Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 14, 2012, 08:02 AM   #1
jnick
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
MakeMKV and Handbrake Subtitles only during foreign languages?

I'm having a bit of trouble figuring this one out. I do NOT want subtitles in my movies. I find them completely distracting. However, there are certain movies to where a piece of the movie is in a foreign language and thus subtitles are required to follow the dialog. For instance, MI:4, Taken, Avatar, etc.

Is there a way to only have the subtitles in the movie during these parts of foreign dialect vs having subtitles throughout the entire movie?

Thanks!
jnick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 08:51 AM   #2
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnick View Post
I'm having a bit of trouble figuring this one out. I do NOT want subtitles in my movies. I find them completely distracting. However, there are certain movies to where a piece of the movie is in a foreign language and thus subtitles are required to follow the dialog. For instance, MI:4, Taken, Avatar, etc.

Is there a way to only have the subtitles in the movie during these parts of foreign dialect vs having subtitles throughout the entire movie?

Thanks!
Assuming you mean from Blurays, PGS subtitle support was recently added to Handbrake and is available in the nightly build (download link in the Handbrake forums -- http://forum.handbrake.fr). You can use MakeMKV to extract the subtitle streams, and then have Handbrake identify and burn in only the foreign audio portions (as it has done with DVDs in the past).
__________________
Mac Mini (2.0GHz i7) | 27" Apple TB Display
15" Macbook Pro Retina (2.3GHz i7) | 11" Macbook Air 1.4GHz
AppleTV (x2)| 32GB iPad Mini (Wi-Fi) | 32GB iPhone 5S (x2)
Netgear ReadyNAS Ultra 4+ (4x2TB)
NightStorm is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 12:17 PM   #3
blevins321
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Winnipeg MB
+1 to above. It works really well from what I've noticed. I did the Hunt for Red October and it had the Russian at the beginning done nicely. Maintains the special fonts that the movies use too; so they're stylized. HERE is a slightly easier link that goes directly to the nightly list.
__________________
Late 2013 15" Retina MBP; iPhone 5S; iPad Air
blevins321 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 12:40 PM   #4
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Note recent fixes in foreign language detection (meaning as of today) https://trac.handbrake.fr/timeline
dynaflash is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 01:05 PM   #5
jnick
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Ah, you guys are awesome! Thanks!!
jnick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 01:19 PM   #6
GarrettL1979
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Sounds like a new nightly build w/fixes is coming out tomorrow.
GarrettL1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 01:34 PM   #7
jnick
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Playing around with the Subtitle feature, do I need an SRT to have Handbrake deal with subtitles? There is no way it can auto-detect the subtitles housed in the mkv?
jnick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 01:41 PM   #8
rayward
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynaflash View Post
Note recent fixes in foreign language detection (meaning as of today) https://trac.handbrake.fr/timeline
In a strange, masochistic kind of way, I almost miss the time when this was not in HB. I had finally got down the workflow of how to extract, convert and remux subs into a BD rip. And now, it's a couple clicks in HB.

There's something wholly unsatisfying about the process now.



----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnick View Post
Playing around with the Subtitle feature, do I need an SRT to have Handbrake deal with subtitles? There is no way it can auto-detect the subtitles housed in the mkv?
When you rip the BD, you select which subtitle tracks you want also to rip. HB can see the tracks and figure out which one is the full subtitle track, and which is limited to certain dialog only - which, presumably, is the non-English subs only.
__________________
27" iMac (2.93GHz i7, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD); 64GB iPhone 5S; 32GB iPad Air; 3 x TV3, 2TB WD "My Book Studio XL" HDD; 4TB WD "ShareSpace" NAS
rayward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 04:13 PM   #9
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayward View Post
In a strange, masochistic kind of way, I almost miss the time when this was not in HB. I had finally got down the workflow of how to extract, convert and remux subs into a BD rip. And now, it's a couple clicks in HB.

There's something wholly unsatisfying about the process now.

Nothing keeping you from using your old setup .

Last edited by dynaflash; May 14, 2012 at 04:18 PM.
dynaflash is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 09:33 AM   #10
jnick
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
So I ripped Avatar with MakeMKV and am running the nightly of Handbrake as of 5 minutes ago. When I import the movie to handbrake, I go to the Subtitle tab, hit "Add" and this is what I see:



What do I do from here to get the movie to display subtitles only when they speak non-English?

Thanks!
jnick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 09:37 AM   #11
blevins321
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Winnipeg MB
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnick View Post
So I ripped Avatar with MakeMKV and am running the nightly of Handbrake as of 5 minutes ago. When I import the movie to handbrake, I go to the Subtitle tab, hit "Add" and this is what I see:

Image

What do I do from here to get the movie to display subtitles only when they speak non-English?

Thanks!
On work computer that blocks Photobucket. But you'd select the one that says English, then check the boxes "Forced" and "Burn In". The forced-only are the ones that are actually a translation of a different language.
__________________
Late 2013 15" Retina MBP; iPhone 5S; iPad Air
blevins321 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 10:37 PM   #12
jnick
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
The subtitles in Avatar worked like a charm...Thanks!!!
jnick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2012, 08:15 PM   #13
Krad3130
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Winter Park, FL
Send a message via AIM to Krad3130
I tried this but my movie is not showing any subtitles on my appleTV? Not sure what I am doing wrong. I had both of those boxes checked...
Krad3130 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2012, 12:45 PM   #14
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krad3130 View Post
I tried this but my movie is not showing any subtitles on my appleTV? Not sure what I am doing wrong. I had both of those boxes checked...
What movie, what format (dvd or bluray), what type of input (mkv, iso, direct from disc), what Handbrake build?
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 09:42 AM   #15
Anthropogenesis
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Paraguay
Send a message via Skype™ to Anthropogenesis
Maybe I am doing something wrong, but I ripped a Blu Ray to MKV and when I open subtitles in HandBrake I see foreign audio search and then 8 different English PGS options.

I opened the MKV movie in VLC and identified which track was the one that was needed, (it was Star Wars and there are a few scenes that use subtitles for characters like Jabba). So I tried burning that track into the HB rip, and I got subtitles for the whole movie.

Anyone run into a similar issue?
Anthropogenesis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 08:00 PM   #16
Krad3130
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Winter Park, FL
Send a message via AIM to Krad3130
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
What movie, what format (dvd or bluray), what type of input (mkv, iso, direct from disc), what Handbrake build?
Avengers, Bluray, mkv, handbrake version 0.9.8 x86_64
Krad3130 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 09:25 AM   #17
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krad3130 View Post
Avengers, Bluray, mkv, handbrake version 0.9.8 x86_64
You have to use a Handbrake nightly for bluray (PGS) subtitles. The stable release version does not yet have that capability incorporated into the release.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 08:03 PM   #18
Krad3130
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Winter Park, FL
Send a message via AIM to Krad3130
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
You have to use a Handbrake nightly for bluray (PGS) subtitles. The stable release version does not yet have that capability incorporated into the release.
Since I don't know much (anything) about the nightly builds I will probably just wait until the regular downloaded version will have this capability. I really do want to have my forced subtitles in my BD rips but I am finding this to be a little more time consuming then I originally thought. I want the easiest way to add subtitles for scenes playing foreign language...didn't realize it would take so long to do.

Thank you all for your help!
Krad3130 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 07:24 AM   #19
Menneisyys2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krad3130 View Post
Since I don't know much (anything) about the nightly builds I will probably just wait until the regular downloaded version will have this capability.
These nightlies are REALLY easy to install and are REALLY recommended. Please see my just-published tutorial at http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...2&postcount=61 .
Menneisyys2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 11:05 AM   #20
rayward
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krad3130 View Post
Since I don't know much (anything) about the nightly builds I will probably just wait until the regular downloaded version will have this capability. I really do want to have my forced subtitles in my BD rips but I am finding this to be a little more time consuming then I originally thought. I want the easiest way to add subtitles for scenes playing foreign language...didn't realize it would take so long to do.

Thank you all for your help!
Here's how I got the non-English dialog subtitles to work in The Avengers. It's a handy fallback workflow (all-Mac) for the few occasions when HB's foreign language detection misses the forced subtitle track:

- Rip the movie with MakeMKV, including all the English subtitle tracks*
- Extract the subtitle tracks from your rip using MKVTools
- Load the subtitle tracks one at a time into BDSup2Sub, and review them to see which is the forced-only track
- Export the forced-only subtitle track
- Open your rip in MKVMerge, uncheck all the subtitle tracks, "Add" your newly exported .idx track and remux
- Load your remuxed movie into HB and, on the Subtitle tab, select the only subtitle track and check "Burned in". Do not check "forced only".
- Encode away and enjoy your movie


* If you go to MakeMKV's settings, you can set English as your language preference. Then it will automatically select all the English subs and deselect all the others.
__________________
27" iMac (2.93GHz i7, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD); 64GB iPhone 5S; 32GB iPad Air; 3 x TV3, 2TB WD "My Book Studio XL" HDD; 4TB WD "ShareSpace" NAS
rayward is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 11:29 AM   #21
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayward View Post
Here's how I got the non-English dialog subtitles to work in The Avengers. It's a handy fallback workflow (all-Mac) for the few occasions when HB's foreign language detection misses the forced subtitle track:

- Rip the movie with MakeMKV, including all the English subtitle tracks*
- Extract the subtitle tracks from your rip using MKVTools
- Load the subtitle tracks one at a time into BDSup2Sub, and review them to see which is the forced-only track
- Export the forced-only subtitle track
- Open your rip in MKVMerge, uncheck all the subtitle tracks, "Add" your newly exported .idx track and remux
- Load your remuxed movie into HB and, on the Subtitle tab, select the only subtitle track and check "Burned in". Do not check "forced only".
- Encode away and enjoy your movie


* If you go to MakeMKV's settings, you can set English as your language preference. Then it will automatically select all the English subs and deselect all the others.
I'm wondering why you would do it this way (many steps) vs downloading the HB nightly and letting it burn in forced subs automatically?

I did that and it worked just fine.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 11:45 AM   #22
rayward
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
I'm wondering why you would do it this way (many steps) vs downloading the HB nightly and letting it burn in forced subs automatically?

I did that and it worked just fine.
I didn't work for me. For most movies, I find that HB picks up and burns in the forced subs. For The Avengers it didn't, so I reverted to my old workflow to get it done.
__________________
27" iMac (2.93GHz i7, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD); 64GB iPhone 5S; 32GB iPad Air; 3 x TV3, 2TB WD "My Book Studio XL" HDD; 4TB WD "ShareSpace" NAS
rayward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 11:53 AM   #23
Richdmoore
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
I'm wondering why you would do it this way (many steps) vs downloading the HB nightly and letting it burn in forced subs automatically?

I did that and it worked just fine.
I just used handbrake with the Avengers and it worked fine as well. I think I just selected foreign audio search, but I am not 100% sure as this was several weeks ago.

My typical method (DVD or Bluray) is to play a disc on a real Bluray/DVD player, and note the title number, runtime, audio track number, subtitle track number (or off) and any angle number. Then I rip the correct title/angle Bluray/DVD to an iso file(including any English audio& subtitles)

I then go into handbrake. I choose the apple TV preset. I ensure the correct audio is selected, and then I then go to the subtitle page. If a subtitle track was selected when I originally played the DVD/Bluray, I simply select that one and ensure the burn in box is selected. If no subtitle track was selected, I choose foreign audio search.

For the Advengers, to check to see if subtitles were included, they are in the 2nd or 3rd chapter where the lady is tied up and talking to her Russian "captor"

EDIT: Thinking some more, the subs might have been in English track 2 or 3.

Last edited by Richdmoore; Oct 29, 2012 at 11:59 AM.
Richdmoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 12:00 PM   #24
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richdmoore View Post
I just used handbrake with the Avengers and it worked fine as well. I think I just selected foreign audio search, but I am not 100% sure as this was several weeks ago.

My typical method (DVD or Bluray) is to play a disc on a real Bluray/DVD player, and note the title number, runtime, audio track number, subtitle track number (or off) and any angle number. Then I rip the correct title/angle Bluray/DVD to an iso file(including any English audio& subtitles)

I then go into handbrake. I choose the apple TV preset. I ensure the correct audio is selected, and then I then go to the subtitle page. If a subtitle track was selected when I originally played the DVD/Bluray, I simply select that one and ensure the burn in box is selected. If no subtitle track was selected, I choose foreign audio search.

For the Advengers, to check to see if subtitles were included, they are in the 2nd or 3rd chapter where the lady is tied up and talking to her Russian "captor"
I rip with MakeMKV and keep all english subtitles. Download HB nightly, choose Foreign Audio Search. Worked for me and I just went back to check. Forced sub is at 12:13.

But it's good to have an alternate approach with the Foreign Audio Search method misses something.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 12:29 PM   #25
Richdmoore
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
I rip with MakeMKV and keep all english subtitles. Download HB nightly, choose Foreign Audio Search. Worked for me and I just went back to check. Forced sub is at 12:13.

But it's good to have an alternate approach with the Foreign Audio Search method misses something.
Yes, it is more difficult because the necessary mandatory subtitles can be either: burned into the movie picture, set a separate track containing only the foreign parts, or included into the full subtitle stream but marked with a forced flag when that part is suppose to be displayed.

My understanding is that handbrake using foreign audio search will fail if the subtitle is in a separate track, and NOT marked as forced. That is why I routinely play the disc first to see if a subtitle track is selected on a real DVD/Bluray.

There is a spreadsheet for some movies online showing which subtitle method various movies use, but it is far from complete. Here it is however for those who are interested. https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?...=0&output=html
Richdmoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MakeMKV + Handbrake + Plex (Optimal Transcode?) JoEw Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Mar 1, 2014 02:54 PM
BluRay Ripping, MakeMKV and Handbrake hackers79 Apple TV and Home Theater 100 Jan 9, 2014 11:00 PM
Help needed...makemkv and iflicks subtitles Spacecowboy1 Apple TV and Home Theater 14 Sep 11, 2012 08:59 AM
MakeMKV + Handbrake = 10GB files...need smaller MrMacMini Apple TV and Home Theater 36 Sep 5, 2012 03:32 PM
OS X auto-correct and foreign languages jent OS X 0 Jun 27, 2012 12:44 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC