Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Old Jun 10, 2012, 10:56 PM   #1
adamvk
macrumors 65816

Time Machine backup external hard drives?

I'm thinking of switching to a 13" Macbook Air.

The problem is, I am a photographer, and therefore have a massive photo/video library.

Currently my Macbook Pro has a 750GB HDD AND a 120GB SSD both inside (I took out my optical drive), so it's not an issue.

So if this were to work, I'd need to keep them on an external hard drive.

However will Time Machine backup my external hard drive as well?

Or does anyone have any other suggestions for how to make a setup like this work?

Thank you very much!!!
Old Jun 11, 2012, 09:41 PM   #2
adamvk
macrumors 65816

Anyone know?
Old Jun 12, 2012, 05:47 AM   #3
simsaladimbamba

TM will backup external HDDs as long as they are formatted as "Mac OS Extended (HFS+)" and not excluded from the Exclude List in System Preferences > Time Machine > Options.

Time Machine FAQ

I have one 500 GB HDD for my photographs (digital and analog) libraries and editing documents, one 500 GB HDD with my personal video footage in an editing friendly format.
Both 500 GB HDDs get backed up to one 1 TB HDD via CarbonCopyCloner.
And that 1 TB HDD gets backed up to another 1 TB HDD via CarbonCopyCloner.
Therefore I have three copies of my important data.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 10:31 AM   #4
kaelell
macrumors 6502

to the OP , Im in a similar position now and came across this post. just wondering how you go on with this set up?

thnx
kaelell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:09 PM   #5
Orlandoech
macrumors 68030

TimeMachine will backup anything, any drive, including externals and thumb drives as long as they are not in the Exclusion list on the TimeMachine options.
Orlandoech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 01:17 AM   #6
AppleNewton