 1.86GHz (8 Core), 17GB RAM, Radeon 5770
PowerMac G5 Quad: 16GB RAM PowerMac G4: 2x1.5GHz PowerBook G4 12": 1.5GHz
iMac G3: 600MHz iBook G3: 466MHz
The Blog I Work At: MyMacCollection
tayloralmond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 02:47 PM   #5
abbotkinneydude
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quick question -> Would anyone know where to get a "Quad Core" Power Cable for the Quad G5 ? Thank you.
abbotkinneydude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 03:16 PM   #6
Colpeas
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Prague, Czech Rep.
Quote:
Originally Posted by abbotkinneydude View Post
Quick question -> Would anyone know where to get a "Quad Core" Power Cable for the Quad G5 ? Thank you.
AFAIK the power cord is the same for both quads and duals, innit? They both have 1000W PSUs, although PSU in dual can be replaced with less powerful 710W model... (according to the service manual linked above)

So eBay is the answer.
Colpeas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 03:54 PM   #7
rickvanr
macrumors 68040
 
rickvanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Brockville
Send a message via ICQ to rickvanr Send a message via AIM to rickvanr Send a message via MSN to rickvanr Send a message via Yahoo to rickvanr
when my G5 2.7 sprung a leak, I had it replaced for a 2009 Mac Pro.. the power cable from the dual 2.7 G5 worked with the 2009 Mac Pro
__________________
rickdiculous.. < o >
rickvanr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 07:16 PM   #8
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quote:
Originally Posted by abbotkinneydude View Post
Quick question -> Would anyone know where to get a "Quad Core" Power Cable for the Quad G5 ? Thank you.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/PowerMac-G5-...ht_1430wt_1185

Found it for you in less than a minute. There is this site that is called ebay.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 08:25 PM   #9
abbotkinneydude
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Thanks Nameci ! Didn't think of it. I try to stick to Other World Computing for most of my Mac needs; I should consider Ebay as well.
abbotkinneydude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 08:55 PM   #10
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
More sources, better options, better choices.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 09:01 PM   #11
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
You can still get the cables directly from Apple too. I got one for myself last fall when I was working at an Apple Authorized Service Provider.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.16, Dual 2.0 G5, Dual 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 12:03 AM   #12
G51989
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New York State
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hrududu View Post
You can still get the cables directly from Apple too. I got one for myself last fall when I was working at an Apple Authorized Service Provider.
Pretty sure most G5s use any generic power cable, at least mine does.
G51989 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 12:10 AM   #13
DrakkenWar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Antonio,Texas
Send a message via MSN to DrakkenWar Send a message via Yahoo to DrakkenWar Send a message via Skype™ to DrakkenWar
Yuppers..

All the G5's use the same cable as the G4's and G3's to be honest. Cheap, easy to find. Be for warned, when you acquire 2 and leave them in a box in your closet for around a week you will end up with around 2 to 4 dozen...

~Drake
DrakkenWar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 07:33 AM   #14
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
Not so, the quad and the dual core models use the heavier/bigger cable. My one in new Zealand didn't come with it and there bloody deer to have to buy one off the bat.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 02:13 PM   #15
Intell
macrumors G5
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Most consumer computers use the IEC 60320 C13/C14 standard, which maxes out at 15 amps, for power plugs:
Name:  100px-IEC_60320_C13.svg.png
Views: 255
Size:  2.0 KB


Devices that use over 1000watts of power, like the later PowerMac G5s, mid-2000's high end Dell XPS gaming computers, and some servers use the IEC 60320 C19/C20 standard, which maxes out at 20 amps:
Name:  100px-IEC_60320_C19.svg.png
Views: 256
Size:  1.2 KB
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:24 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 03:25 PM   #16
abbotkinneydude
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Is $350 a good price for a near mint Quad G5 w/out Power Cable ?

Update: the more I use Craigslist (Los Angeles), the more I see a $400-$600 range for Quad G5s but, most of the time, you can sense they've been very much used so just wondering what would an avid PPC user pay for the pinnacle of PPC towers. Thanks.

Last edited by abbotkinneydude; Apr 28, 2012 at 03:45 PM.
abbotkinneydude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 03:46 PM   #17
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quad G5's are around 300 to 350 range. Souped up ones would go as high as 500.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC