Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Old Jun 11, 2012, 07:41 PM   #1
jedolley
macrumors 68000

Space Combat Sims?

I recently started playing Galaxy on Fire 2 and have been really enjoying it. However, I haven't been playing that long and have discovered there isn't much in the way of ships, weapons, equipment to upgrade to.

I was wondering if there are any other Space Combat like games with deeper customization, world, and even story (optional)? I purchased X3: Terran Conflict, but so far it's been a little too much. There does not appear to be any sort of tutorial and I haven't had a chance to RTFM.

I would prefer the game to be native for OSX, but if it's a game I should really check out then I would not hesitate to play via bootcamp or parallels. Also, not a deal killer, but I would prefer the 3rd person perspective similar to GoF2 rather than the 1st person cockpit view (I like to see my ship).

Thanks in advance!
jedolley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2012, 01:03 AM   #2
DrakkenWar
macrumors 6502

Send a message via MSN to DrakkenWar Send a message via Yahoo to DrakkenWar Send a message via Skype™ to DrakkenWar
Here is the lowdown.

I figured I would take a stab at this one too. Being that I am a Space Sim and FPS junkie I have always tried to find a melding of the two. (WingCommander anyone? Buller?).

http://www.galaxyonfire.com/en/galaxy-on-fire-2.html

- While Galaxy On Fire 2 is close. The story line is at best meh. The mining missions? For the love of CAIN! You twitch and things get all explodie back to try again. Though the graphics and music are pretty good overall.

http://scp.indiegames.us/