Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 22, 2012, 05:09 PM   #1
cali shot doc
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Question Question about MacX dvd ripper pro

My mom asked me to digitize her copy of twilight to watch on her apple tv2 and Handbrake wouldn't do it. Once I hit start, it went straight to 100% and I got the first 2 seconds. I tried multiple titles but nothing worked.

I then decided to download a trial of Macx dvd ripper pro and it seems to have done the job but I have a few questions. What format should I rip it with: MP4 or H264? Should I run it through HB after?
Also whats the best resolution and quality that I should use?

Thanks
cali shot doc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 05:17 PM   #2
musty345
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
I think H264 would be best but it doesn't matter- I don't think.
Pick the highest quality you can

And the reason handbrake didn't work was because you have to decrypt the DVD before handbrake will work (remove the protection).
__________________
MacKeeper Review
Owner and editor of http://www.JailbreakZeit.com
Twitter
21.5" iMac, iPhone 5, iPod Touch, iPod Classic
musty345 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 05:20 PM   #3
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cali shot doc View Post
My mom asked me to digitize her copy of twilight to watch on her apple tv2 and Handbrake wouldn't do it. Once I hit start, it went straight to 100% and I got the first 2 seconds. I tried multiple titles but nothing worked.

I then decided to download a trial of Macx dvd ripper pro and it seems to have done the job but I have a few questions. What format should I rip it with: MP4 or H264? Should I run it through HB after?
Also whats the best resolution and quality that I should use?

Thanks
MP4 is a container, while h264 is a codec. Not familiar with the app but does it actually give you the either mp4 or h264 option? Doesn't make much sense to me.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; AppleTV 3; iPad 2, 32GB; 2TB Time Capsule (RIP 9/12); AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; AE; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 09:06 PM   #4
Blaquespell
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
MP4 is a container, while h264 is a codec. Not familiar with the app but does it actually give you the either mp4 or h264 option? Doesn't make much sense to me.
Probably meant MPEG-4, which is basically correct. It is both a container and a codec. MPEG-4 Part 2 (Advanced Simple Profile, DivX, XviD) and MPEG-4 Part 10 (AVC/H.264). H.264 will yield better results.
Blaquespell is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC