Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 4, 2012, 02:16 PM   #1
RVD90277
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Office Backup with Time Capsule?

I have a small office with around 12 macs. I would like to set up a system to back them up. Standard time machine is good but I don't want to get 12 USB hard drives and hook them up to each machine. All macs are running OSX lion.

I am thinking of getting a few 2GB time capsules (say 1 TC for every 3 machines) and then setting up each machine to go to a specific time capsule for backups.

Is that possible? Is this is best way to set this up? It seems a little clunky but I would set up a table like this:

Employee #1: TC #1
Employee #2: TC #1
Employee #3: TC #1
Employee #4: TC #2
Employee #5: TC #2
Employee #6: TC #2
Employee #7: TC #3
Employee #8: TC #3
Employee #9: TC #3
Employee #10: TC #4
Employee #11: TC #4
Employee #12: TC #4

Most employees work wirelessly but some are hard wired in so the solution should support both methods.

Another options I think would be to buy 1 or 2 NAS units like the Netgear ReadyNAS 8gb and hook those up with an AirportExpress?

On a related note, I will also need to back up these backup units to the cloud somewhere.
RVD90277 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 03:34 PM   #2
RVD90277
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
After doing more research, I am thinking of buying a Synology 8 disk unit and put in 8 2TB drives in there.

http://www.synology.com/products/pro...812%2B&lang=us

Anyone have experience with these units for many machines?
RVD90277 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 03:35 PM   #3
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
I was just about to recommend a Synology NAS

Once the initial TM backup is complete it should handle a dozen machines seamlessly. Make sure to use Gigabit switches and wired Ethernet to get the most out of that NAS.

Synology can be cloud synced with either another Synology NAS, rsync or the Amazon S3 cloud.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog

Last edited by blueroom; May 4, 2012 at 03:47 PM.
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 05:57 PM   #4
RVD90277
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
awesome.

i'm going to get the 8 disk unit with 5 X 3TB drives. that should give me the space that we need + have some room to expand if the company grows.
RVD90277 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 06:01 PM   #5
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
That 8 bay is a beast, the dual gigabit ethernet is made for heavy network traffic. Check out www.smallnetbuilder.com for reviews and comparisons.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 06:45 PM   #6
RVD90277
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
ok thanks for the link.

total hardware package is around $1700 on amazon.com which isn't too bad...just a little more than $100 per employee.
RVD90277 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012, 11:36 AM   #7
Ccrew
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVD90277 View Post
ok thanks for the link.

total hardware package is around $1700 on amazon.com which isn't too bad...just a little more than $100 per employee.
Solid setup for the $. As blueroom said, combining it with cloud also gives you offsite if business continuity is a consideration albeit it does come with a recurring cost.
Ccrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Capsule in small office with Mac and PC statikcat Mac Basics and Help 6 Apr 2, 2014 01:16 PM
Can Time Machine backup a hard disk that is connected to the Time Capsule itself? mariotr87 OS X 1 Nov 7, 2013 09:58 AM
Why Apple Time Capsule rather than External Drive for Time Machine Backup? jaybar Mac Peripherals 10 Aug 26, 2013 02:50 PM
New airport time capsule, can the initial time machine backup done via USB? riverwater Mac Peripherals 4 Jun 17, 2013 10:14 AM
Time capsule as just backup? jakesaunders27 Mac Peripherals 10 Dec 11, 2012 02:14 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC