Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 28, 2012, 11:14 PM   #1
rondocap
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
My G5 is extremely slow, is this normal?

So recently I bought an old first gen 1.8ghz single CPU power Mac g5 with 3 gigs of ram just for web browsing.

Ok, I know it's 10 years old, running leopard, and Old tech.

But it is so sluggish at everything! Web browsing is a hassle. Safari takes long to load, and even switching tabs takes a few secOnds. It freezes up too in some pages especially videos.

Is it really just that slow, or is something slowing it down? Would tiger be faster vs leopard on this machine? It's so frustrating.

I have a newer Mac pro too and they're not even remotely comparable.
rondocap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 11:46 PM   #2
craigsharp
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Send a message via AIM to craigsharp
New mac pro with current standards = Fast.
10 year old hardware trying to run current standards = Slow.

If you take the time to read other topics in this forum you will find a TON of information.
craigsharp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 12:16 AM   #3
Jessica Lares
macrumors 603
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
Most people will say the 2 Ghz ones are much better, but I have the same as you, with less RAM (512MB even! ) and it runs perfectly fine. I'm running Leopard, Photoshop, Illustrator, Flash Professional, and some 3D rendering software with no issue. Safari is a breeze too.

Have you tried zapping the PRAM?
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 12:16 AM   #4
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
If the original owner never bothered with system maintenance that could affect things too (if we are talking about more than Safari).

My work Mac is your model, only my work Mac has 4GB ram. I have anywhere from 5-10 apps open at any time, most of them high memory consuming design apps (InDesign, Photoshop, Illustrator, QuarkXPress, Acrobat, etc, etc). I'm not experiencing any slowdown.
__________________
PowerMac G4 QuickSilver - 1.6Ghz DP | Sprint iPhone 5 - iOS 6.1/Jailbroken
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!
eyoungren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 12:39 AM   #5
estrides
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York
I would try the PRAM test. if possible reinstall the OS, you will most likely notice serious improved performance. At least in my experience I always do!
__________________
Late 2009 15" MBP, 2.8Ghz, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HD ; 3x PowerMac G5's all running 8Gb RAM at 2.3ghz DC ; 3x G4's - 2 MDD and 1 Quicksilver;
estrides is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 02:36 AM   #6
Starfighter
macrumors 6502a
 
Starfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sweden
I don't know how new you are to this, but I'll say it anyway since I know that I for one didn't understand what "zapping the PRAM" meant the first time I had to do it.

Hold command + option + P + R during startup, let go when you hear the chime a second time.
__________________
In arguments the losers are the winners - because they learn something.
Video Game Luddite
Starfighter is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 08:08 AM   #7
skinniezinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
You must have something wrong with that computer, can be software or hardware.
Have a look on the FAQ on my sig it may help you.
In a first instance run onyx with the automation scripts (or at least repair permissions with disk utility).
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 08:46 AM   #8
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
There were different 1.8 G5s as I recall.

One only took four gigs of ram, the other eight.

I had the one that took eight and it seemed slow to me a few years ago, too.

One thing that G5s are notorious for is -- when hard drives go bad, it's difficult to see the problem.

Make sure your hard drive is new or in perfect working order. A big new drive will also speed things up a bit.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 08:47 AM   #9
skinniezinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
Sorry guys, but if switching tabs takes a few seconds there is no way the computer is fine (again, can be software or hardware)...
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 10:00 AM   #10
tjsdaname
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: cedar rapids IA
Quote:
Originally Posted by California View Post
One thing that G5s are notorious for is -- when hard drives go bad, it's difficult to see the problem.

why is that?
__________________
27 imac, White Macbook, Powermac G4 MDD, Powermac G5
tjsdaname is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 10:04 AM   #11
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
A bad and a hard drive that is about to fail could cause considerable slow down not with the OS per se but with opening and running applications.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 11:09 AM   #12
rondocap
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Thank you guys for the responses, you've been very helpful. I must say, I absolutely love these early Power Macs. Ever since they came out, I fell in love with the case, and what they are. I almost got one in 2003 but decided to stay with PC's - I only came to Macs in 2006, I should have switched sooner!

My Mac Pro is a beast, I can see it being fast for years to come - but like I said, this poor 1.8 ghz Power Mac is slow as it comes. It's only a single CPU, not even the dual 1.8 - so I understand where some of that slowdown is. It's the first generation 1.8 too, that came out when the power mac was released.

I am going to try what you guys suggested, resetting PRAM, reinstalling the OS, and even switching out the hard drive. I have a few more questions for you guys:

1.) I currently have the last version of Leopard on this machine. Would switching out to Tiger be better for system performance? Once again, I just want it for a web browsing machine. Right now it won't even work with youtube very well. Freezes and skips video.

2.) Do all power mac's skip youtube videos? I thought this may be due to older flash or video software no longer available. Or would a dual 2.3ghz run things smooth?

3.) This 1.8 does not run SATAII hard drives, I think it's just SATA. Can you still find these for sale?
rondocap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 11:39 AM   #13
tjsdaname
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: cedar rapids IA
Quote:
Originally Posted by rondocap View Post
1.) I currently have the last version of Leopard on this machine. Would switching out to Tiger be better for system performance? Once again, I just want it for a web browsing machine. Right now it won't even work with youtube very well. Freezes and skips video.

2.) Do all power mac's skip youtube videos? I thought this may be due to older flash or video software no longer available. Or would a dual 2.3ghz run things smooth?

my dual 2.5 plays youtube videos at 720p without a problem...

I had tiger on it before leopard and I can't feel a difference in speed. you might though because it's only a single 1.8.
__________________
27 imac, White Macbook, Powermac G4 MDD, Powermac G5
tjsdaname is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 11:40 AM   #14
skinniezinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
Quote:
Originally Posted by rondocap View Post
Thank you guys for the responses, you've been very helpful. I must say, I absolutely love these early Power Macs. Ever since they came out, I fell in love with the case, and what they are. I almost got one in 2003 but decided to stay with PC's - I only came to Macs in 2006, I should have switched sooner!

My Mac Pro is a beast, I can see it being fast for years to come - but like I said, this poor 1.8 ghz Power Mac is slow as it comes. It's only a single CPU, not even the dual 1.8 - so I understand where some of that slowdown is. It's the first generation 1.8 too, that came out when the power mac was released.

I am going to try what you guys suggested, resetting PRAM, reinstalling the OS, and even switching out the hard drive. I have a few more questions for you guys:

1.) I currently have the last version of Leopard on this machine. Would switching out to Tiger be better for system performance? Once again, I just want it for a web browsing machine. Right now it won't even work with youtube very well. Freezes and skips video.

2.) Do all power mac's skip youtube videos? I thought this may be due to older flash or video software no longer available. Or would a dual 2.3ghz run things smooth?

3.) This 1.8 does not run SATAII hard drives, I think it's just SATA. Can you still find these for sale?
Is the leopard on your system a fresh install?If don't try it.
But after loosing time with a new install run apple hardware test (original cds that came with the machine).
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 11:47 AM   #15
rondocap
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I don't have any of the original cds/dvds, I bought this machine second hand. IT just came with Leopard on it already, I don't know for how long it was on there.
rondocap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 12:19 PM   #16
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
Tiger was a real PITA on my work G5. Finder was always unstable and I couldn't initiate more than two copy processes without expecting it to crash. Servers were always disconnecting and causing it to freeze. Just a general mess.

Panther, which is what the G5 came with, was faster and far more stable. When I upgraded to Leopard everything straightened out and it's been smooth, stable, fast and responsive.

I might try repairing permissions, Onyx (as was previously suggested) and if you can get a hold of a copy of DiskWarrior I would run that too. DW can also tell you if your hard drive is indeed going.

BTW, I hate Safari. Unlike most, it's always been a slow tempermental POS that will only load to a certain point and then stop for me. There are much better solutions now. TenFourFox, Camino, SeaMonkey (there is a version 2.x SeaMonkey project out there for Power PC Mac) and a bunch of webkit browsers that show Safari for the beast it is. You might also look at Mactubes, which is a standalone program just for playing Youtube.

Just my thoughts/opinion on all of this.
__________________
PowerMac G4 QuickSilver - 1.6Ghz DP | Sprint iPhone 5 - iOS 6.1/Jailbroken
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!
eyoungren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 07:54 PM   #17
rondocap
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Will an SSD drive work in the 1.8 single CPU G5? Or is it too old? I believe it should be SATA but not SATAII of course.
rondocap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 07:57 PM   #18
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by rondocap View Post
Will an SSD drive work in the 1.8 single CPU G5? Or is it too old? I believe it should be SATA but not SATAII of course.
An SSD will work in one. SATA II drives are backwards compatible with SATA I computers, like the PowerMac G5. You could also put a SATA III drive in it, pending that it has SATA II legacy mode jumpers on it. Most SSDs don't have jumpers, so get a SATA II one.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 08:59 PM   #19
Ariii
macrumors 6502a
 
Ariii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago
Send a message via ICQ to Ariii Send a message via AIM to Ariii Send a message via MSN to Ariii Send a message via Yahoo to Ariii
Quote:
Originally Posted by rondocap View Post
So recently I bought an old first gen 1.8ghz single CPU power Mac g5 with 3 gigs of ram just for web browsing.

Ok, I know it's 10 years old, running leopard, and Old tech.

But it is so sluggish at everything! Web browsing is a hassle. Safari takes long to load, and even switching tabs takes a few secOnds. It freezes up too in some pages especially videos.

Is it really just that slow, or is something slowing it down? Would tiger be faster vs leopard on this machine? It's so frustrating.

I have a newer Mac pro too and they're not even remotely comparable.
Have you tried using the ps command in Terminal do see which things are taking up the most CPU space? Assuming nothing's wrong on your PowerMac, of course. If a stick of RAM failed, you would be slowed down due to the low amount of built-in RAM.
__________________
Indigo iBook Clamshell, MacOS 9; Lime iBook Clamshell, Panther;
MacOS 9 users: Use Classilla | MacOS 9 Lives
I'm on IRC at #macrumors on irc.krono.net
Tumblr
Ariii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 09:11 PM   #20
vohdoun
macrumors 65816
 
vohdoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Far away from Earth.
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyoungren View Post
and a bunch of webkit browsers that show Safari for the beast it is.
Which? Safari keeps me because of the extensions.
__________________
Bright light. Bright light.
vohdoun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 09:31 PM   #21
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
Quote:
Originally Posted by vohdoun View Post
Which? Safari keeps me because of the extensions.
I posted these in another thread here awhile back, so I had to go find them. All are webkit.

Roccat
Shiira
Demeter
Sunrise
NagaraBrowser
and Stainless

At least one user here tried Demeter and thought it was much faster than Safari.

P.S. There is also this. Webkit nightly builds.
P.P.S Also Radon.
__________________
PowerMac G4 QuickSilver - 1.6Ghz DP | Sprint iPhone 5 - iOS 6.1/Jailbroken
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!

Last edited by eyoungren; Apr 30, 2012 at 08:02 AM.
eyoungren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 05:55 AM   #22
skinniezinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyoungren View Post
I posted these in another thread here awhile back, so I had to go find them. All are webkit.

Roccat
Shiira
Demeter
Sunrise
NagaraBrowser
and Stainless

At least one user here tried Demeter and thought it was much faster than Safari.

P.S. There is also this. Webkit nightly builds.
P.P.S Also Radon.
I put this info on the FAQ along with other browser options =)
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 07:39 AM   #23
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinniezinho View Post
I put this info on the FAQ along with other browser options =)
Cool! Thanks very much!
__________________
PowerMac G4 QuickSilver - 1.6Ghz DP | Sprint iPhone 5 - iOS 6.1/Jailbroken
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!
eyoungren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 08:54 AM   #24
vohdoun
macrumors 65816
 
vohdoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Far away from Earth.
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyoungren View Post
I posted these in another thread here awhile back, so I had to go find them. All are webkit.

Roccat
Shiira I remember using this, it had a mini browser widget but development stopped just before Leopard or as Leopard was released...
Demeter Please note that Demeter 1.5 is a discontinued product and is no longer supported. 2008
Sunrise 2010?
NagaraBrowser 10.2! nothing has been updated since 2003
and Stainless

At least one user here tried Demeter and thought it was much faster than Safari.
Quote:
P.S. There is also this. Webkit nightly builds.
Intel only.


Quote:
P.P.S Also Radon.
Nearly all these old browsers are ancient and pretty much sums up the projects when some of the developers sites are non existent.

It's a shame after having a good look most of these browsers are quite a downgrade from Safari with lack of extensions.
__________________
Bright light. Bright light.
vohdoun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 11:48 AM   #25
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
Yeah, the link I first placed was to Intel only (the Webkit Nightly builds). I fixed it. It goes to the correct site now. Those builds are actually done by a person who works on TenFourFox.

It's not fixed in the quoted link because I didn't write that post. I sent skinniezinho a PM about the link.

I've not had much success with extensions in Safari. Maybe it's because I'm a Firefox/TenFourFox person, I don't know. But I do know that those browsers while being old generally load pages quickly and perform well.

With Safari (for me) I just have problems. The most irritating and annoying one is that Safari will tell you it has X items to load. When it loads X items, it tells you it has another X items to load. But usually, it hangs on the last few items it's telling you it's loading and then just stops. I hate that!

My experience with Safari anyway.

P.S. I think Rocat is still being developed if slowly.
__________________
PowerMac G4 QuickSilver - 1.6Ghz DP | Sprint iPhone 5 - iOS 6.1/Jailbroken
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!
eyoungren is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aperture is extremely slow. Unbearably slow. HarryPot Digital Photography 10 Jan 31, 2014 07:50 AM
Torrents extremely slow Axelorox Mac Basics and Help 7 Aug 28, 2013 05:34 PM
iMac extremely slow ferrarofilms iMac 2 Mar 24, 2013 11:24 AM
New Macbook EXTREMELY slow katiesoccer11 Mac Basics and Help 2 Dec 7, 2012 12:46 AM
Handbrake is extremely slow Joeguy Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Aug 24, 2012 04:28 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC