Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 5, 2012, 02:05 PM   #1
MacNoobGuy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Microphone port not working on MacMini?

hey guys, i've tried 2 different mics and both neither seem to work. the sound is perfect, but the mic doesn't seem to work. is there a way i can troubleshoot this like on Windows?

what USB mics would work with the MacMini?

thanks
MacNoobGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2012, 06:45 PM   #2
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rigel IV
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacNoobGuy View Post
hey guys, i've tried 2 different mics and both neither seem to work. the sound is perfect, but the mic doesn't seem to work. is there a way i can troubleshoot this like on Windows?

what USB mics would work with the MacMini?

thanks
Have you contacted an Apple Store about this problem? Have you had any of these mics work previously on the Mini?

If you want a USB mic, I'm sure Logitech makes several that will work on OS X, such as this one.
__________________
It's true, we are aliens. But what are you going to do about it? It's a two-party system. You have to vote for one of us.
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 07:11 AM   #3
MacNoobGuy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Have you contacted an Apple Store about this problem? Have you had any of these mics work previously on the Mini?

If you want a USB mic, I'm sure Logitech makes several that will work on OS X, such as this one.
i haven't tried the apple store. would i need to take the mac in for them to fix it? seems like a lot of effort for something this small.
MacNoobGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 07:21 AM   #4
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rigel IV
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacNoobGuy View Post
i haven't tried the apple store. would i need to take the mac in for them to fix it? seems like a lot of effort for something this small.
You can at least call them and describe the problem and see if they can determine if its a hardware issue or not.
__________________
It's true, we are aliens. But what are you going to do about it? It's a two-party system. You have to vote for one of us.
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012, 12:19 PM   #5
chown33
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacNoobGuy View Post
hey guys, i've tried 2 different mics and both neither seem to work. the sound is perfect, but the mic doesn't seem to work. is there a way i can troubleshoot this like on Windows?
There is no mic port on a Mac mini. It's a LINE IN port, not a MIC port.

See this:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=14553841


Quote:
what USB mics would work with the MacMini?
I've used several different USB mics on a Mac mini. 3 of them were Logitech. They all worked.
chown33 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012, 12:24 PM   #6
WRP
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Boston
I've used a blue snowflake on many macs.
WRP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 09:12 PM   #7
MacNoobGuy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chown33 View Post
There is no mic port on a Mac mini. It's a LINE IN port, not a MIC port.

See this:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=14553841



I've used several different USB mics on a Mac mini. 3 of them were Logitech. They all worked.
oh damn, so it's not a mic port at all? hmm what USB mics could i try?
MacNoobGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 10:50 PM   #8
McGilli
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
No no no...

It's a line in and you CAN plug any microphone into it and it works fine. Any audio input device works fine in a line in - you might just need to adjust levels in the system settings for the line.

I use professional grade RODE microphones plugged into the Mini line in port and it's no problem.

I swap it out with other audio recording products, and it's never an issue using the microphone.

WHen you have the microphone plugged in, and the input level is maxed, does the volume meter move at all when you test the mic?

Also you can see my input level is set high, that's because for some reason the input seems to naturally be lower on the Mini than my MBP. On the MBP I only need it set to half way to achieve the same volume.

So that is why I suggest cranking the input level and seeing if there's any movement on the meter....

If nothing registers then try resetting the PRAM on your mini. Might just be a hardware glitch that can be fixed easily.

Finally - if you do decide to go the USB route - I do use a Griffen iMic on my Macbook Air when travelling with no issues.

Hope you get it worked out....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-05-10 at 8.51.10 PM.png
Views:	96
Size:	52.2 KB
ID:	339222  

Last edited by McGilli; May 10, 2012 at 11:13 PM.
McGilli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2012, 01:26 AM   #9
MacNoobGuy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
ok i've got the volume set to max and still nothing?
MacNoobGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2012, 07:33 AM   #10
Kebabselector
macrumors 68020
 
Kebabselector's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by McGilli View Post
No no no...

It's a line in and you CAN plug any microphone into it and it works fine.
I've tried normal cheap microphones and they do not work. Maybe your professional ones work, but the ones most people will pick for a few /$ will not.

You need a powered microphone on the Mini (probably on the iMac and Macbooks as well).
__________________
Mac Mini 1.66Ghz/2gb - 2.3/i5/8gb - MacBook 2.0Ghz/2gb
iPhone 6 64gb - iPad Mini Retina 16gb wifi
Others: Canon Eos Stuff - Passat B6 - Smeg - Firewire devices - Prefers Matte
Kebabselector is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2012, 12:10 AM   #11
ironmanlive
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Macmini microphone master level problem

Hey Guys, i'm trying to do screenrecording with my macmini, i've used a cheap microphone thru jack 1/8 didn't work at all!... so i bought a 80$ SNOWFLAKE MIC, in system preference once selected i see the volume working up and down. however i am unable to change the master mic volume... it is unable...

At first i had logmeindriver.... some people told me to remove it ! i did!
i am also using VMWare for my window, and change the setting so windows doesnt use my device...

I have activity in preference setting from my mic but it still doesnt work with
Quicktime player during screen recording... neither with a software call screen movie recorder 4.1

Why i can't adjust my MASTER MIC LEVEL ?????
ironmanlive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 05:33 PM   #12
cosmolee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
What kind of mic?

McGilli:

It sounds like you are using one of the Rode powered mics - one that has a built-in battery, which provides self-amplification.

On my 2012 Mac Mini, these passive unpowered mics don't work for me. But plug in a line level signal, say from a mixer, and it works.

I got confused with this too - I tried three different passive mics, none of them worked.

I remember back in the day of separate sound cards there would be three different audio ports: line-out, line-in, microphone. Usually laptops pair a mic jack with a headphone jack.

Where Apple is confusing us is that rather than pairing a line-level-out with a line-level-in or the usual laptop pairing of a mic (in) jack with a headphone (out) jack, they mixed things up by instead pairing a line-in with a headphone jack.

Our normal expectation is that if we see a headphone jack, we expect the opposing jack to be a mic jack, not line-level.



Quote:
Originally Posted by McGilli View Post
No no no...

It's a line in and you CAN plug any microphone into it and it works fine. Any audio input device works fine in a line in - you might just need to adjust levels in the system settings for the line.

I use professional grade RODE microphones plugged into the Mini line in port and it's no problem.

I swap it out with other audio recording products, and it's never an issue using the microphone.

WHen you have the microphone plugged in, and the input level is maxed, does the volume meter move at all when you test the mic?

Also you can see my input level is set high, that's because for some reason the input seems to naturally be lower on the Mini than my MBP. On the MBP I only need it set to half way to achieve the same volume.

So that is why I suggest cranking the input level and seeing if there's any movement on the meter....

If nothing registers then try resetting the PRAM on your mini. Might just be a hardware glitch that can be fixed easily.

Finally - if you do decide to go the USB route - I do use a Griffen iMic on my Macbook Air when travelling with no issues.

Hope you get it worked out....
cosmolee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 03:13 AM   #13
TechBot
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
USB Sound Card

Couldn't you use a cheap usb sound card like so. USB SOUND CARD this one looks like its from apple.
TechBot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 09:11 PM   #14
velvetlounger
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I was just on with Apple Care today for the same problem. I have three microphones that I tried and none work. As I recall they all worked in the past. After jumping through all the hoops with Apple Care I decided to try them in the two other Mini's in my house. None of them worked. So then I tried all three in my old G5 and a Dell Netbook, still nothing works. So apparently all three of my microphones went bad at the same time?? this is just strange.
velvetlounger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 05:21 AM   #15
Panther Al
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
The problem is as others said: The Mic's themselves.

Had the same issue, and the solution was to get a powered mic - the line in just isn't built to take the low level input your typical headset mic so it will never pick it up. Your only real bet without buying a new mic or amp, is to get an adaptor that allows you to plug your 3.5mm jacks into a USB port, where it then becomes a moot point.


Which is weird, as the line in on my old MacBook takes the mic just fine. Just not the 2011 mini.
Panther Al is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microphone not working DrakeMcEachern iOS 7 0 Sep 21, 2013 03:02 PM
iPhone 4 Microphone not working zPR0Kil3R iPhone 7 Apr 4, 2013 11:26 AM
Dell U2713HM and WQXGA support from Macmini not working ? mjoshi123 Mac mini 5 Apr 3, 2013 02:16 PM
Internal Microphone Not Working jordancrouch MacBook 2 Feb 11, 2013 08:08 AM
Microphone Not Working Xcallibur OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Nov 26, 2012 11:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC