Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 1, 2012, 12:55 AM   #1
nghix123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: California
Canon 5D Mark III: CF and SDXC cards

Hey everyone,

As some of you may know the 5DM3 now has dual memory card slots (CF and SDXC). I was wondering if anyone knew how to set one card to captures RAW files while the other captures JPEG? Seems like you can only set it to capture one type of format at one time. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
nghix123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 01:40 AM   #2
VirtualRain
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by nghix123 View Post
Hey everyone,

As some of you may know the 5DM3 now has dual memory card slots (CF and SDXC). I was wondering if anyone knew how to set one card to captures RAW files while the other captures JPEG? Seems like you can only set it to capture one type of format at one time. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
You can't have looked that hard? There's two relevant menu options... the first item on the first menu screen "Image quality", and the first item on the first wrench screen "Record func+card". Set the latter to "Rec. Separately" and then use the first to decide which card gets which quality/type
__________________
tools: nMP for photography, rMBP for working, iPad for surfing, iPhone for communicating, Mac Mini for entertaining
Canon tools: 5D Mark III 24-105L/70-300L/35L/50L/85L for capturing
VirtualRain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 07:04 AM   #3
jbg232
macrumors 65816
 
jbg232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I agree that this was actually a little difficult to figure out and not intuitive. I have no clue why canon put the options to control recording of the cards not only on two different screens but in two totally different parts of the menu system. However, as Virtual Rain noted, you need to choose "record separately" for the cards and then go into the image size menu option separately to specify which cards to record which sizes (ie CF card records RAW images while SD card records JPEGs)
__________________
iMac | MacBook | iPad | iPhone | Apple TV
5D Mark III | 24-105L | 100-400L | 50 f/1.4 | 50 f/2.8 Macro
jbg232 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 09:31 AM   #4
fcortese
macrumors 68000
 
fcortese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Big Sky country
You can also quickly change them on the fly by using the "Q" button which brings up the QuickMenu where you can adjust many of your camera settings related directly to picture taking. You can change your setting from there as well. Just use the joystick (multi-controller) to move to wherever you want, hit the set button and make your changes then hit the set button again.
__________________
15"MBP 2.66 i7 8GB; iPod Classic; iPhone5; Canon 5DIII w/24-105 f4L & 4 lenses
"You can observe a lot by just watching"-Yogi Berra
www.fotosbyflorian.com
fcortese is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 10:43 AM   #5
nghix123
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: California
Thanks you guys. I appreciate the help. Knew I can always count on members on this forum!
nghix123 is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC