Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

GREEN4U

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 24, 2010
I've been using my PB G4 15" for the past seven years. I'm going to be a grad student this fall and have been holding out for a great new machine with better form factor. I was a little disappointed with the WWDC new MacBook pro retina just because it's so darn expensive!! I paid 1499 in 2005 for my Powerbook; I can't see myself spending more than that in 2012.

Now the Air is starting to look really good to me. But I'm hesitant because I'm used to my "pro" level laptop; part of the reason I think it's lasted me so long is because it was well-built at the time. How long are these Airs lasting? Do I have a legit concern? BTW I've ruled out the legacy MBP completely. Too heavy, too much of the same old.

What's your advice?

currahee2100

macrumors regular
Feb 9, 2009
What "pro" features of the laptop did you use? If your laptop lasted you for 7 years, I don't see why not the Macbook Air can handle everything you need plus more.

My sister's Macbook Core Duo gen bought in 2006 still runs to this day, so I'm sure the current macbooks are just as good.

GREEN4U

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 24, 2010
What "pro" features of the laptop did you use? If your laptop lasted you for 7 years, I don't see why not the Macbook Air can handle everything you need plus more.

My sister's Macbook Core Duo gen bought in 2006 still runs to this day, so I'm sure the current macbooks are just as good.

Well I WAS using photoshop before my copy got deleted when I upgraded to Leopard, LOL. Truthfully though I don't use any pro features...I just think that buying more than I needed has served me well.