Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 5, 2012, 06:16 AM   #1
hqrry
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Please Help - Installing Soy Latte

Hey, i really don't have a clue what to do, i want 1.6 Java, so i can host a minecraft server, but as a PPC doesn't have 1.6 i can't, i found out about Soy Latte, and would love for someone to help me, i tried to follow a tutorial, but my computer said i didn't have a .profile. (I'm on 1.5.8)
I can give teamviewer details, please help!
hqrry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2012, 04:52 PM   #2
kryten2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belgium
Perhaps you can provide some more information? A link to the tutorial you tried to follow would be nice. If you don't have .profile file, you can make one. Open Terminal en put in the following line.

Code:
nano .profile
Put your stuff in the .profile file and save with ctrl0 --> indicated in nano at the bottom with ^O WriteOut then ^X to Exit.
kryten2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012, 11:58 AM   #3
hqrry
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
this was the tutorial, was it completely correct, or could you help?
hqrry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012, 02:43 PM   #4
kryten2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belgium
First of all I don't use or have minecraft. Secondly the explanation in the video isn't exactly rocket science now is it? You need this : http://http://landonf.bikemonkey.org...-16-b4.tar.bz2

Double click the openjdk7-macppc-2009-12-16-b4.tar.bz2 file and rename the folder it creates to openjdk7-macppc. Open the Terminal app. You can find it in the Applications-->Utilities folder and type in the line nano .profile followed by enter. Put in .profile file the line that starts with export :

Code:
# change the line to the right location for you eg where you unpacked the #openjdk7-macppc-2009-12-16-b4.tar.bz2 file
export PATH=/Users/test/Downloads/openjdk7-macppc/bin:$PATH
On your desktop make folder with name minecraft_server and put in the folder the minecraft_server.jar file and the start.command file I will provide as attachement. To start the server go to the minecraft_server folder in Finder and double click the start.command file. To test I started it but got bored after a few minutes as I have a Leopard ppc machine with only 512Mb of ram. Good luck.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 5.png
Views:	7
Size:	6.7 KB
ID:	338843   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 4.png
Views:	21
Size:	50.7 KB
ID:	338844   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 7.png
Views:	8
Size:	7.1 KB
ID:	338846  

Attached Files
File Type: zip start.command.zip (246 Bytes, 18 views)

Last edited by kryten2; May 7, 2012 at 02:50 PM.
kryten2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012, 03:24 PM   #5
hqrry
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
once I've done all of that, clicked start.command, it comes up with a terminal window and says after it attempting to load it: Bad CPU Excutable
hqrry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012, 04:08 PM   #6
kryten2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belgium
Bad CPU Executable means you're using the wrong java for your architecture or trying to run 64bit on 32bit cpu. It's either PPC or Intel. Post a screenshot of the output of echo $PATH in Terminal and a screenshot of About This Mac.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.png
Views:	8
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	338854  

Last edited by kryten2; May 8, 2012 at 07:49 AM.
kryten2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 11:58 AM   #7
hqrry
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
heres all the photos/screenshots requested.
(I renamed the folder soylatte, instead of what you said)

Last edited by hqrry; May 8, 2012 at 12:06 PM.
hqrry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 12:17 PM   #8
kryten2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belgium
Don't see any screenshots
kryten2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 12:21 PM   #9
hqrry
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Sorry i'd got it up and running, i realised my fault, thanks, but now im getting this error? :/ This happens when i click the start.command.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 4.png
Views:	20
Size:	19.3 KB
ID:	338937  
hqrry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 12:42 PM   #10
kryten2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belgium
Sorry, can't help you with that. Might be Java 7 related. Try Google.
kryten2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
De-installing Mavericks, Re-installing Mountain Lion filmboy OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 Dec 13, 2013 04:43 PM
Downloading AND installing .mobileconfig in Safari (from App) - Not installing gwelmarten Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Nov 17, 2013 05:21 PM
Steve Jobs' 4,000-Latte Prank Order Lives On at San Francisco Starbucks MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 94 Mar 7, 2013 08:43 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC