Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 21, 2012, 05:05 AM   #1
oxfordguy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oxford, England
Question Crusader Kings II on 2012 Macbook Air?

Does anyone know if Paradox's Crusader Kings II (http://www.paradoxplaza.com/games/crusader-kings-ii) will play reasonably well on the new 2012 Macbook Air (with Intel HD Graphics 4000)? It still has Intel integrated graphics obviously, but I understand they're meant to be better than the HD Graphics 3000 on the 2011 model (which aren't explicitly supported by CKII on the Mac, though the earlier Macbook Air NVIDIA GeForce 320 is)

I currently have an early-2008 15" Macbook Pro, but would like to move to something smaller (and don't see the point in the Retina 13" Macbook Pro model due soon, as it won't have dedicated graphics). The only sort of games I really play are strategy games like For the Glory, Europa Universalis III and Crusader Kings (have not bought CKII yet), rather than 3D shooters etc., but obviously games like CKII, EUIII do make use of 3D graphics - is the Intel HD Graphics 4000 enough to run these?

Last edited by oxfordguy; Jun 21, 2012 at 05:24 AM. Reason: corrected typo
oxfordguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 09:34 AM   #2
Michael Goff
macrumors 68030
 
Michael Goff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxfordguy View Post
Does anyone know if Paradox's Crusader Kings II (http://www.paradoxplaza.com/games/crusader-kings-ii) will play reasonably well on the new 2012 Macbook Air (with Intel HD Graphics 4000)? It still has Intel integrated graphics obviously, but I understand they're meant to be better than the HD Graphics 3000 on the 2011 model (which aren't explicitly supported by CKII on the Mac, though the earlier Macbook Air NVIDIA GeForce 320 is)

I currently have an early-2008 15" Macbook Pro, but would like to move to something smaller (and don't see the point in the Retina 13" Macbook Pro model due soon, as it won't have dedicated graphics). The only sort of games I really play are strategy games like For the Glory, Europa Universalis III and Crusader Kings (have not bought CKII yet), rather than 3D shooters etc., but obviously games like CKII, EUIII do make use of 3D graphics - is the Intel HD Graphics 4000 enough to run these?
In theory, it is strong enough for CK2.

It will be if you plan on throwing Windows on it through bootcamp.

Until Apple releases drivers that increase the OpenGL support, though, it won't exactly work well on OS X with integrated graphics.
Michael Goff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 10:11 AM   #3
oxfordguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oxford, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Goff View Post
In theory, it is strong enough for CK2.

It will be if you plan on throwing Windows on it through bootcamp.

Until Apple releases drivers that increase the OpenGL support, though, it won't exactly work well on OS X with integrated graphics.
Thanks, in fact I bought it on Steam yesterday, as they had a 75% off sale on it (ends in about 13 hours...) It does indeed work absolutely fine on Windows via Bootcamp, I tried the Mac version (you get both with Steam) just to see what it was like on, but its currently completely un-playable - not so much lag, as you could make a cup of tea whilst waiting for the screen to update...

Do other game ports not use OpenGL? The Mac OS X port of Dragon Age Origins (which is pretty demanding!) runs absolutely fine on my Macbook Air with integrated Intel 4000 HD graphics
__________________
13" Macbook Air (mid-2012), 2.0Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD (Samsung Display/SSD); 15" Macbook Pro (early-2008), 2.53Ghz C2D, 6GB RAM, 256GB Crucial M4 SSD; 32Gb iPhone 5 White; 16GB iPhone 4 Black
oxfordguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 11:32 AM   #4
Michael Goff
macrumors 68030
 
Michael Goff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxfordguy View Post
Thanks, in fact I bought it on Steam yesterday, as they had a 75% off sale on it (ends in about 13 hours...) It does indeed work absolutely fine on Windows via Bootcamp, I tried the Mac version (you get both with Steam) just to see what it was like on, but its currently completely un-playable - not so much lag, as you could make a cup of tea whilst waiting for the screen to update...

Do other game ports not use OpenGL? The Mac OS X port of Dragon Age Origins (which is pretty demanding!) runs absolutely fine on my Macbook Air with integrated Intel 4000 HD graphics
They all use it, but I'm under the impression that Paradox is using a version of OpenGL for CK2 that we don't have the support for (yet). I know that the Intel HD 4000 can, I looked up that their recent beta drivers have support for OpenGL 4.0, but we haven't gotten it yet.

Eventually, maybe.
Michael Goff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 01:00 PM   #5
oxfordguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oxford, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Goff View Post
They all use it, but I'm under the impression that Paradox is using a version of OpenGL for CK2 that we don't have the support for (yet). I know that the Intel HD 4000 can, I looked up that their recent beta drivers have support for OpenGL 4.0, but we haven't gotten it yet.

Eventually, maybe.
Fingers crossed...
__________________
13" Macbook Air (mid-2012), 2.0Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD (Samsung Display/SSD); 15" Macbook Pro (early-2008), 2.53Ghz C2D, 6GB RAM, 256GB Crucial M4 SSD; 32Gb iPhone 5 White; 16GB iPhone 4 Black
oxfordguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2012, 07:56 PM   #6
sss4r
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Question Coming in Mountain Lion?

I have heard from a few sources that the necessary drivers and frameworks will ship with Mountain Lion later this month. Can anyone substantiate these reports/rumors?
sss4r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2012, 10:53 AM   #7
amiantos
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sss4r View Post
I have heard from a few sources that the necessary drivers and frameworks will ship with Mountain Lion later this month. Can anyone substantiate these reports/rumors?
I'm not sure if this is applicable but I am playing it on a 2010 Mac mini with Mountain Lion GM on it and it seems to be working almost fine... except for the fact that it causes my Mac mini to BSOD (or WSOD, I guess) or just reboot itself at least once every two hours. So, that sucks, but I think it just isn't meant to run on my Mac mini at 1080p, but I force it to anyway.

I think there's for Geforce 330M or something in it, though, and not integrated graphics. Not sure.
amiantos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2012, 02:50 PM   #8
oxfordguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oxford, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiantos View Post
I'm not sure if this is applicable but I am playing it on a 2010 Mac mini with Mountain Lion GM on it and it seems to be working almost fine... except for the fact that it causes my Mac mini to BSOD (or WSOD, I guess) or just reboot itself at least once every two hours. So, that sucks, but I think it just isn't meant to run on my Mac mini at 1080p, but I force it to anyway.

I think there's for Geforce 330M or something in it, though, and not integrated graphics. Not sure.
I think its on Intel integrated graphics that have the issue. Its not that the Intel hardware isn't capable - CKII runs smoothly under Bootcamp/Windows on my Intel 4000 HD mid-2012 MBA - I think its some driver compatibility issue under Mac OS X (or a badly written Mac port...)
__________________
13" Macbook Air (mid-2012), 2.0Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD (Samsung Display/SSD); 15" Macbook Pro (early-2008), 2.53Ghz C2D, 6GB RAM, 256GB Crucial M4 SSD; 32Gb iPhone 5 White; 16GB iPhone 4 Black
oxfordguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2012, 05:07 PM   #9
Whywhat
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I just bought it figuring it'd work on the MacAir... #fail.

I'm hoping this'll be resolved sooner than later through Mountain Lion. I'm new to the Mac World and just want to be able to have a game other than Football Manager to play on here.
Whywhat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 07:49 PM   #10
Nova Sensei
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Just curious - Did ML resolve any of these issues?
Nova Sensei is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC