Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 30, 2012, 01:55 AM   #1
Ewingeric
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Late 2009 MacBook Pro SSD + HDD Combo?

In the near future I plan on adding a SSD to my machine by replacing the Optical Drive with it.

I heard that it wasn't smart to Raid 0 an SSD with an HDD, so my question is, how do I set it up to where my machine runs off of the SSD, but I can use the HDD as the storage device? Will I have to install lion onto the SSD and boot up from that every time?

Can someone explain the process of that for me?

Thank You!
Ewingeric is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 02:05 AM   #2
chaleyer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, Oz
I had this done to my mid-2009 MBP last June by an Apple Dealer. Optical drive went into an external enclosure; existing 500Gb HDD into an Optibay, and a Crucial 240Gb SSD into the primary drive slot. SL installed onto the SSD, along with Office and VMWare Fusion. Then upgraded to Lion about 6 weeks after its release.
A couple my frequently used VM images are also on the SSD, with other VM's, music and photo's on the HDD.
Very sweet and a much faster little machine.
chaleyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 02:15 AM   #3
Ewingeric
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaleyer View Post
I had this done to my mid-2009 MBP last June by an Apple Dealer. Optical drive went into an external enclosure; existing 500Gb HDD into an Optibay, and a Crucial 240Gb SSD into the primary drive slot. SL installed onto the SSD, along with Office and VMWare Fusion. Then upgraded to Lion about 6 weeks after its release.
A couple my frequently used VM images are also on the SSD, with other VM's, music and photo's on the HDD.
Very sweet and a much faster little machine.
So correct me if I'm wrong.. but what i'll need to do is..

Move my HDD to where the Optical Drive is, then put my SSD in the primary slot.
Then load Lion onto the SSD, and then, assuming i'll want to launch my applications using the SSD's speed, i'll need to install the applications onto the SSD?
Ewingeric is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 04:43 AM   #4
chaleyer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, Oz
Ys, although my changeover was easier because I still had the Snow Leopard discs to do the reinstall.
I did my wife's 13MBP with the same Crucial M4 SSD this week. Very, very nice update for a 3yr old machine.
Your issue might be getting hold of Lion to do a clean install.
chaleyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will upgrading HDD with SSD on late 2012 Macbook Pro (non-retina) void warranty? kayawire MacBook Pro 1 May 14, 2014 05:04 PM
exchange hdd in late 2009 Imac with ssd hbw33 iMac 2 Jan 16, 2014 09:54 PM
Late 2009 iMac HDD->SSD upgrade? GoneMad iMac 14 Aug 10, 2013 05:55 AM
HDD upgrade MacBook Uni late 2009 Nathmonn Buying Tips and Advice 12 Sep 29, 2012 09:16 AM
Replacing HDD with SSD - iMac 27" Late 2009 APtalent iMac 5 Jul 28, 2012 12:43 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC