Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 16, 2012, 05:16 PM   #1
SuperMiguel
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Linux on imac

I have a 27" iMac i7 cpu blach blah... I want to run linux on it natively (not virtual machine).. Whats the best way to acomplish this??

I done on the pass with i rEFIT but not sure if that still the best way around...

Also there was some cooling issues when i installed it are these issues fix?

Thanks
SuperMiguel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 05:28 PM   #2
russofris
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Here's a link,

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Intel_iMac

Install cairo-doc and hide the unity launcher once it's installed. If you squint hard enough that light barely makes it in between your eyelids, it will look like a mac.

Linux is a neat OS and extremely flexible if you have a heavily customized workflow.
russofris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 05:44 PM   #3
leman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
AFAIk, you can simply install Linux via BootCamp, the same way you would install Windows.
leman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 06:41 PM   #4
SuperMiguel
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by leman View Post
AFAIk, you can simply install Linux via BootCamp, the same way you would install Windows.
ummm
SuperMiguel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 08:02 PM   #5
leman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperMiguel View Post
ummm
A little bit more elaborate comment would be helpful
leman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 08:04 PM   #6
SuperMiguel
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by leman View Post
A little bit more elaborate comment would be helpful
dont i need refit?
SuperMiguel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 06:12 AM   #7
leman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperMiguel View Post
dont i need refit?
I wrote: as far as I know, it should work with bootcamp - i remember reading that soem people had success with it. Honestly, I don't see why it wouldn't - bootcamp emulates BIOS and linux will install on BIAS-based computers. I have not tried it myself. Another bootloader would be required if you want to tripple-boot OS X, linux and windows, as bootcamp does not allow that.

Why don't you just try it out?
leman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 06:20 AM   #8
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
This thread should help you:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1221496
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 08:17 AM   #9
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
1) Launchpad -> Utilities -> Terminal
2) MacPorts
3) Tell yourself that it's Gentoo, if you do it often enough and in a sufficient forceful manner, it will be Gentoo and you have successfully created your own little 'reality distortion field'.

Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 10:00 AM   #10
slimjim.dj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: England
Why would you want to put linux on the mac?
__________________
The New iPad 64Gb Wifi + 4G
iPhone 4 16Gb
5th Gen iPod Nano 16Gb
PLEASE update the iMac "TAKE MY MONEY"
slimjim.dj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 10:19 AM   #11
talmy
macrumors 68040
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimjim.dj View Post
Why would you want to put linux on the mac?
I can't speak for the OP, but I run Linux on two of my Macs for Linux software development. I use virtual machines (under VirtualBox) and don't boot directly into Linux.
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Mavericks Server, 5 other Macs and an Apple TV.
talmy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 06:15 AM   #12
slimjim.dj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by talmy View Post
I can't speak for the OP, but I run Linux on two of my Macs for Linux software development. I use virtual machines (under VirtualBox) and don't boot directly into Linux.
I wonder because isnt one of the great things about Apple is that they make the hardware and the software so the work perfectly? I thought you might have just built a pc and run Linux on that
__________________
The New iPad 64Gb Wifi + 4G
iPhone 4 16Gb
5th Gen iPod Nano 16Gb
PLEASE update the iMac "TAKE MY MONEY"
slimjim.dj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 06:23 AM   #13
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimjim.dj View Post
I wonder because isnt one of the great things about Apple is that they make the hardware and the software so the work perfectly? I thought you might have just built a pc and run Linux on that
Why bother with another computer when you can have one running all of the operating systems?
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 08:40 AM   #14
aaronvan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Interesting...

The iMac already has X-Windows and Unix...why Linux? Just curious.

I run Linux and FreeBSD on old PC boxes. Amazing speed.

Peace.
aaronvan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 10:25 AM   #15
talmy
macrumors 68040
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronvan View Post
The iMac already has X-Windows and Unix...why Linux? Just curious.
UNIX != LINUX. While close, there are APIs that are different, so I can't just write for X-Windows under OS X and have it expect to work in a Linux environment.

Quote:
I run Linux and FreeBSD on old PC boxes. Amazing speed.

Peace.
I used to do that as well, but VMs are so much more convenient. And Linux runs faster as a VM in a modern workstation than the old PCs and new Intel Atom boxes we use. At work I've got a Windows machine (HP workstation) and run Linux in a VM on that as well. In fact several people in my work group has ditched their separate Linux boxes to use virtual machines. As a bonus I copy the VM image between the Windows box and my Mac as it works identically on both. (I've even run the VM image virtualized on a Linux box.)
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Mavericks Server, 5 other Macs and an Apple TV.
talmy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2012, 10:52 AM   #16
VoxPanther
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimjim.dj View Post
Why would you want to put linux on the mac?
In my case, I take care of an Imac for my parents. It's a few years old and cannot upgrade to the latest browsers without paying for a new OS.

Solution? Linux. I just have to find the right distro. I don't know how old the Imac is but it's maybe a 21" wide screen. It's at least 6 years old.
VoxPanther is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2012, 11:03 AM   #17
RedCroissant
macrumors 68000
 
RedCroissant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by talmy View Post
I can't speak for the OP, but I run Linux on two of my Macs for Linux software development. I use virtual machines (under VirtualBox) and don't boot directly into Linux.
I'm running XP, Ubuntu, and Mint in VirtualBox and I love it. I don't need any of the OSes for work or anything; I just like playing around with stuff and learnign and messing with terminal.

I, however, am running those on an external HDD that's bootable into OS X where I then run VB. It's not as fast as I would like it to be over a usb connection from a HDD docking station, but it is better than I expected.
__________________
Welcome to the Grid, Program.

27" iMac, 3.2GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 3TB HDD; 32GB iPad 1 WiFi+3G; 30GB iPod Video 5G
RedCroissant is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC