Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 27, 2012, 01:19 AM   #1
abbotkinneydude
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quad G5 vs. MDD G4 2x1.42Ghz

Hello everyone !

While I love my trusty (and maxed out) MDD G4 Dual 1.42, I've had my eyes on upgrading to a Quad G5 for quite some time.

Simple question: is the Quad G5 much, much faster than the MMD G4 2x1.42 ?

I also have a Black Book 2008 (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.4 Ghz with 4GB of RAM). Will the Quad G5 top the Black Book 2008 (Penryn) or will it be in between ?

Thanks !
abbotkinneydude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 01:37 AM   #2
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Philippines...
Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
The quad will definitely be faster than your dual 1.42 G4. The G5 have a much larger RAM capacity at 16GB max while your G4 has 2GB. Even the dual core 2.3GHz G5 is faster than the DP G4.

I will enumerate to you the pros against the dual G4;
1. Faster bus
2. Faster memory
3. SATA I drive versus EIDE/PATA
4. Larger memory capacity at 16GB
5. Faster processor at 2.5GHz
6. 4 Cores against 2 Cores
7. Better graphics card option (PCIe againsts AGP)
8. USB 2.0 native against USB 1.1

Need I say more?

Now for the cons;
1. Water/Liquid cooled, prone to leak which could damage the CPU while the G4 is air cooled

Now comparing to a macbook, if they both run Leopard, i would pick the quad. The quad benches higher than the black macbook. 4 cores vs 2 cores at almost slight difference in memory speed. It is a no brainer which one to pick.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 02:00 AM   #3
abbotkinneydude
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Thanks for responding so quickly Nameci. I intend to use the Quad G5 for film scoring as well (so far I've been using my black book 2008) and wanted to make sure it would at least match the Black Book in speed (+ I'll max out the Quad with extra ram). I have a soft spot for the Duals MDD G4s; once I replaced their P/S with PC Power Supplies (what a soldering iron job that was !), they felt absolutely perfect to me. Anyway... off to the Quad G5 !
abbotkinneydude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 02:17 AM   #4
tayloralmond
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Michigan, USA
I agree with what Nameci said. The Quads are significantly faster than the MDD's. I own both (although mine's a 1.25GHz) and the Quad is a night and day difference when compared to the MDD. Also, the Quad will be faster than a BlackBook.
__________________
PowerMac G5: 2.0GHz DP, 4GB RAM; PowerMac G4: 1.5GHz DP (oc'd); iMac G5: 2.0GHz; iBook G3 14": 900MHz;
iMac G3: 600MHz; iBook G3 Clamshell: 466MHz
tayloralmond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 03:47 PM   #5
abbotkinneydude
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quick question -> Would anyone know where to get a "Quad Core" Power Cable for the Quad G5 ? Thank you.
abbotkinneydude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 04:16 PM   #6
Colpeas
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Prague, Czech Rep.
Quote:
Originally Posted by abbotkinneydude View Post
Quick question -> Would anyone know where to get a "Quad Core" Power Cable for the Quad G5 ? Thank you.
AFAIK the power cord is the same for both quads and duals, innit? They both have 1000W PSUs, although PSU in dual can be replaced with less powerful 710W model... (according to the service manual linked above)

So eBay is the answer.
Colpeas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 04:54 PM   #7
rickvanr
macrumors 68040
 
rickvanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Brockville
Send a message via ICQ to rickvanr Send a message via AIM to rickvanr Send a message via MSN to rickvanr Send a message via Yahoo to rickvanr
when my G5 2.7 sprung a leak, I had it replaced for a 2009 Mac Pro.. the power cable from the dual 2.7 G5 worked with the 2009 Mac Pro
__________________
rickdiculous.. < o >
rickvanr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 08:16 PM   #8
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Philippines...
Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quote:
Originally Posted by abbotkinneydude View Post
Quick question -> Would anyone know where to get a "Quad Core" Power Cable for the Quad G5 ? Thank you.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/PowerMac-G5-...ht_1430wt_1185

Found it for you in less than a minute. There is this site that is called ebay.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 09:25 PM   #9
abbotkinneydude
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Thanks Nameci ! Didn't think of it. I try to stick to Other World Computing for most of my Mac needs; I should consider Ebay as well.
abbotkinneydude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 09:55 PM   #10
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Philippines...
Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
More sources, better options, better choices.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 10:01 PM   #11
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
You can still get the cables directly from Apple too. I got one for myself last fall when I was working at an Apple Authorized Service Provider.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.6 17", DP 2.0 G5, DP 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 01:03 AM   #12
G51989
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NYC NY/Pittsburgh PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hrududu View Post
You can still get the cables directly from Apple too. I got one for myself last fall when I was working at an Apple Authorized Service Provider.
Pretty sure most G5s use any generic power cable, at least mine does.
G51989 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 01:10 AM   #13
DrakkenWar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Antonio,Texas
Send a message via MSN to DrakkenWar Send a message via Yahoo to DrakkenWar Send a message via Skype™ to DrakkenWar
Yuppers..

All the G5's use the same cable as the G4's and G3's to be honest. Cheap, easy to find. Be for warned, when you acquire 2 and leave them in a box in your closet for around a week you will end up with around 2 to 4 dozen...

~Drake
DrakkenWar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 08:33 AM   #14
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
Not so, the quad and the dual core models use the heavier/bigger cable. My one in new Zealand didn't come with it and there bloody deer to have to buy one off the bat.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 03:13 PM   #15
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Most consumer computers use the IEC 60320 C13/C14 standard, which maxes out at 15 amps, for power plugs:
Name:  100px-IEC_60320_C13.svg.png
Views: 272
Size:  2.0 KB


Devices that use over 1000watts of power, like the later PowerMac G5s, mid-2000's high end Dell XPS gaming computers, and some servers use the IEC 60320 C19/C20 standard, which maxes out at 20 amps:
Name:  100px-IEC_60320_C19.svg.png
Views: 273
Size:  1.2 KB
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 04:25 PM   #16
abbotkinneydude
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Is $350 a good price for a near mint Quad G5 w/out Power Cable ?

Update: the more I use Craigslist (Los Angeles), the more I see a $400-$600 range for Quad G5s but, most of the time, you can sense they've been very much used so just wondering what would an avid PPC user pay for the pinnacle of PPC towers. Thanks.

Last edited by abbotkinneydude; Apr 28, 2012 at 04:45 PM.
abbotkinneydude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 04:46 PM   #17
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Philippines...
Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quad G5's are around 300 to 350 range. Souped up ones would go as high as 500.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010 iMac 27 i7 Quad 2.93 4gb vs. 2013 iMac 27 i5 quad 3.2 8gb Hello2u2 iMac 18 Jun 20, 2014 07:33 PM
14" 1.42Ghz 512mb ram iBook G4 Ubuntu no recovery discs ImCoKeMaN PowerPC Macs 4 May 12, 2013 06:14 PM
Oc mdd PowerMacFan PowerPC Macs 4 Oct 17, 2012 04:39 PM
Q's: 2009 4,1 Quad 2.66 verses 2010 5,1 Quad 2.8 TableSyrup Mac Pro 10 Jul 26, 2012 01:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC