Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 19, 2005, 09:55 AM   #1
mnkeybsness
macrumors 68030
 
mnkeybsness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Moneyapolis, Minnesota
Send a message via AIM to mnkeybsness
iPod only auto-update on one computer

I take my iPod between home and work and I have it auto-update at home. When I get to work I always have to set the preference to manually update so that I can listen to the music from the iPod, through the computer.

Why isn't there (and tell me if there is) a setting so that your iPod can remember that it is linked to computer A and assume that I don't want it to auto-update on any other computer unless i go into the iPod preferences and change it? It just seems like the behavior is pretty counter-intuitive.
__________________
Scribbls - a collaborative drawing community designed to combine drawings into outcomes—no talent required.
mnkeybsness is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2005, 10:43 AM   #2
Le Big Mac
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnkeybsness
I take my iPod between home and work and I have it auto-update at home. When I get to work I always have to set the preference to manually update so that I can listen to the music from the iPod, through the computer.

Why isn't there (and tell me if there is) a setting so that your iPod can remember that it is linked to computer A and assume that I don't want it to auto-update on any other computer unless i go into the iPod preferences and change it? It just seems like the behavior is pretty counter-intuitive.
Can't you check "don't show this message again" when you plug it in and it asks if you want to update your ipod to this computer?
Le Big Mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2005, 10:48 AM   #3
mrzeve
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
I think when you set your iPod to be automatically updated, it wont let you connected it to any other computer but the one that you set the auto update on.

I *think* is the keyword. Just because my manually update iPod can connect to any computer and take music (legally ofcourse =\) when other people with autoupdates havent been able to plug into my computer.
mrzeve is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2005, 10:58 AM   #4
mnkeybsness
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
mnkeybsness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Moneyapolis, Minnesota
Send a message via AIM to mnkeybsness
Maybe I should clear this up...

I want my home computer to use auto-updates.

My work computer needs to be set on "manual update" in order to play music from the iPod.

The iPod remembers the last setting saved whether it should auto or manual update, but it doesn't remember which computer set it, so it always tries to use the last setting from either computer, when I want it to remember the setting from the specific computer that it is on, which it does not.

Does this make more sense?
__________________
Scribbls - a collaborative drawing community designed to combine drawings into outcomes—no talent required.
mnkeybsness is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2005, 04:05 PM   #5
mrzeve
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnkeybsness
Maybe I should clear this up...

I want my home computer to use auto-updates.

My work computer needs to be set on "manual update" in order to play music from the iPod.

The iPod remembers the last setting saved whether it should auto or manual update, but it doesn't remember which computer set it, so it always tries to use the last setting from either computer, when I want it to remember the setting from the specific computer that it is on, which it does not.

Does this make more sense?
Right, but I dont think you can do this. Apple links iPods to specific iTunes on specific machines. Know what Im saying?

If you set it to manual update on your home computer, or even the one at work, I believe you can use it on both computers. Otherwise, you can not use it on more then 1 computer because when you connect it to the work computer, it will try autoupdating, will notice the contents are different and that your linked to a different library, and ask if you would like to delete and replace.

Im sure I made this more confusing then it should be haha.

But basically, you cant have autoupdate on if you want to use more then 1 computer and the iTunes application. As far as I know that is.
mrzeve is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto Update revenent OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Oct 28, 2013 11:29 AM
Auto update isaac3232 iOS 7 5 Aug 31, 2013 11:50 AM
Irritating auto update northernbaldy iOS 7 6 Jun 22, 2013 09:32 PM
Mac computer not auto-connecting to wireless router redhawk87 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Apr 11, 2013 09:01 PM
Why no auto update for apps? lancastor iOS 6 39 Apr 1, 2013 08:21 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC