Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 11, 2012, 02:36 PM   #1
xiard
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Windows 7 Bootcamp external/dual monitor not working

I have a 15" MacBook Pro purchased 6/2011. I am running Windows 7 64-Bit Ultimate (with Service Pack 1) under Bootcamp.

I have a mini display port -> VGA adapeter (Rocketfish) connecting to a Dell monitor. The monitor is detected and usable under OS X. When I boot the computer in Windows, I see the "starting windows" screen duplicated on the external monitor (so the cable and monitor are definitely working).

Once I'm in Windows, though, the monitor loses the signal in some way. The power button, which was glowing green, is now yellow (as if the monitor needs to be woken up). It's not the same as having no connection, though; if I unplug the cable the monitor shows the "nothing is attached" floating graphic.

My cursor will move off of my main MBP display as if there is an external monitor, but nothing shows up. In my display properties, the Dell monitor is detected as a secondary display, and it is automatically setup to do monitor extending. So everything looks fine...except for the fact that nothing shows up on the monitor.

Note that connecting to a TV using mini display port to HDMI under Windows 7 works fine.

Any thoughts? Looks like people have had a LOT of issues with dual monitors under Windows 7, but I didn't see any obvious solutions.

Thanks,

David Cater
xiard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2012, 07:11 AM   #2
techguy20
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
I've used a similar adapter with Windows 7 in Bootcamp and have had no issues.

I assume you have the latest Bootcamp drivers installed, correct?
__________________
Mac Pro, iMac, MacBook, iPhone 4S 32GB
techguy20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2012, 09:47 AM   #3
xiard
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
That's a good question. Can you update Bootcamp drivers manually (i.e., separately from the OS)? It seems like when I looked into that in the past, I made sure Bootcamp was "up to date" by just making sure my updates in OSX were current. I've checked Software Update in OSX and Windows Update on the Windows side, and everything is up to date.
xiard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2012, 10:06 AM   #4
xiard
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Just checked on support.apple.com, and it appears the latest Bootcamp version is 3.3. That appears to be the version I have (from About Boot Camp dialog in Windows).
xiard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2012, 10:33 AM   #5
Sincci
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Finland
Quote:
Originally Posted by xiard View Post
Just checked on support.apple.com, and it appears the latest Bootcamp version is 3.3. That appears to be the version I have (from About Boot Camp dialog in Windows).
The latest version is 4.0 which comes with OS X Lion. You'll need to run the bootcamp assistant in OS X in order to download those drivers.
Sincci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2012, 11:46 AM   #6
xiard
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Oh, man, I had really high hopes for that. I booted in OSX, created a CD with the new BootCamp support setup program, and then installed it in Windows. I am now running BootCamp 4.0.

Unfortunately, the behavior is the same. I also checked to see if I could now connect my laptop to my Bluetooth speaker (Jawbone Big Jambox) as an audio device, and that still isn't working either. Sad.

So to answer your original question...yes, I have updated drivers. And I still can't use an external monitor.

Thanks for the replies...any other thoughts?
xiard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2012, 12:40 PM   #7
AnonMac50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Try using the AMD drivers. For example, on my MacBook Pro (with nVidia), I just downloaded the update and installed. Also, you might have to do a clean install of the driver instead of just updating it.

Check the Catalyst Control Center first before you update the drivers though. There might be something there to help (that is the most confusing program I used though, so it might be hard to find what you need).

Also, maybe the resolution or refresh rate is over the limit? Probably not but wouldn't hurt to check.
__________________
[Tutorial] Three Finger Drag on Non-supported Multitouch Macs (MAJOR UPDATES!!! (8/7/2013))
Front Row for Lion
Now I know why the maps icon wants you to jump off of a bridge!
AnonMac50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2012, 06:02 AM   #8
qwertys
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Did you fix this problem? Just wondering because i am having the same issue.
qwertys is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Dual Monitor Set up (only one working) jeepstylexx MacBook Air 15 Dec 1, 2013 09:48 AM
External Monitor Not Working Windows 7 Bootcamp mrsbadcrumble Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 5 Feb 8, 2013 05:02 PM
How do I run a dual monitor setup with my MacBook Pro with one external monitor? shearerlisaj MacBook Pro 2 Jan 22, 2013 05:48 PM
Windows 7 64-Bit Bootcamp dual monitor not working on Mac Mini toshibauser Mac mini 1 Nov 29, 2012 08:52 AM
Dual monitor no longer working micrors4racer Mac mini 3 Jun 10, 2012 02:13 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC