Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 18, 2012, 10:18 AM   #1
rodey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
iPhone 4 on T-Mobile without a data plan

I am unlocking my iPhone 4 from AT&T in June. Can I activate the phone on T-Mobile without a data plan or will T-Mobile force me to get a data plan a la AT&T? I cannot find anything conclusive through Googling.
rodey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 10:29 AM   #2
vonWachtstain
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodey View Post
I am unlocking my iPhone 4 from AT&T in June. Can I activate the phone on T-Mobile without a data plan or will T-Mobile force me to get a data plan a la AT&T? I cannot find anything conclusive through Googling.
I helped my FIL unlock his iPhone. He has Tmobile plan that is probably 10 years old and he pays peanuts comparing to today's prices. He doesnt have data and his texting is blocked. What I really like about Tmobile is when he went to their store they gave him free microsim card without any games to have him upgrade or add features to his plan. He was there for less than 5 minutes.
One thing what sucks is he cant activate iMessage and voicemail is weird.

Of course he is an existing customer I dont know how that works when u become new customer. I assume you will want subsidized phone so I imagine they need to recoup their losses somehow
vonWachtstain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 12:37 PM   #3
Tarzanman
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by vonWachtstain View Post
I helped my FIL unlock his iPhone. He has Tmobile plan that is probably 10 years old and he pays peanuts comparing to today's prices. He doesnt have data and his texting is blocked. What I really like about Tmobile is when he went to their store they gave him free microsim card without any games to have him upgrade or add features to his plan. He was there for less than 5 minutes.
One thing what sucks is he cant activate iMessage and voicemail is weird.

Of course he is an existing customer I dont know how that works when u become new customer. I assume you will want subsidized phone so I imagine they need to recoup their losses somehow
I think there is a workaround for activating those. Search around.
__________________
Luis Ortega: (Apple) overcharges for their products and use underpaid sweat shop workers to produce them."
torana355:"Apple used to be the ones bringing out exciting products like the Note 2"
Tarzanman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 01:39 PM   #4
sharkmok
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodey View Post
I am unlocking my iPhone 4 from AT&T in June. Can I activate the phone on T-Mobile without a data plan or will T-Mobile force me to get a data plan a la AT&T? I cannot find anything conclusive through Googling.
Since Tmobile don't official support the iphone, You can go to Tmobile and just signal up. (You can also get sloooooooow 2G data).
A couple of ways to go:
1) prepaid
2) 2 year contract with value plan (bring your own phone, lower monthly rate). They will give you a microsim for your iphone.
3) 2 year contract with normal plan and get subsidized phone.
There are probably more ways to go.

All feature works except visual voice mail and 3G data. If you need help, see:
http://support.t-mobile.com/communit...ew=discussions
sharkmok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 01:50 PM   #5
vonWachtstain
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarzanman View Post
I think there is a workaround for activating those. Search around.
Yes but you have to be Jailbroken. And my father in law does not want to have jailbroken phone anymore. He said his 3gs would always crash for no reason. He is much happier with official unlock. Thank you for advice anyways.
vonWachtstain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 02:16 PM   #6
Minhimalism
macrumors 6502a
 
Minhimalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Texas
My phone without a jailbreak activated iMessage without any trouble, not sure if I did anything differently.

Also you can definitely use an iPhone on T-Mobile does it. My dad, my sister and I all use T-Zones so we pay like what 5.99 a month each for unlimited snail data, haha.
__________________
White iPhone 5; 2013 13" MacBook Air
Twitter Instagram Flickr deviantART
Minhimalism is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 05:58 PM   #7
ninjaw95
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodey View Post
I am unlocking my iPhone 4 from AT&T in June. Can I activate the phone on T-Mobile without a data plan or will T-Mobile force me to get a data plan a la AT&T? I cannot find anything conclusive through Googling.
go to walmart, buy the $30 tmo phone
sign up for the $30 a month for 100min and unlim txt + data (prepaid)
cut the sim and put in iphone ( i went to the tmo store cuz they cut it for me, they support it cuz they get $$$)
brag to your friends for your amazing iphone plan
only edge speed which kinda sucks

but no, tmobile wont force you on a data plan because if you only purchase a sim for it they wont know what phone it is.
ninjaw95 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 06:07 PM   #8
lordofthereef
macrumors 603
 
lordofthereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarzanman View Post
I think there is a workaround for activating those. Search around.
iMessage will never work without a data plan... unless of course he wants to use it on Wifi only. If that's the case, he should be able to set iMessage up as an email only.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninjaw95 View Post
but no, tmobile wont force you on a data plan because if you only purchase a sim for it they wont know what phone it is.
They will know what phone you have once you pop the sim in. They could charge you a data plan if they wanted. The key is they don't. They don't feel they have a reason to. Another line of service that is pure profit to them isn't something they are going to decline.
__________________
I use iOS and Android daily and, more recently, Windows Phone 8. If what I say upsets you, it's probably because of your brand loyalty.
lordofthereef is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 08:44 AM   #9
BruiserB
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by vonWachtstain View Post
I helped my FIL unlock his iPhone. He has Tmobile plan that is probably 10 years old and he pays peanuts comparing to today's prices. He doesnt have data and his texting is blocked. What I really like about Tmobile is when he went to their store they gave him free microsim card without any games to have him upgrade or add features to his plan. He was there for less than 5 minutes.
One thing what sucks is he cant activate iMessage and voicemail is weird.

Of course he is an existing customer I dont know how that works when u become new customer. I assume you will want subsidized phone so I imagine they need to recoup their losses somehow
The reason he can't activate iMessage is that his texting is blocked. The iPhone makes a couple of international texts in the background to set up iMessage (my understanding is that the iMessage servers are in the UK). If he were to turn on texting and allow international texting just for 1 day, his phone would automatically set up iMessage. Then he could put blocking back on as texting isn't necessary once iMessage is working.

For voicemail, he could get a Google Voice number. He wouldn't even have to use this as his number other than for voicemail. Google Voice gives instructions on how to set up so that missed calls wouldn't go to T-mobiles Voice Mail system, but rather to GV's. Then his GV app would show an indication when he has a voicemail. Of course the voicemail indicator would only push once he has access to wi-fi data if he has no data plan. I believe he could manually check for messages by calling his GV number from his iPhone. This may not be much better than whatever difficulty he's having now, so may or may not be worth trying.
BruiserB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 11:59 AM   #10
sharkmok
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordofthereef View Post
iMessage will never work without a data plan... unless of course he wants to use it on Wifi only. If that's the case, he should be able to set iMessage up as an email only.
iMessage works with wifi only. My son has an iphone without dataplan on tmobile and iMessage works fine with his phone number when its on wifi. When you sent iMessage to him, he just don't get it until he is on wifi. All you need to do is ability to sent international sms when activating iMessage. After its activated, sms can even be blocked.
sharkmok is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iphone 4s with T Mobile Data Plan Question pauly1 iPhone 7 Feb 26, 2014 09:54 AM
T-Mobile CEO Misleads on 'No Strings Attached' Free Data, New Customers Require $20 Data Plan to Finance iPads MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 399 Dec 15, 2013 04:34 PM
Mobile Hotspot w/ a T-Mobile Data Plan spaceballl iPhone 4 Jul 11, 2013 05:29 AM
iPhone 5 without data plan on T-Mobile? Cjshino iPhone 24 Jul 2, 2013 12:08 PM
4GB Data plan w/Mobile Hotspot - Verizon unknownbeing iPhone 4 Jan 9, 2013 08:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC