Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 9, 2012, 12:11 PM   #1
Kikooo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Can I Run Diablo 3?

Specs !!!

Mac OS X
Processor: 2.26 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory: 2 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
Version: 10.6.8

NVIDIA GeForce 9400M:

Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M

I am NOT a computer guy at all !!!!
Kikooo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2012, 12:13 PM   #2
jgc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kikooo View Post
Specs !!!

Mac OS X
Processor: 2.26 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory: 2 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
Version: 10.6.8

NVIDIA GeForce 9400M:

Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M

I am NOT a computer guy at all !!!!
I don't think you'll have a chance. Sorry, dude.
jgc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2012, 12:27 PM   #3
Mr.C
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London, UK.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kikooo View Post
Specs !!!

Mac OS X
Processor: 2.26 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory: 2 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
Version: 10.6.8

NVIDIA GeForce 9400M:

Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M

I am NOT a computer guy at all !!!!
It will run but the performance will be pretty poor and pretty much non playable. Even with everything on the lowest settings you'll probably get less then 10 frames per second. You might get a little more under Bootcamp running Windows but it won't be worth it.

----------

You might want to have a look at the following threads.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...ghlight=diablo

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...ghlight=diablo
__________________
2011 Mac Mini i7 2.7GHz 8GB RAM 750GB HD|MacBook Air 13" 1.6Ghz Core 2 Duo 2GB RAM 80GB HD|iPad Air 128GB Wi-Fi+Cellular White/Silver|iPhone 6 Plus 128GB White/Silver
Mr.C is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2012, 12:49 PM   #4
malman89
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Michigan
In OS X? Yeah, like 800 x 600 all low and hardly passable (20s) FPS at that.

In Bootcamp it sounds like you have a shot for 20-40 FPS with beta drivers and still docked resolution, but 1024 x 768 or something.

In short - no, probably not worth the hassle for borderline bearable play settings.
__________________
Current Machine: Lenovo IdeaPad Z510

Old Machine: Late 2006 Model - 13.3" MacBook, 2 GHz C2D, 4 (3.3) GB RAM, 500 GB 7200rpm HD running OS X 10.6.8
malman89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2012, 11:45 AM   #5
AlexMaximus
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boondocks
I have good news for you. Just two days ago, Blizzard released a new patch for diablo3 running on mac's. As of now it should work with the 9400m. I would get a Guestpass and give it a try. Make sure you install that patch!

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/blog/6214188
AlexMaximus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2012, 06:47 AM   #6
Mister Bumbo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
It's now playable with the 9400M on the two lowest resolutions with all possible graphic options turned down to the lowest.
Mister Bumbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2012, 10:50 AM   #7
Tsuchiya
macrumors 65816
 
Tsuchiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
So is Diablo 3 just not worth playing on minimum settings?

A copy arrived this morning from Amazon (I forgot I put an order down...) and looking at the minimum specs it should run on my Macbook Pro.

However if it's really going to struggle I would just rather return the game and pick it up later on when I've upgraded my Mac...
__________________
Nothing is true, everything is permitted
Tsuchiya is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2012, 09:44 AM   #8
definitive
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
the game runs on core 2 duo with 9400m, but not at high settings. to get best performance possible out of the card (meaning 15-30fps), it's recommended to run everything on low, and possibly in windowed mode at ~1024x650.
definitive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2012, 10:18 AM   #9
hkim1983
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
You can run Diablo 3, but whether or not it's playable, and more importantly, what difficulty you plan to play up to you.

Under boot camp with the newest Nvidia drivers (which are newer than their beta ones), the game is playable at the lowest resolution with all settings on low and all effects off. The experience is terrible, and there are still certain parts of the game (Act 2 sewers, certain parts of Acts 3/4) which are barely playable, if that, but you can get through Normal - Hell difficulty without too much of an issue.

That being said, if you plan on playing hardcore or Inferno difficulty (or worse, both), I personally wouldn't recommend it. You can get through Act 1 Inferno fine, but the inconsistencies of frame rate, and the trouble dealing with certain parts of Acts 2-4 will just make the experience more frustrating than it is enjoyable (this is ignoring the awful game design decisions Blizzard made regarding Inferno).
hkim1983 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2012, 11:30 AM   #10
pinholestars
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I have the early 2008 macbook pro which had an 8600M and it runs acceptably for me. I have the settings all turned down, and the resolution is a little low, but it's definitely playable and enjoyable. More so on my i7 iMac, but for portable Diablo, my macbook runs it fine.

----------

But that also is a dedicated card, so if yours is a shared...I don't know then
pinholestars is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 10:50 PM   #11
Wasbo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
www.canyourunit.com - easy as that
Wasbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Is there a way to run Diablo 1 on Intel Mac? Dookieman Mac and PC Games 12 Sep 19, 2013 11:41 PM
OS X: How well does Diablo III Mac OS X version run? Solomani Mac and PC Games 19 Jan 19, 2013 03:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC