Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 13, 2012, 06:37 PM   #1
c14nhl
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edinburgh
Set Location (In UK, set to US)

I'll be getting my Apple TV in the next couple of days. Here in the UK I believe we get the MLB channel, and not the NHL. However, I'm aware setting my location to US will enable the NHL coverage. What will my limitations be doing this? Will it effect anything else?
c14nhl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 03:35 AM   #2
akjs2396
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Isle of Man
You can't just change the country to US, you will need a US iTunes account for the ATV to authorise viewing that region.

I have a UK and US account, you can create a US account easily. On your Mac go to the iTunes store and change to US and create a new account, you will need a full and valid US address, I used a hotel in NYC that I frequent regularly. Don't enter a credit/debit card number as it will see it's not a US card.

All I do then is buy US iTunes vouchers from ebay, works a treat!
__________________
The energizer's bypassed like a Christmas tree, so don't give me too many bumps.
akjs2396 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 05:52 AM   #3
c14nhl
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edinburgh
Thanks for your reply.

Having different accounts will mean that any media I've purchased on my current account won't be available via Home Share is that right? I will then have to log into my current UK account to view that?
c14nhl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 08:47 AM   #4
tjcampbell
macrumors 6502a
 
tjcampbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vancouver
I think just need a VPN. I use a VPN (hotspot on app store) on my iPad for USA Netflix.
__________________
My latest comedy videos
http://www.funnyordie.com/tommycampbell
IMDB
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1035174/
tjcampbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: FakeLocation\Location Spoofer\Netshade - Any allow pinpoint location set? shenan1982 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 10 Mar 28, 2013 08:54 AM
Cannot Manually Set Location in Weather App. joshwithachance iOS 6 2 Mar 25, 2013 11:27 PM
How do you manually set your location in Google mobile? TH55 iPhone 7 Oct 18, 2012 07:23 PM
iPad: Can't see how to set location reminders iPad 2? MotorcyclesFish iOS 6 0 Sep 19, 2012 03:16 PM
How can I set “numbers” to return a specific integer in a set? rotarypower101 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Sep 3, 2012 02:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC