Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 12, 2005, 10:39 PM   #1
cleo
macrumors 65816
 
cleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Florida, USA
"top" command - how do I see more?

This is probably an incredibly dumb question for most of you, but...

When I use "top" I can only see the first page of output. I'm trying to find the pid of a process that's not on that first page; how do I move down the list?
cleo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2005, 10:43 PM   #2
Lacero
macrumors 601
 
Lacero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
resize the window?

hi cleo
Lacero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2005, 10:57 PM   #3
Whyren
macrumors 6502a
 
Whyren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: east of the West and west of the East
Send a message via AIM to Whyren
You can also order how the data is output by typing

top -o <key> where "<key>" can be:
command - Command name.

cpu - CPU usage.

pid - Process ID (default).

prt - Number of Mach ports.

reg - Number of memory regions.

rprvt - Resident private address space size.

rshrd - Resident shared address space size.

rsize - Resident memory size.

th - Number of threads.

time - Execution time.

uid - User ID.

username - Username.

vprvt - Private address space size.

vsize - Total memory size.
By default, top uses the pid to sort.
__________________
Before a brilliant person begins something great, they must look foolish in the crowd.

QS02 800MHz G4 + 768 RAM + 300 GB HD + NVidia GeForce4 MX
2G 10 GB iPod + 512 shuffle
last.fm + music mobs + itunes registry
Whyren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2005, 11:14 PM   #4
cazlar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
I think "ps -ax" will give you the PIDs as well if that's all you need.
cazlar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2005, 02:05 AM   #5
Westside guy
macrumors 601
 
Westside guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: The soggy part of the Pacific NW
"top -l 0" (that's "ell zero") runs top as a one-shot command, listing all the processes. For your purposes it's just like the aforementioned "ps -ax".
__________________
Your post count is insufficient to view signature
Westside guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Itunes issue - how do you see the full name of an app in list/grid view? wannabelean iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Oct 2, 2011 10:46 PM
Disappearing scroll bars - How do you know if there's more to scroll? HXGuy Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 8 Mar 20, 2011 06:51 PM
warranty question - how do i have MORE than a year left on my warranty? JCUSN Mac Basics and Help 7 Mar 4, 2009 07:40 PM
I jailbroke my iphone - How do I add more apps? Wiser Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Dec 30, 2008 05:43 AM
Pwned 3G - how do I add more sources to Cydia? bbplayer5 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Jul 20, 2008 09:19 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC