Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 17, 2012, 07:59 AM   #1
authorleon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Mac Pro 1.1 - 9800GTX, HD5550, HD6770

Hello all,

I have a mac pro, which is as follows:

Model Name:Mac Pro
Model Identifier:MacPro1,1
Processor Nameual-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed:2.66 GHz
Number of Processors:2
Total Number of Cores:4
L2 Cache (per Processor):4 MB
Memory:8 GB
Bus Speed:1.33 GHz
Boot ROM Version:MP11.005C.B08
SMC Version (system):1.7f10

I have a 7300GT which is very painful within avid, or fcp. I also have premier.

I have these cards around:

9800GTX (Take 2 x 6 pin power connectors (512mb))
HD5550 (1Gb version)
HD6770 (1Gb version with 5 MINI dv out's)

In the spirit of saving money, I would like to know if I could use any of the above please, Flash the rom or what ever needs to be done.

I am asking here if anyone has any of the card working in their Mac Pro 1.1.

Thank you
authorleon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 08:00 AM   #2
Amethyst
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
I think 9800GTX and 6770 is good bet.
__________________
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 8x2.93 GHz/32GB DDRIII/5870
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 6x3.2 GHz/20GB DDRIII/5870
Mac Pro (3,1) 8x2.8 GHz/6GB DDRII/4870
Mac Pro (1,1->2,1) 8x2.33 GHz/10GB DDRII/5770
Amethyst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 09:37 AM   #3
authorleon
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amethyst View Post
I think 9800GTX and 6770 is good bet.
Ok, any information about how to do that?
authorleon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 12:00 PM   #4
cgc
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Utah
Does the PCIE auxilary power cable that comes with the PC GPU work with the MacPro PCIE Aux port on the motherboard?
__________________
"Like a midget at a urinal, I was going to have to stay on my toes." Frank Drebin, Naked Gun 33 1/3: The Final Insult
cgc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 07:38 PM   #5
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgc View Post
Does the PCIE auxilary power cable that comes with the PC GPU work with the MacPro PCIE Aux port on the motherboard?
The Mac Pros use a proprietary Mini PCIe power connectors on their logic boards. They are like $5-8 a pop on eBay.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 11:28 AM   #6
cgc
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
The Mac Pros use a proprietary Mini PCIe power connectors on their logic boards. They are like $5-8 a pop on eBay.
Could I just use a molex --> PCIE 6-pin adapter since they're available locally? I assume I'll have a molex power cable dangling where my second optical drive could be...
__________________
"Like a midget at a urinal, I was going to have to stay on my toes." Frank Drebin, Naked Gun 33 1/3: The Final Insult
cgc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 11:33 AM   #7
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgc View Post
Could I just use a molex --> PCIE 6-pin adapter since they're available locally? I assume I'll have a molex power cable dangling where my second optical drive could be...
In the interest of saving money use the correct cable..
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waterfield Designs Debuts 'Mac Pro Go Case' for Transporting 2013 Mac Pro MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 43 Jun 11, 2014 04:45 PM
nMP, New Mac Pro, Mac Mini Pro, 6,1, Mac Pro....Decide! Anim Mac Pro 12 Feb 4, 2014 12:53 PM
Upgraded 3.46GHz 12-core 2010 Mac Pro faster than new 2.7GHz Mac Pro? jkheit Mac Pro 11 Jan 3, 2014 02:44 PM
Refurb MAC PRO 2012 or ebay Mac Pro 2010 or Imac indecisively Mac Pro 0 Nov 24, 2012 05:04 PM
Using a PC graphic card in Mac Pro Rev.A [EFI 32] (Mac Pro 1st Gen/1.1) flexage Mac Pro 16 Oct 3, 2012 12:01 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC