Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 2, 2012, 09:58 PM   #1
stuart2102
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
How can i open my windows in BOOTCAMP?

How can i open my windows in BOOTCAMP? its been more than 7months since i access windows on bootcamp by my imac, im working all the time on my mac OS, but sometimes i want to use also my windows that was installed at bootcamp, but recently when i try to open my windows on holding shift key, my imac will not prompt me anymore for options to choise either mac or windows os, how would i get back again to my windows thru bootcamp? if i delete my partation on bootcamp the empty disk space should be or can be used for mac os?
stuart2102 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 10:01 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart2102 View Post
when i try to open my windows on holding shift key, my imac will not prompt me anymore for options to choise either mac or windows os,
That's because it's the Option/alt key, not the Shift key.

Boot Camp 4.0, OS X Lion: Frequently asked questions
Quote:
9. How do I choose which operating system will start up my Mac?

After running Boot Camp Assistant and installing Microsoft Windows and Boot Camp drivers, press and hold the Option (Alt) key while you start up your Mac to switch between Microsoft Windows and Mac OS X operating systems. Use the Startup Disk control panel in Windows or Mac OS X Startup Disk preferences to set the default operating system to use each time the computer starts up.
GGJstudios is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 10:01 PM   #3
BlazednSleepy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
You need to hold the "option" key, not the shift key.
BlazednSleepy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 10:23 PM   #4
stuart2102
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
That's because it's the Option/alt key, not the Shift key.

Boot Camp 4.0, OS X Lion: Frequently asked questions
ohhh i forgot its Option/alt key wheeew thats why hehe but if my windows os is out of date can i be still open it?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
That's because it's the Option/alt key, not the Shift key.

Boot Camp 4.0, OS X Lion: Frequently asked questions
Thanks for this anwers GGJstudio...i wonder hehe thats what what happen if i seldom access my bootcamp il forgotten what key im i going to press anyway i try this later thanks again...


P/S: one more thing if i delete my partation on boothcamp can i used it for mac os? and how?
stuart2102 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 10:24 PM   #5
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart2102 View Post
ohhh i forgot its Option/alt key wheeew thats why hehe but if my windows os is out of date can i be still open it?
What do you mean "out of date"? If you're referring to Windows updates, you should still be able to boot into Windows just fine. Just run whatever updates are required after you boot into Windows.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 11:25 PM   #6
stuart2102
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
What do you mean "out of date"? If you're referring to Windows updates, you should still be able to boot into Windows just fine. Just run whatever updates are required after you boot into Windows.
i mean i think expired already coz its only a non license OS that i install since im not using it often but yes, i try it now to access my windows os my imac crush hahaha many times i keep trying but it always crush tks tks tks so bad...do u have an idea what happen?
stuart2102 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2012, 02:52 PM   #7
EricT43
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart2102 View Post
i mean i think expired already coz its only a non license OS that i install since im not using it often but yes, i try it now to access my windows os my imac crush hahaha many times i keep trying but it always crush tks tks tks so bad...do u have an idea what happen?
You don't provide enough detail for anyone to help you. I would suggest deleting your Bootcamp partition and starting over with a fresh installation of Windows.

Windows will expire in 30 days if you don't activate it. After that you can't update it anymore, and certain Microsoft software will not run/install.
EricT43 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2012, 03:17 PM   #8
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart2102 View Post
i mean i think expired already coz its only a non license OS that i install since im not using it often but yes, i try it now to access my windows os my imac crush hahaha many times i keep trying but it always crush tks tks tks so bad...do u have an idea what happen?
You could buy a legit copy of windows and start over.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 11:58 PM   #9
JYork23
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut
Quote:
Originally Posted by old-wiz View Post
You could buy a legit copy of windows and start over.
And if you do, know that if you're running Lion, you can only use Windows 7. Windows XP's and Vista's installers do not work in Lion's version of Bootcamp. Interestingly, if you have XP installed under an older Mac OS and upgrade to Lion, it will still work. Just hope that you don't have to reinstall Windows at a later date.
JYork23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2012, 12:35 AM   #10
BlazednSleepy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JYork23 View Post
And if you do, know that if you're running Lion, you can only use Windows 7. Windows XP's and Vista's installers do not work in Lion's version of Bootcamp. Interestingly, if you have XP installed under an older Mac OS and upgrade to Lion, it will still work. Just hope that you don't have to reinstall Windows at a later date.
I don't even know why anyone would want to use vista or XP. Makes me cringe thinking about those OS's.
BlazednSleepy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2012, 08:10 AM   #11
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlazednSleepy View Post
I don't even know why anyone would want to use vista or XP. Makes me cringe thinking about those OS's.
Probably because there are still some ancient applications that only work on XP or Vista. Just like PPC apps/Rosetta, there are still some around and the developers may have dropped out but the apps are still important in limited markets.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 10:30 PM   #12
stuart2102
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Thanks guys for the information yeah thats my prospect coz since its only 30 days for like a trial version that is why i cant open anymore my windows on bootcamp
stuart2102 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 08:09 PM   #13
tobeme
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Open bootcamp on Mac

For some reasons I can't open Windows when pressing the opt key at start-up. Other than pressing the opt key, is there any way to open windows on a Mac? Thanks
tobeme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 08:23 PM   #14
Scythe5
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlazednSleepy View Post
I don't even know why anyone would want to use vista or XP. Makes me cringe thinking about those OS's.
XP was ok for gaming. Vista was some kind of unholy scourge out of Redmond.
Scythe5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 09:03 PM   #15
Pharmscott
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobeme View Post
For some reasons I can't open Windows when pressing the opt key at start-up. Other than pressing the opt key, is there any way to open windows on a Mac? Thanks
Yes. Go to System Preferences and select Startup Disk. Then select the one you want and click Restart.
Pharmscott is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2012, 01:51 AM   #16
tobeme
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pharmscott View Post
Yes. Go to System Preferences and select Startup Disk. Then select the one you want and click Restart.
Thanks for the reply. If I select Bootcamp as the startup, how do I change back to Mac as the start up later on while on Window?
tobeme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2012, 03:36 AM   #17
Mister Bumbo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobeme View Post
Thanks for the reply. If I select Bootcamp as the startup, how do I change back to Mac as the start up later on while on Window?
Via the Bootcamp application in Windows, or just manually hold ALT while booting up the computer (in the time frame before the grey Apple usually pops up) and boot into OS X and change it there.
Mister Bumbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2012, 04:22 AM   #18
tobeme
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Bumbo View Post
Via the Bootcamp application in Windows, or just manually hold ALT while booting up the computer (in the time frame before the grey Apple usually pops up) and boot into OS X and change it there.
For some reasons my computer doesn't work on holding the "option" key during start-up to choose between bootcamp and Apple. That's why I need to do it manually. Where can I find Bootcamp application via Windows? Thanks for helping.
tobeme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2012, 05:03 AM   #19
Icy1007
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Quote:
Originally Posted by old-wiz View Post
Probably because there are still some ancient applications that only work on XP or Vista. Just like PPC apps/Rosetta, there are still some around and the developers may have dropped out but the apps are still important in limited markets.
I've yet to see any application that will run on XP, but not on 7.

Windows 7 includes a "Windows XP" mode, but I'm not sure if it's only the Professional version that has it.
__________________
15" 2011 MacBook Pro, 2.2 GHz i7 Quad, 8GB DDR3, 1GB Radeon HD 6750M, 1TB HDD; 32GB iPhone 5
Icy1007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2012, 06:37 AM   #20
tobeme
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I use Mac and have installed Bootcamp on my computer. Generally to choose between Apple and Windows one needs to hold down the "option" button during the start-up of the computer. However, my computer has a malfunction and hold down of the "option" key doesn't work. When I'm in Apple, I can go to "System Preference" > "startup Disk" to switch my system to Bootcamp at start up. My question is: Once I am in Windows and I want to go back to Apple, what shall I do? Someone has suggested that I can do that via the Bootcamp in Windows... but exactly what does that mean? Could someone show me step-by-step. Thanks
tobeme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2012, 07:40 AM   #21
Mister Bumbo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
What I know about the Bootcamp Application in Windows:

I have only used bootcamp briefly twice. Once with XP on Leopard and once with Windows 7 on Snow Leopard. Both times, after the Windows installation was complete, I had to insert the OS X OS-DVD to install drivers for the windows partition in windows, this installed drivers and also a "Bootcamp Application" that shows up as an always running application in the right down corner of the "windows dock", opening that should have an option for picking startup disk. Not sure if this is always the case.
Mister Bumbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2012, 12:34 PM   #22
Pharmscott
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobeme View Post
For some reasons my computer doesn't work on holding the "option" key during start-up to choose between bootcamp and Apple. That's why I need to do it manually. Where can I find Bootcamp application via Windows? Thanks for helping.
There is a little icon in the system tray in Windows (bottom right) that you can click and choose the startup disk. It's very similar to the Mac Settings feature. As soon as you open it, you'll get it.
Pharmscott is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2012, 04:08 AM   #23
Gloops
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobeme View Post
I use Mac and have installed Bootcamp on my computer. Generally to choose between Apple and Windows one needs to hold down the "option" button during the start-up of the computer. However, my computer has a malfunction and hold down of the "option" key doesn't work.
Are you using a new aluminium chiclet keyboard with an older iMac? If so, that's your problem - different firmware. The keyboard won't be recognised until the machine has fully booted. If you can, use the keyboard that came with your iMac - or if you have an Apple remote, use that instead (hold the menu button while booting).
Gloops is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bootcamp manager Windows 8.1 won't open! TripleMoxy iMac 2 May 17, 2014 09:00 PM
MacBook 2013: Best Windows (bootcamp) version? (Windows 8.1 is buggy?) sofakng MacBook Air 0 Dec 11, 2013 02:18 PM
Windows 7 bootcamp froze during windows update. Stuck at black screen. HELP! minifridge1138 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Nov 22, 2012 09:36 AM
Windows XP Pro SP2 on BootCamp, Windows won't update TableSyrup Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 5 Oct 12, 2012 01:59 PM
SAFARI not Restoring Open Windows Close/Open cecoleman OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Jul 11, 2012 12:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC