Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 12, 2005, 10:39 PM   #1
cleo
macrumors 65816
 
cleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Florida, USA
"top" command - how do I see more?

This is probably an incredibly dumb question for most of you, but...

When I use "top" I can only see the first page of output. I'm trying to find the pid of a process that's not on that first page; how do I move down the list?
cleo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2005, 10:43 PM   #2
Lacero
macrumors 601
 
Lacero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
resize the window?

hi cleo
Lacero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2005, 10:57 PM   #3
Whyren
macrumors 6502a
 
Whyren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: east of the West and west of the East
Send a message via AIM to Whyren
You can also order how the data is output by typing

top -o <key> where "<key>" can be:
command - Command name.

cpu - CPU usage.

pid - Process ID (default).

prt - Number of Mach ports.

reg - Number of memory regions.

rprvt - Resident private address space size.

rshrd - Resident shared address space size.

rsize - Resident memory size.

th - Number of threads.

time - Execution time.

uid - User ID.

username - Username.

vprvt - Private address space size.

vsize - Total memory size.
By default, top uses the pid to sort.
__________________
Before a brilliant person begins something great, they must look foolish in the crowd.

QS02 800MHz G4 + 768 RAM + 300 GB HD + NVidia GeForce4 MX
2G 10 GB iPod + 512 shuffle
last.fm + music mobs + itunes registry
Whyren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2005, 11:14 PM   #4
cazlar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
I think "ps -ax" will give you the PIDs as well if that's all you need.
cazlar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2005, 02:05 AM   #5
Westside guy
macrumors 601
 
Westside guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: The soggy part of the Pacific NW
"top -l 0" (that's "ell zero") runs top as a one-shot command, listing all the processes. For your purposes it's just like the aforementioned "ps -ax".
__________________
Your post count is insufficient to view signature
Westside guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General: iOS7 command line... Equivalent of "say" command? RobertoG Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Jan 19, 2014 05:05 PM
General: FIX "Error opening terminal: xterm-256color" for Terminal Commands (e.g., "top") iOS7 thelatinist Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 9 Jan 10, 2014 07:46 PM
"Applications" menu command - "item cannot be found" - owner/permissions? (10.6.8) MacOSExustio OS X 2 Jul 20, 2013 05:05 AM
OS X: CS:GO "command" + "left mouse click" causes "right mouse click" Whats wrong? oeppel Mac and PC Games 1 Apr 6, 2013 03:12 AM
iPad: No "games" category under "top charts" in app store? goox2 iOS 6 3 Nov 4, 2012 04:22 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC