Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 18, 2012, 04:33 PM   #1
Klae
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
MacBook Air for software development?

Hey I was wondering if a 2012 maxed out 13 inch MacBook air would be ideal for software development? Or would I be better off getting a 2012 15 inch MacBook pro? Or even the retina MacBook? Or is the 15 inch retina just overkill. I'm a college student studying software development and want to gets what's best. Thanks!
Klae is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 05:17 PM   #2
bit density
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klae View Post
Hey I was wondering if a 2012 maxed out 13 inch MacBook air would be ideal for software development? Or would I be better off getting a 2012 15 inch MacBook pro? Or even the retina MacBook? Or is the 15 inch retina just overkill. I'm a college student studying software development and want to gets what's best. Thanks!

You will go insane trying to develop on a 13 inch air. There is simply not enough screen real estate. However, the rMBP will be very good for this, and will get better I am guessing based on what I have seen.

There are several ways a program can be written for the retina. One way is to have tools and a full res work area. This will work very well in many programming environments. (I don't think Xcode does this yet, but will be really surprised if it doesn't).
__________________
-- Bit Density --
bit density is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 05:24 PM   #3
ZBoater
macrumors 603
 
ZBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunny Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by bit density View Post
You will go insane trying to develop on a 13 inch air. There is simply not enough screen real estate. ...
That's why they invented monitors. Besides, the 1440x900 Air screen is not bad to work in at all.
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air | MacBook Air | Thunderbolt Display | Apple TV | Time Capsule
ZBoater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 05:24 PM   #4
firewood
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Quote:
Originally Posted by bit density View Post
You will go insane trying to develop on a 13 inch air. There is simply not enough screen real estate.
Perhaps I'm not sane then ... because I've developed several iOS apps on my MBA11 with no external monitor. But a large display does make it easier and more ergonometric.
__________________
Apple II+, Mac 128k->512ke, Duo 210, MacBook Air 11, iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina
firewood is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 05:24 PM   #5
jameswdmb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
One option you didn't mention is to get a regular mac pro or Air and combine it with a Thunderbolt display. When you upgrade in a few years to a new machine, you will still have the large display and docking station, and may be able to spend less on your next machine knowing you only need processing power to go with your very capable display. Just a different angle to consider......
__________________
iPhone 4s ; AppleTV 3rd Gen ; Time Capsule ;
27" Thunderbolt Display ; 2012 13" Macbook Air
jameswdmb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 05:26 PM   #6
jameswdmb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
My setup @ Home

A picture :
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Desk4.JPG
Views:	988
Size:	2.09 MB
ID:	344005   Click image for larger version

Name:	Desk2.JPG
Views:	710
Size:	1.93 MB
ID:	344006  
__________________
iPhone 4s ; AppleTV 3rd Gen ; Time Capsule ;
27" Thunderbolt Display ; 2012 13" Macbook Air
jameswdmb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 05:29 PM   #7
thejadedmonkey
macrumors 604
 
thejadedmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pa
Send a message via AIM to thejadedmonkey
Quote:
Originally Posted by bit density View Post
You will go insane trying to develop on a 13 inch air. There is simply not enough screen real estate. However, the rMBP will be very good for this, and will get better I am guessing based on what I have seen.
As a CS student who uses a laptop with a lower-resolution screen than the 13" Macbook Air, I can assure you that you're wrong. For the first few years of school, your programs aren't much more advanced than System.out.println("Hello World");

The only time I have trouble with my 1366x768 screen is when I'm trying to develop for tablets, as having an emulator open pretty much takes up the whole screen - but you'll have that issue no matter what screen size you use, so just be aware that developing for an iPad will require you have a 2nd monitor unless you wanna have fun switching back and forth all of the time.

Of course, my roommate who has an internship was given a laptop with a 1080p screen. Seriously, that's an extra 180 vertical pixels.

Of course, one of my professors uses a macbook air connected to an apple display in his office as his main computer.

In all honesty, just make sure that the air you get has a 256GB SSD, minimum. If it's your main computer you'll run out of space faster than you would expect. Especially if you put a game or two on it.
__________________
MacBook 17" MacBook Pro iPod Nano Apple TV
PS4 Custom Windows 8.1 Desktop WP8.1
"Good judgment comes from experience,
experience comes from bad judgment."
- Mulla Nasrudin
thejadedmonkey is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 05:30 PM   #8
ZBoater
macrumors 603
 
ZBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunny Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by jameswdmb View Post
A picture :
Really? With all that technology and you STILL cross out days on a wall calendar?

Classic.
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air | MacBook Air | Thunderbolt Display | Apple TV | Time Capsule
ZBoater is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 05:30 PM   #9
mikeytrend
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minnesota/Wisconsin
I'm a senior and honestly, I'm tired of my 15" MBP. I'm planning on buying an 11" MBA and an iMac. It's an expensive solution, but you could also get away with an MBA and External Monitor.

1440x900 is what my 15" has and I got by just fine developing on it (You get really good at utilizing Spaces). With whatever you get, I wouldn't get less than 8GB of RAM (You'll probably use VMs in college) and I would consider the processor bump.

The only time I ran into screen issues is Xcode. Such a clunky UI.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 5,3 | 11" MacBook Air 5,1 | 32GB new iPad | 32GB iPhone 4S
mikeytrend is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 05:34 PM   #10
Dushyanth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I am a Ruby on Rails and Android developer. I went to the apple store last week and installed the Eclipse IDE, Android SDK tools and the RubyMine Ide on the MBA 13" base config and played for about 1 hour.

I had the eclipse ide, ruby mine ide and the android emulator loaded all at the same time and I did not see any performance hit when running some Android samples. Everything ran fine. Only issue I noticed is that when I have all those apps loaded there was only 44 MB of free memory. So I think 8GB RAM is better if you intend to software development (especially Java development)

Like others mentioned it came down to 13" vs 15" for me. But since I had an external monitor both at my home and office, I chose the base 13" MBA with 8GB RAM. I will receive it between Jun 21 and Jun 25.
Dushyanth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 05:36 PM   #11
Stingray454
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
The 11" is awesome for school, in the sense it's very portable. Takes no space / weight at all, and works great for taking notes, doing minor assignments and so on.

That said, if it's your ONLY computer you will probably need a separate monitor as it's not great to sit with an 11" for long periods. I frequently work (= programming) while on the road with me 11" Air, and while it works ok, it's just so much better when connected to a bigger screen. With a large monitor attached at home it doesn't feel much different than my 27" iMac.

I'd recommend the 11" IF you have a separate monitor at home to do homework / assignments / study. If you're using the computer as-is with the built in screen, go for a 13" for the larger screen and resolution.
Stingray454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 05:44 PM   #12
Mac_Max
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
I think it depends on what kind of software you're working on. I picked up a maxed out 11" for work/play. I most work these days with Perl & iOS. For the former, the small size isn't a huge deal. For iOS, I have an external monitor and might even pick up one of those USB external monitors for Coffee Shop Driven Development .
Mac_Max is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 05:52 PM   #13
jameswdmb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZBoater View Post
Really? With all that technology and you STILL cross out days on a wall calendar?

Classic.
Dont ask what the countdown was for....you dont want to know, lol
__________________
iPhone 4s ; AppleTV 3rd Gen ; Time Capsule ;
27" Thunderbolt Display ; 2012 13" Macbook Air
jameswdmb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 06:56 PM   #14
intervenient
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
This topic has been really enlightening for me (just switched into CS)...but still can't choose between the 13 Air or the RPro

D:
intervenient is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 07:02 PM   #15
Sounds Good
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZBoater View Post
Really? With all that technology and you STILL cross out days on a wall calendar?
Love it !
Sounds Good is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 07:05 PM   #16
rookpsu
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klae View Post
Hey I was wondering if a 2012 maxed out 13 inch MacBook air would be ideal for software development? Or would I be better off getting a 2012 15 inch MacBook pro? Or even the retina MacBook? Or is the 15 inch retina just overkill. I'm a college student studying software development and want to gets what's best. Thanks!
On my 11'' MBA, I've developed tons of apps in Eclipse and .NET running in a VM. I've also worked extensively in XCode, Dreamweaver, Photoshop, Logic Pro, Lightroom... etc without an external monitor.

Having an external monitor to plug into when home is a fantastic - and highly recommended - option, no doubt providing a productivity boost, but I've had no problems writing a LOT of code on my little 11'' powerhouse without one.
rookpsu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 07:28 PM   #17
jameswdmb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jameswdmb View Post
A picture :
The Monitor on the far left and the one hanging on the wall (on top) are for my Windows box..... I am a Microsoft Engineer by day so I can afford my Apple toys by night, lol
__________________
iPhone 4s ; AppleTV 3rd Gen ; Time Capsule ;
27" Thunderbolt Display ; 2012 13" Macbook Air
jameswdmb is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 07:45 PM   #18
Beau10
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Downtown San Diego
Fellow 11" Air dev here (primarily Rails).

Keep in mind if you have an iPad you can use it as a second monitor with Air Display.
__________________
11" MBA 2k12 | New iPad | iPhone 4
Beau10 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 07:51 PM   #19
jjfcpa
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klae View Post
Hey I was wondering if a 2012 maxed out 13 inch MacBook air would be ideal for software development? Or would I be better off getting a 2012 15 inch MacBook pro? Or even the retina MacBook? Or is the 15 inch retina just overkill. I'm a college student studying software development and want to gets what's best. Thanks!
I have been developing Windows and Mac apps on a Macbook Air for 3 years now. During the day, I'm tethered to an Apple cinema display, but for at least 2 or 3 hours a day, I use the MBA all by itself.

Let's not forget that the resolution of the MBA is the same as the MBP unless you get the hi-res option... not including the recently released rMBP.

My biggest problem has been the 4 gigs of RAM, but the 2012 edition can be maxed out at 8 gigs.

I am now using a 2012 MBA that I picked up last week at the Apple store. For me, I just love the size and weight and more than willing to sacrifice the small difference in speed and CPU.
jjfcpa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 10:30 PM   #20
Klae
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
So what im gettin is its good to have an external monitor ex: apple cinema display so i could do macbook air 13inch with 256gb ssd and cinema display? Or get the 15inch retina macbook pro? Thats what I think im between. Keep in mind I also have the baseline mac mini with 8gb of ram and an ssd.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jameswdmb View Post
A picture :
Nice setup by the way! Is it an 11inch?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beau10 View Post
Fellow 11" Air dev here (primarily Rails).

Keep in mind if you have an iPad you can use it as a second monitor with Air Display.
I didnt know that! Thatscawesome!

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by intervenient View Post
This topic has been really enlightening for me (just switched into CS)...but still can't choose between the 13 Air or the RPro

D:
Im with you its a tough decision haha
__________________
I own: Mac Mini, White IPhone 4s
Klae is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 10:59 PM   #21
Klae
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jameswdmb View Post
The Monitor on the far left and the one hanging on the wall (on top) are for my Windows box..... I am a Microsoft Engineer by day so I can afford my Apple toys by night, lol
So what type of degree did you get?
__________________
I own: Mac Mini, White IPhone 4s
Klae is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 10:59 PM   #22
zMacintoshz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NY, FL
Klae i intend to do the same at college and also have purchased a MBA. i realized that a MBA wouldn't be the best thing for thing for college, but i did realize that it would be great to use during class and in the library. taking notes and going to class with a 2 lbs computer will be great. but i also will be purchasing an iMac for heavier use, i talked to a professor at the university that i will be attending and he said that you will be most likely working with multiple OS's, and a 128ssd wouldn't get the job done. an iMac would have the hours power and storage you will need. that the set up I'm going with.( 13"MBA 2012/i5/8gb RAM/128GB SSD + 27" iMac/24gb RAM/256GB SSD+1TB HDD)

cheers
__________________
2012 MBA 13"/1.8 i5/8gb Ram/128ssd
2011 iMac 27"/2.7 4core i5/24gbRam/ 256+1TB
2011 Mac Mini 2.3 i5/8gb Ram/500gb HDD
iPhone, iPad, Time Capsule
zMacintoshz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 11:40 PM   #23
Klae
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by zMacintoshz View Post
Klae i intend to do the same at college and also have purchased a MBA. i realized that a MBA wouldn't be the best thing for thing for college, but i did realize that it would be great to use during class and in the library. taking notes and going to class with a 2 lbs computer will be great. but i also will be purchasing an iMac for heavier use, i talked to a professor at the university that i will be attending and he said that you will be most likely working with multiple OS's, and a 128ssd wouldn't get the job done. an iMac would have the hours power and storage you will need. that the set up I'm going with.( 13"MBA 2012/i5/8gb RAM/128GB SSD + 27" iMac/24gb RAM/256GB SSD+1TB HDD)

cheers
Alright thanks do you think that i could use my mba for all of the stuff you said but hse my upgraded mac mini with 8gb of ram and 256gb ssd for all of the heavy lifting? I also plan to buy an ipad at some point. But im goimg to put parallels on my mini so i can run multiple os's. Am i crazy?
__________________
I own: Mac Mini, White IPhone 4s
Klae is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 11:52 PM   #24
dkersten
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klae View Post
Alright thanks do you think that i could use my mba for all of the stuff you said but hse my upgraded mac mini with 8gb of ram and 256gb ssd for all of the heavy lifting? I also plan to buy an ipad at some point. But im goimg to put parallels on my mini so i can run multiple os's. Am i crazy?
Save yourself the headache. Don't buy a iPad if your going to have an Air and a Mini. Your Mini will be more than suitable, if you run out of space install another HDD/SSD or get an external. The iPad will be pretty useless for coding, so unless you have a specific need for the iPad I don't know about, skip it and use the money to update your Air or Mini.
dkersten is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2012, 12:03 AM   #25
Klae
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkersten View Post
Save yourself the headache. Don't buy a iPad if your going to have an Air and a Mini. Your Mini will be more than suitable, if you run out of space install another HDD/SSD or get an external. The iPad will be pretty useless for coding, so unless you have a specific need for the iPad I don't know about, skip it and use the money to update your Air or Mini.
Ok yeah your right it would be quite pointless, the air would be my portable machine. I just want something I can take notes on but is still powerful enough to do cs work on. I want to get the 13inch MBA with 8gb of ram and the 256gb ssd. I have the external cd/dvd drive for my mini so disks won't be a problem. Would I be best to use the money saved on the MBA to get a cinema display or are there better monitors out there for cheaper?
__________________
I own: Mac Mini, White IPhone 4s
Klae is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
13" MacBook Air i7/8GB for software development randroide MacBook Air 25 Nov 15, 2013 05:32 AM
Macbook Air for Xcode Development? jmatthew3 Buying Tips and Advice 1 Jan 8, 2013 04:03 PM
Macbook Air for 3D Game Development Falcon80 MacBook Air 9 Nov 1, 2012 09:53 AM
Who uses their Macbook Air for web development? tzhu07 MacBook Air 23 Aug 3, 2012 03:32 AM
Software Development on an Air hvgotcodes MacBook Pro 5 Jun 25, 2012 11:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC