Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 5, 2012, 06:16 AM   #1
hqrry
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Please Help - Installing Soy Latte

Hey, i really don't have a clue what to do, i want 1.6 Java, so i can host a minecraft server, but as a PPC doesn't have 1.6 i can't, i found out about Soy Latte, and would love for someone to help me, i tried to follow a tutorial, but my computer said i didn't have a .profile. (I'm on 1.5.8)
I can give teamviewer details, please help!
hqrry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2012, 04:52 PM   #2
kryten2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belgium
Perhaps you can provide some more information? A link to the tutorial you tried to follow would be nice. If you don't have .profile file, you can make one. Open Terminal en put in the following line.

Code:
nano .profile
Put your stuff in the .profile file and save with ctrl0 --> indicated in nano at the bottom with ^O WriteOut then ^X to Exit.
kryten2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012, 11:58 AM   #3
hqrry
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
this was the tutorial, was it completely correct, or could you help?
http://vimeo.com/3732416
hqrry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012, 02:43 PM   #4
kryten2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belgium
First of all I don't use or have minecraft. Secondly the explanation in the video isn't exactly rocket science now is it? You need this : http://http://landonf.bikemonkey.org...-16-b4.tar.bz2

Double click the openjdk7-macppc-2009-12-16-b4.tar.bz2 file and rename the folder it creates to openjdk7-macppc. Open the Terminal app. You can find it in the Applications-->Utilities folder and type in the line nano .profile followed by enter. Put in .profile file the line that starts with export :

Code:
# change the line to the right location for you eg where you unpacked the #openjdk7-macppc-2009-12-16-b4.tar.bz2 file
export PATH=/Users/test/Downloads/openjdk7-macppc/bin:$PATH
On your desktop make folder with name minecraft_server and put in the folder the minecraft_server.jar file and the start.command file I will provide as attachement. To start the server go to the minecraft_server folder in Finder and double click the start.command file. To test I started it but got bored after a few minutes as I have a Leopard ppc machine with only 512Mb of ram. Good luck.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 5.png
Views:	1
Size:	6.7 KB
ID:	338843   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 4.png
Views:	13
Size:	50.7 KB
ID:	338844   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 7.png
Views:	5
Size:	7.1 KB
ID:	338846  

Attached Files
File Type: zip start.command.zip (246 Bytes, 13 views)

Last edited by kryten2; May 7, 2012 at 02:50 PM.
kryten2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012, 03:24 PM   #5
hqrry
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
once I've done all of that, clicked start.command, it comes up with a terminal window and says after it attempting to load it: Bad CPU Excutable
hqrry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012, 04:08 PM   #6
kryten2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belgium
Bad CPU Executable means you're using the wrong java for your architecture or trying to run 64bit on 32bit cpu. It's either PPC or Intel. Post a screenshot of the output of echo $PATH in Terminal and a screenshot of About This Mac.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.png
Views:	2
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	338854  

Last edited by kryten2; May 8, 2012 at 07:49 AM.
kryten2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 11:58 AM   #7
hqrry
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
heres all the photos/screenshots requested.
(I renamed the folder soylatte, instead of what you said)

Last edited by hqrry; May 8, 2012 at 12:06 PM.
hqrry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 12:17 PM   #8
kryten2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belgium
Don't see any screenshots
kryten2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 12:21 PM   #9
hqrry
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Sorry i'd got it up and running, i realised my fault, thanks, but now im getting this error? :/ This happens when i click the start.command.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 4.png
Views:	15
Size:	19.3 KB
ID:	338937  
hqrry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 12:42 PM   #10
kryten2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belgium
Sorry, can't help you with that. Might be Java 7 related. Try Google.
kryten2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC