Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 6, 2012, 08:19 AM   #1
tkowalski
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Tivo Sata Hard drive to iMac

I took apart my sata Tivo hard drive(WD 1tb) and plugged it into my Thermtake Black Widow external hard drive component. In disk utilities it is recognized, it does fire up. I want to access whats on the drive, not format. I read something about how it powers up, there are no pins covered . I can hear it running. I have a similar WD USB hard drive in same component and it shows up on my desk top and disk utilities Any thoughts? P.S. There were some external plugs I removed from drive, but they look like what turns a USB into sata drive.
tkowalski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 08:58 AM   #2
LaWally
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
From what I have read, Tivo uses the ext2fs file system, which is not readable by OSX. IIRC an open source driver for ext2fs is available on source forge.

Again IIRC I've seen reports that it is possible to simply plug in a TiVo drive, and mount it using the ext2fs driver ... I have not tried it myself, but would at least advise to mount the disk as read-only to start with so you don't mess anything up.

Sounds like an interesting project. How do you plan to pull the data once you get it mounted?
LaWally is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 09:47 AM   #3
farmermac
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Iowa
You Won't be able to remove shows. You need to transfer them via the TiVo type software. You cSn save the file system via some windows based utilities for cloning and expanding purposes. TiVo splits the drive into many partitions for buffering, os, downloads, shows. Like 12-16 partitions.
__________________
2010 15" MBP AG - 2010 iMac
farmermac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2012, 09:22 AM   #4
tkowalski
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Thanks for response. I have seen just the cable converters. Plug in sata cord. If I put back the drive in enclosure, will I not be able to access whats on the drive regardless if that would work?
tkowalski is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessing hard drive using caddy or usb to sata? GC13 MacBook Pro 1 Aug 29, 2013 04:21 PM
Upgrade Hard Drive to 250 SATA froggytreafrogg iMac 5 Aug 17, 2012 05:10 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC