Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 14, 2012, 11:18 AM   #1
insimbi
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
VMWare Fusion + Windows 7 + MBP Retina?

Has anyone been able to try this yet? I'll be getting my RMBP and am required to run Windows 7 in VMWare Fusion. Are there drivers that will work? Will the wifi, video, audio, etc all work correctly?

Just have a lot of questions. If anyone can be of help, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks!
__________________
iPhone 5s ∙ iPad Air ∙ iMac ∙ MacBook Air ∙ Apple TV
insimbi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2012, 11:37 AM   #2
daleski75
macrumors 65816
 
daleski75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Northampton, UK
All the drivers will be fine as they are vmware's own within the guest machine
__________________
rMBP 2.3 16gb 256Gb SSD
13.3" Macbook Air 4Gb 128Gb SSD
New iPad 16gb 3G, iPhone 4S 16Gb
Apple TV 2, Apple TV 3
daleski75 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2012, 01:32 PM   #3
edk99
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: FL
I'm not to worried about drivers. I'm more worried as to how it will scale and look on the retina screen.
edk99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2012, 02:18 PM   #4
insimbi
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by edk99 View Post
I'm not to worried about drivers. I'm more worried as to how it will scale and look on the retina screen.
Well, that too of course. We need someone who has a RMBP to let us know
__________________
iPhone 5s ∙ iPad Air ∙ iMac ∙ MacBook Air ∙ Apple TV
insimbi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2012, 02:59 PM   #5
BrianB803
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Windows 7 Display Drivers

I've installed VMWare Fusion on my MBPRD and my issue seems to be display driver related. The only thing that seems to work is the VMWare SVGA 3D driver which is ancient and Aero doesn't work. Does anyone know what display drivers should be used to achieve any of the virtual 3D card effects? Thanks.
BrianB803 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2012, 03:48 PM   #6
gwsat
macrumors 68000
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Tulsa
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianB803 View Post
I've installed VMWare Fusion on my MBPRD and my issue seems to be display driver related. The only thing that seems to work is the VMWare SVGA 3D driver which is ancient and Aero doesn't work. Does anyone know what display drivers should be used to achieve any of the virtual 3D card effects? Thanks.
I would hope that's a short term problem. I have used VMware Fusion for going on 5 years and the company has been very good about providing Windows drivers that work with current Mac technology. Thus, I can't believe they won't roll out drivers to accommodate the Retina display before long.
__________________
Macbook Pro Retina 13", 2.8 GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 512GB flash storage; Macbook Air3,2 13" 2.13Ghz 4GB RAM; Mac Mini 4,1, 8GB RAM; iPad Retina, 16GB; iPhone 5 32GB; Airport Extreme; 3 Airport Express units
gwsat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2012, 04:10 PM   #7
jimmyz80
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Apex, NC
I moved my Windows 7 VM over from my Air to my RMBP and had some really weird behavior. I'm running the RMBP in 1920x1200 mode, and this caused the VM when in full screen to set its resolution to 3840x2400. Basically everything ended up being SUPER tiny, and ultra blurry.

If I run the VM in windowed mode, or unity mode, everything works perfectly. If I run full screen mode and manually set the resolution to 1920x1200, it also works perfectly except sometimes it'll flip back to tiny-blurry vision...

I think there are some kinks to be worked out, but it's still very usable.
jimmyz80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 03:12 AM   #8
Ozy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Goodyear, AZ
The VM thinks its native resolution is the non-retina equivalent. Running in 1440x900 HiDPI mode, VMware and Parallels both show fuzzy 1440x900 images. I hope they update it soon!
Ozy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 03:53 AM   #9
daleski75
macrumors 65816
 
daleski75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Northampton, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozy View Post
The VM thinks its native resolution is the non-retina equivalent. Running in 1440x900 HiDPI mode, VMware and Parallels both show fuzzy 1440x900 images. I hope they update it soon!
I thought parallels got updated already to support retina?
__________________
rMBP 2.3 16gb 256Gb SSD
13.3" Macbook Air 4Gb 128Gb SSD
New iPad 16gb 3G, iPhone 4S 16Gb
Apple TV 2, Apple TV 3
daleski75 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 03:56 AM   #10
Ozy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by daleski75 View Post
I thought parallels got updated already to support retina?
Changelog shows Retina display support, but there are other bugs. It crashes on Ubuntu on startup, and is a complaint on the Parallels forum.

I'm also not exactly sure what to expect from VMware or Parallels when it comes to Retina. Are we hoping to be able to run the VMs at a much higher resolution independent from OSX's native resolution?
Ozy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 04:02 AM   #11
daleski75
macrumors 65816
 
daleski75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Northampton, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozy View Post
Changelog shows Retina display support, but there are other bugs. It crashes on Ubuntu on startup, and is a complaint on the Parallels forum.

I'm also not exactly sure what to expect from VMware or Parallels when it comes to Retina. Are we hoping to be able to run the VMs at a much higher resolution independent from OSX's native resolution?
Not sure it's difficult to tell really but hopefully they will fix all the bugs given time.
__________________
rMBP 2.3 16gb 256Gb SSD
13.3" Macbook Air 4Gb 128Gb SSD
New iPad 16gb 3G, iPhone 4S 16Gb
Apple TV 2, Apple TV 3
daleski75 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 04:41 AM   #12
MadTester
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
The current VM Fusion version wasn't made with retina display in mind, so there will more than llikely be driver updates for it or they will bring out version 5.

You could try a util called SwitchResX or have a look at this....

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...1&postcount=27

HTH
__________________
I know what I like and I like what I know...17" Aluminium MacBookPro MountainLion, 8Gb RAM, 320 GB HD, Mac Mini Lion Server 16gb RAM, 1TB HD, Work Unibody MacBookPro 15" 2011 OSX Lion, i7 quad
MadTester is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 05:59 AM   #13
Ozy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadTester View Post
The current VM Fusion version wasn't made with retina display in mind, so there will more than llikely be driver updates for it or they will bring out version 5.

You could try a util called SwitchResX or have a look at this....

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...1&postcount=27

HTH
I have used SwitchResX and its quite awesome. But honestly, in my aging years (36), I'm not finding the native 1440x900 that bad. My prior MBP was a 1680x1050 and I found myself zooming in a bit using ^(scroll up/down). I am hoping that Retina support in VMware and Parallels simply lets us set higher resolutions inside the VM than the OS X host resolution. I'd like a 1680x1050 w7 VM running on my OSX 1440x900 HiDPI desktop windowed.

It seems, as far as I can see, that the only thing Retina support added to Parallels is increased resolution on the application's images, text, and background assets.
Ozy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 06:35 AM   #14
covertsurfer
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
If you look on this thread on Page 5 there are a couple of screenshots with native resolution using Parallels so I'm sure VMWare will catch up soon.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...1387363&page=5
covertsurfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 06:56 AM   #15
MadTester
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozy View Post
I have used SwitchResX and its quite awesome. But honestly, in my aging years (36), I'm not finding the native 1440x900 that bad. My prior MBP was a 1680x1050 and I found myself zooming in a bit using ^(scroll up/down). I am hoping that Retina support in VMware and Parallels simply lets us set higher resolutions inside the VM than the OS X host resolution. I'd like a 1680x1050 w7 VM running on my OSX 1440x900 HiDPI desktop windowed.

It seems, as far as I can see, that the only thing Retina support added to Parallels is increased resolution on the application's images, text, and background assets.
Agreed... maybe i'm fortunate/unfortunate not to have the rMBP (even though it's rather tempting) as I have a 15" hi-res matt uMBP (October2011). It will serve me for the next however long it will last.....

BTW @covertsurfer.... did/do you read posts before you reply?
__________________
I know what I like and I like what I know...17" Aluminium MacBookPro MountainLion, 8Gb RAM, 320 GB HD, Mac Mini Lion Server 16gb RAM, 1TB HD, Work Unibody MacBookPro 15" 2011 OSX Lion, i7 quad
MadTester is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 08:18 AM   #16
amorph
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
How is your CPU-Usage of vmware while the vm is idle? On my RMBP vmware-vmx takes about 30% while the VM is at 0%
amorph is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 08:15 AM   #17
nejatoz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Latest VMWare Fusion + Windows 8 + MBPR

I moved my Windows 8 Release Preview from my Air to my new MBPR and, like others on the site, was greeted with the new ultra resolution and everything seemed way too small and the login screen did not render correctly.

I accidentally discovered a quirky work around with out having to moving out of full screen mode:

While the VM is running at or past the login screen, not the bios boot up do the following:

- Open the Virtual Machine > Settings menu.
- Select the Display option.
- Double click the disabled "Accelerated 3D Graphics" rocker switch
- Presto Fusion turns off the dialog and switches to scaled mode and everything sizes accordingly, slightly pixelated but much more usable IMO.

*Incidentally "Accelerated 3D Graphics" is selected ON in my Virtual Machine. I do not know if it works if it were OFF.

Hope this helps
nejatoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 08:21 AM   #18
Hidendra
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by amorph View Post
How is your CPU-Usage of vmware while the vm is idle? On my RMBP vmware-vmx takes about 30% while the VM is at 0%
in Parallels my win 7 guest is only using around 3-7% on idle with some short bursts to 15-20%
Hidendra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 08:59 AM   #19
Diveflo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by amorph View Post
How is your CPU-Usage of vmware while the vm is idle? On my RMBP vmware-vmx takes about 30% while the VM is at 0%
same thing for me
Diveflo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 12:26 PM   #20
insimbi
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Still waiting on my rMBP to arrive next week. Any changes to VMWare Fusion to support Retina yet?
__________________
iPhone 5s ∙ iPad Air ∙ iMac ∙ MacBook Air ∙ Apple TV
insimbi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 12:33 PM   #21
celitrd2
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I installed WMWare Fusion and Windows 7 on rMBP yesterday and it ran fine.
You just have to toggle the fullscreen control for the resolution to auto adjust to whatever your current mac setting. It's not a big deal. I'm perfectly happy with the setup. Highly recommended!
I'll be installing Visual Studio and SQL server next.

Overall, I'm very satisfied with my purchase.
celitrd2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 12:38 PM   #22
insimbi
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by celitrd2 View Post
I installed WMWare Fusion and Windows 7 on rMBP yesterday and it ran fine.
You just have to toggle the fullscreen control for the resolution to auto adjust to whatever your current mac setting. It's not a big deal. I'm perfectly happy with the setup. Highly recommended!
I'll be installing Visual Studio and SQL server next.

Overall, I'm very satisfied with my purchase.
Very good to hear. I already have Fusion 4 and didn't want to purchase Parallels. Thanks for your comment and now I feel better about it
__________________
iPhone 5s ∙ iPad Air ∙ iMac ∙ MacBook Air ∙ Apple TV
insimbi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2014, 08:58 PM   #23
umbilical
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
I can use retina, because is not possible downgrade the resolution... with retina is too small!

how can use retina with a decent resolution?
umbilical is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Parallel Desktop or Fusion for Windows 8.1 on Retina MBP 13 laomao Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 6 Feb 28, 2014 10:13 PM
general Retina question OSX - Windows (VMware Fusion) kvdv MacBook Pro 8 Aug 20, 2013 02:07 PM
MBP 15' Retina with 16gb Ram is freezing when using VMWare Fusion??? cis4life Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Jun 17, 2013 02:20 AM
Please help: vmware fusion 5 + retina display cntwtfrmynwmbp Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Mar 21, 2013 09:10 AM
VMWare Fusion w/Retina rdowty MacBook Pro 2 Jun 14, 2012 08:31 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC