Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 5, 2012, 10:21 AM   #1
tony3d
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Is this ram any good?

Looking to fill my Mac Pro Early 2008 3,1 machine with this memory before giving it to my son. Is this memory reliable, and do they stand behind it?

http://www.memoryamerica.com/3fk225672800at.html
tony3d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2012, 10:53 AM   #2
gpzjock
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
I liked it so much I bought the lot.

I have 16 GB of Memory America RAM in my Mac Pro 3,1 it has a lifetime warranty on it. In 2009 1 stick went bad and they replaced all 4 sticks from that set for the price of the postage. In 2010 the same thing happened with the other set, 1 stick went bad, they replaced the lot for p&p.
Can't fault service like that.
gpzjock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2012, 12:06 PM   #3
tony3d
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpzjock View Post
I have 16 GB of Memory America RAM in my Mac Pro 3,1 it has a lifetime warranty on it. In 2009 1 stick went bad and they replaced all 4 sticks from that set for the price of the postage. In 2010 the same thing happened with the other set, 1 stick went bad, they replaced the lot for p&p.
Can't fault service like that.
The failures don't sound very good.
tony3d is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2012, 12:21 PM   #4
YosemiteSam
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southern California
I sure hope it's good, because I just added 8 GB from them this past week.

2008 Mac Pro 3,1. No problems so far... but obviously it's only been a few days.
YosemiteSam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2012, 01:00 PM   #5
tony3d
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by YosemiteSam View Post
I sure hope it's good, because I just added 8 GB from them this past week.

2008 Mac Pro 3,1. No problems so far... but obviously it's only been a few days.
The price is great? Isn't all this ram supplied by just a few manufactures anyway?
tony3d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 01:54 AM   #6
gpzjock
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
FB-DIMMs work hard and run very hot.

Fully buffered workstation memory is not like normal RAM, the error correction makes it work very hard and heat up significantly. My RAM regularly hits 70-80c during heavy use, even with the heat sinks attached this is strenuous for such components especially long term.
This is why you should only buy RAM with a lifetime warranty, you never know what could happen further down the line.
My Mac Pro has run 16 hours a day every day for 4 years, 2 sticks failing during this time is unlucky but not really unexpected considering such a high level of use. Memory America stand by every stick they sell and replace the whole shipment to ensure you retain matched pairs and avoid a repeat failure should that batch happen to have a manufacturing flaw.
If it all gets made in the same place then you should buy it from the company with the best pricing and returns policy. That would be MemAmericay then...
gpzjock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 02:15 AM   #7
tony3d
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpzjock View Post
Fully buffered workstation memory is not like normal RAM, the error correction makes it work very hard and heat up significantly. My RAM regularly hits 70-80c during heavy use, even with the heat sinks attached this is strenuous for such components especially long term.
This is why you should only buy RAM with a lifetime warranty, you never know what could happen further down the line.
My Mac Pro has run 16 hours a day every day for 4 years, 2 sticks failing during this time is unlucky but not really unexpected considering such a high level of use. Memory America stand by every stick they sell and replace the whole shipment to ensure you retain matched pairs and avoid a repeat failure should that batch happen to have a manufacturing flaw.
If it all gets made in the same place then you should buy it from the company with the best pricing a
nd returns policy. That would be MemAmericay then...

Sounds good thanks. I'll get some next week.
tony3d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 02:52 AM   #8
G4DP
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
when you get the ram, try running SETI@home or something similar, for 24 hours a day for a month. That will test it and will likely find a fault if one is present. I have not had and memory go bad. In any Mac.

Although I purchased my RAM from OWC, they offer the same lifetime service as MemoryAmerica.
__________________
Apple wouldn't know a cartographer if they stabbed them with a pair of compass' in the backside!
G4DP is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good RAM brand? mobydick01 Mac mini 11 Apr 29, 2014 06:38 PM
Uh-oh. Good ram after bad? What to try next? michaelcly iMac 0 Apr 23, 2014 06:39 PM
MP 4,1: 8+8+2+2 a good ram config? HeadshotSK Mac Pro 3 Dec 27, 2013 05:10 PM
Good Deal on Ram? cjgonzales1900 Mac mini 1 Feb 6, 2013 02:01 AM
Is 8GB of RAM Good Enough? mobile-caffeine MacBook Pro 25 Jun 18, 2012 07:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2015, MacRumors.com, LLC