Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 16, 2012, 05:16 PM   #1
SuperMiguel
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Linux on imac

I have a 27" iMac i7 cpu blach blah... I want to run linux on it natively (not virtual machine).. Whats the best way to acomplish this??

I done on the pass with i rEFIT but not sure if that still the best way around...

Also there was some cooling issues when i installed it are these issues fix?

Thanks
SuperMiguel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 05:28 PM   #2
russofris
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Here's a link,

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Intel_iMac

Install cairo-doc and hide the unity launcher once it's installed. If you squint hard enough that light barely makes it in between your eyelids, it will look like a mac.

Linux is a neat OS and extremely flexible if you have a heavily customized workflow.
russofris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 05:44 PM   #3
leman
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
AFAIk, you can simply install Linux via BootCamp, the same way you would install Windows.
leman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 06:41 PM   #4
SuperMiguel
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by leman View Post
AFAIk, you can simply install Linux via BootCamp, the same way you would install Windows.
ummm
SuperMiguel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 08:02 PM   #5
leman
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperMiguel View Post
ummm
A little bit more elaborate comment would be helpful
leman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 08:04 PM   #6
SuperMiguel
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by leman View Post
A little bit more elaborate comment would be helpful
dont i need refit?
SuperMiguel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 06:12 AM   #7
leman
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperMiguel View Post
dont i need refit?
I wrote: as far as I know, it should work with bootcamp - i remember reading that soem people had success with it. Honestly, I don't see why it wouldn't - bootcamp emulates BIOS and linux will install on BIAS-based computers. I have not tried it myself. Another bootloader would be required if you want to tripple-boot OS X, linux and windows, as bootcamp does not allow that.

Why don't you just try it out?
leman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 06:20 AM   #8
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
This thread should help you:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1221496
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 08:17 AM   #9
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
1) Launchpad -> Utilities -> Terminal
2) MacPorts
3) Tell yourself that it's Gentoo, if you do it often enough and in a sufficient forceful manner, it will be Gentoo and you have successfully created your own little 'reality distortion field'.

Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 10:00 AM   #10
slimjim.dj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: England
Why would you want to put linux on the mac?
__________________
The New iPad 64Gb Wifi + 4G
iPhone 4 16Gb
5th Gen iPod Nano 16Gb
PLEASE update the iMac "TAKE MY MONEY"
slimjim.dj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 10:19 AM   #11
talmy
macrumors 68040
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimjim.dj View Post
Why would you want to put linux on the mac?
I can't speak for the OP, but I run Linux on two of my Macs for Linux software development. I use virtual machines (under VirtualBox) and don't boot directly into Linux.
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Mavericks Server, 5 other Macs and an unused Apple TV.
talmy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 06:15 AM   #12
slimjim.dj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by talmy View Post
I can't speak for the OP, but I run Linux on two of my Macs for Linux software development. I use virtual machines (under VirtualBox) and don't boot directly into Linux.
I wonder because isnt one of the great things about Apple is that they make the hardware and the software so the work perfectly? I thought you might have just built a pc and run Linux on that
__________________
The New iPad 64Gb Wifi + 4G
iPhone 4 16Gb
5th Gen iPod Nano 16Gb
PLEASE update the iMac "TAKE MY MONEY"
slimjim.dj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 06:23 AM   #13
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimjim.dj View Post
I wonder because isnt one of the great things about Apple is that they make the hardware and the software so the work perfectly? I thought you might have just built a pc and run Linux on that
Why bother with another computer when you can have one running all of the operating systems?
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 08:40 AM   #14
aaronvan
macrumors 6502a
 
aaronvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington State
Interesting...

The iMac already has X-Windows and Unix...why Linux? Just curious.

I run Linux and FreeBSD on old PC boxes. Amazing speed.

Peace.
aaronvan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 10:25 AM   #15
talmy
macrumors 68040
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronvan View Post
The iMac already has X-Windows and Unix...why Linux? Just curious.
UNIX != LINUX. While close, there are APIs that are different, so I can't just write for X-Windows under OS X and have it expect to work in a Linux environment.

Quote:
I run Linux and FreeBSD on old PC boxes. Amazing speed.

Peace.
I used to do that as well, but VMs are so much more convenient. And Linux runs faster as a VM in a modern workstation than the old PCs and new Intel Atom boxes we use. At work I've got a Windows machine (HP workstation) and run Linux in a VM on that as well. In fact several people in my work group has ditched their separate Linux boxes to use virtual machines. As a bonus I copy the VM image between the Windows box and my Mac as it works identically on both. (I've even run the VM image virtualized on a Linux box.)
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Mavericks Server, 5 other Macs and an unused Apple TV.
talmy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2012, 10:52 AM   #16
VoxPanther
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimjim.dj View Post
Why would you want to put linux on the mac?
In my case, I take care of an Imac for my parents. It's a few years old and cannot upgrade to the latest browsers without paying for a new OS.

Solution? Linux. I just have to find the right distro. I don't know how old the Imac is but it's maybe a 21" wide screen. It's at least 6 years old.
VoxPanther is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2012, 11:03 AM   #17
RedCroissant
macrumors 68000
 
RedCroissant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by talmy View Post
I can't speak for the OP, but I run Linux on two of my Macs for Linux software development. I use virtual machines (under VirtualBox) and don't boot directly into Linux.
I'm running XP, Ubuntu, and Mint in VirtualBox and I love it. I don't need any of the OSes for work or anything; I just like playing around with stuff and learnign and messing with terminal.

I, however, am running those on an external HDD that's bootable into OS X where I then run VB. It's not as fast as I would like it to be over a usb connection from a HDD docking station, but it is better than I expected.
__________________
Welcome to the Grid, Program.

27" iMac, 3.2GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 3TB HDD; 32GB iPad 1 WiFi+3G; 30GB iPod Video 5G
RedCroissant is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I install Linux on my iMac? 2012Tony2012 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 35 Apr 27, 2014 04:26 PM
Linux on iMac (2006) bluejellosam iMac 0 Mar 15, 2014 10:12 PM
customize linux distro for imac g4 appledestroyer PowerPC Macs 4 Feb 1, 2014 04:30 PM
Introducing an iMac into a Linux household davedrowsy Mac Basics and Help 12 Nov 11, 2013 06:42 AM
Installing Linux on iMac G3 Lbrownell PowerPC Macs 14 Sep 4, 2012 02:17 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC