Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 18, 2012, 05:52 AM   #76
rapids41
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Hi,

just tried 2 hours to get my Eizo 30" SX3031W to work with the Retina MBP and the Apple DisplayPort to DualLink DVI Adapter.

The Problem is at every resolution highter than SingleLink the screen looks like I have a broken cable! Tried some settings with SwitchResX, but nothing works.

Any suggestions guys?

EDIT: it was a bad cable now it works!

Last edited by rapids41; Aug 18, 2012 at 06:47 PM.
rapids41 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 09:17 AM   #77
gentlefury
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verxion View Post
I've got a DELL 3007WFPHC monitor that is 2560x1600 resolution. Interestingly, plugged into the Retina MacBook Pro through a dual link DVI adapter, the maximum resolution available is 1600x1000 (through "Scaled"). Bizarely, if I choose "Best for display", it goes to 1280x800 (1/4 resolution), but DOESN'T use the extra pixels, so it looks horribly blocky.

Anyone have any links to information about what is really going on here? I cannot access the full native resolution of the external monitor (as I could on my MacBook Air using the SAME dual link DVI connection to this SAME monitor), even if I set the MacBook Pro to Scaled->More Space.

Not sure what to do on this.

-Verxion
2560x1600 requires a dual link DVI adapter or display to mini display (my recomendation since its only $10). Otherwise you only get half the vert/horiz data = 1280x800.
gentlefury is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2012, 11:00 AM   #78
ifop
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gentlefury View Post
2560x1600 requires a dual link DVI adapter or display to mini display (my recomendation since its only $10). Otherwise you only get half the vert/horiz data = 1280x800.
Apparently Verxion is already using a dual-link DVI adapter. As previously mentioned, simply hold down option while clicking the "Scaled" option, and the 2560x1600 resolution options will show up.
ifop is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2012, 02:49 AM   #79
terraphantm
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by theSeb View Post
Old HDMI supports 1920x1200 and version 1.3 (or 1.4 I can't remember) supports up to 4K. The monitor would need the right version of HDMI though.
OSX unfortunately limits the HDMI port to 165MHz - essentially the equivalent of SL DVI. I had a 27" 2560x1440 that can accept that resolution over HDMI. In windows it worked perfectly. If I booted into OSX, it refused to allow 2560. Even with switchresx, I had to make a custom resolution at 40Hz for it to work.

Shame, because it would be nice to drive two 2560 displays while keeping a thunderbolt port free
terraphantm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2012, 02:06 PM   #80
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by terraphantm View Post
OSX unfortunately limits the HDMI port to 165MHz - essentially the equivalent of SL DVI. I had a 27" 2560x1440 that can accept that resolution over HDMI. In windows it worked perfectly. If I booted into OSX, it refused to allow 2560. Even with switchresx, I had to make a custom resolution at 40Hz for it to work.

Shame, because it would be nice to drive two 2560 displays while keeping a thunderbolt port free
Really? Thanks for that info.
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 09:27 AM   #81
medieval1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado Springs
2 30" monitors

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoboTeddy View Post
My RMBP drove two dell 3011 30" screens at 2560x1600 at work today via displayport with no problem.

At home I hooked up the laptop to a 30" 3007WFP via apple's usb-powered displayport to DVI adaptor, and it worked fine at 2560x1600, until I left and came back to find the laptop asleep and/or crashed. I rebooted it, and then found myself having the same problem as the OP.

I resorted to SwitchResX, which managed to successfully set the 3007WFP back to 2560x1600.
RoboTeddy, how did you actually cable up two 30" displays as I'm interested in doing the same? Thanx.
__________________

iPhone 4, 32GB, VZW
13" Macbook Pro, 500GB Hybrid HD, 8GB RAM
iPad 32GB 3G iPod Touch 3rd Gen iPod Video 60GB
medieval1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 10:53 AM   #82
Textureboy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Found this post on an apple thread.

Hope this helps for anyone who is still experiencing problems.

"Update from Applecare: this problem made its way to engineering and they pointed out a 'hidden' way to fix this with no special 3rd party software:

When you bring up the resolutions for a given display, as its set to 'best for display' hold down the 'option' key while clicking 'scaled'. The scaled menu should now show all the resolutions supported by the monitor. On my Dell it shows 2560x1600 and everything works fine when I select that."
__________________
Twitter
iPhone 5 32GB
rMBP - 2.6/16/512
Nikon D7000/D800 - 35mm, 17-55mm, 105mm,24-70mm
Textureboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 12:52 PM   #83
Woodcrest64
macrumors 6502a
 
Woodcrest64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
I have my Retina Macbook pro hooked up to two Samsung 24" 1920x1080 monitors.

The only issues I have are:

1.) If the computer wakes from sleeping the dual displays don't come back to life at times. Need to be unplugged and plugged back in.

2.) If I shut the computer off and restart from cold, the computer hangs at the white screen with the grey Apple logo. I need to disconnect my external displays anytime I reboot my machine.
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina | iPad 1 | S2 Skyrocket | HTC One M7 | iPhone 3G | iPhone 3Gs | iPhone 5 | Apple TV 3rd Gen | Nexus 7 32GB 2nd Gen
Woodcrest64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 07:04 PM   #84
Saladinos
macrumors 68000
 
Saladinos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgiguere1 View Post
I have the same monitor in 24" version (1920x1200) which uses a single DVI connection. I will be able to report if I can use it at full resolution as soon as I receive my RMBP. This may be a problem with the Dual Link DVI adapter if all single-DVI monitors are fine.

----------



I think you aren't supposed to see those options at all, but just the regular screen with a list of resolutions.
Hey, I've got a 2407WFP-HC, too!

Runs fine at 1920x1200 on... ahem... VGA.
Saladinos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2013, 05:53 PM   #85
jdiamond
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
This other thread might help you...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verxion View Post
I've got a DELL 3007WFPHC monitor that is 2560x1600 resolution. Interestingly, plugged into the Retina MacBook Pro through a dual link DVI adapter, the maximum resolution available is 1600x1000 (through "Scaled"). Bizarely, if I choose "Best for display", it goes to 1280x800 (1/4 resolution), but DOESN'T use the extra pixels, so it looks horribly blocky.

Anyone have any links to information about what is really going on here? I cannot access the full native resolution of the external monitor (as I could on my MacBook Air using the SAME dual link DVI connection to this SAME monitor), even if I set the MacBook Pro to Scaled->More Space.

Not sure what to do on this.

-Verxion
Looks like there's some secret key strokes you need to do:

See this discussion and see if it works for you...
https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
jdiamond is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: How to Run 1920X1200 HiDPI on a 13" Macbook Pro Retina? aeroxy MacBook Pro 2 May 25, 2014 09:00 AM
MacBook Retina 13" two external monitors both 2560x1600, possible? rousya MacBook Pro 7 Apr 25, 2014 05:15 PM
MacBook Pro Retina 13 => 2 external monitors shearer3000 MacBook Pro 11 Oct 22, 2013 11:19 PM
Retina MacBook decision & external monitors andy9l Buying Tips and Advice 26 Feb 16, 2013 01:22 PM
Are the new Macbook Pro Retina's safe around speaker monitors that.... entraik MacBook Pro 4 Aug 14, 2012 04:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC