Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 21, 2012, 10:17 AM   #1
Philflow
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2008
Anyone using those ~$350 27" 2560x1440 S-IPS screens with their Macbook Air?

I've seen a lot of positive reports about Korean 27" S-IPS monitors on Ebay. They use similar panels as the Apple Thunderbolt screen.

The cheapest versions only have dual link DVI. I guess this won't work with the MBA unless you buy an active dual link DVI converter.

There is a version with HDMI input. Would this work with MBA mDP to HDMI? 2560x1440
http://www.ebay.com/itm/QH270-IPSMS-...-/230766957925

Last edited by Philflow; Jun 21, 2012 at 10:22 AM.
Philflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 10:26 AM   #2
xchaotic
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
The problem with those panels is that if you get bad pixels, just to ship back is so costly that it won't make that much sense to be honest...
I don't do that much design work, so I'm using 27" TN panel that I got awfully cheap...
xchaotic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 10:30 AM   #3
Philflow
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2008
They sell models with perfect pixels too. They're feedback is positive so I'm willing to take a risk.
Philflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 11:00 AM   #4
rookpsu
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Philadelphia
I have one en route. Should arrive by Monday. I'll report back, but yes, feedback has been very positive.

Here's an all encompassing thread detailing the experience of MANY who've went the Korean route.

http://www.overclock.net/t/1215866/r...leap-q270/4120

http://www.anandtech.com/show/5885/t...d-sips-display

Don't forget to factor in the pricey $65 Dual-Link DVI adapter though.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
rookpsu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 11:53 AM   #5
Bob Coxner
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
If you have a Microcenter nearby they're selling the Korean 27"s at a reasonable markup. That way you have an easy return in case of any problem.

Here's one: http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0384780
__________________
MBA i5 13/4/128, iPad 1, iPad 3, iPod Touch 5g
Bob Coxner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 11:58 AM   #6
Philflow
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rookpsu View Post
Don't forget to factor in the pricey $65 Dual-Link DVI adapter though.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
I think the version with HDMI input should work without the pricey adapter.

In Europe these dual link adapters costs about ~100 eur. So buying the monitor with HDMI should be cheaper.
Philflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 11:59 AM   #7
bmw3wags
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philflow View Post
I think the version with HDMI input should work without the pricey adapter.

In Europe these dual link adapters costs about ~100 eur. So buying the monitor with HDMI should be cheaper.
You would be limited to only 1920x1200 through HDMI though.
bmw3wags is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 12:40 PM   #8
Philflow
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw3wags View Post
You would be limited to only 1920x1200 through HDMI though.
Really? HDMI 1.3 supports 25601600
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI
Philflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 01:03 PM   #9
benjyyy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philflow View Post
Really? HDMI 1.3 supports 25601600
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI
Yeah but do Apple have the rights to implement it?
benjyyy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 01:39 PM   #10
Philflow
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by benjyyy View Post
Yeah but do Apple have the rights to implement it?
I don't know.

Some would have to have experience with it to tell if it works.
Philflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 01:49 PM   #11
bmw3wags
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philflow View Post
Really? HDMI 1.3 supports 25601600
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI
Yes but the way apple has HDMI implement currently there isn't anyway to get anything higher then 1920x1200. Also since we are talking about Macbook Air's you would have to use a mini displayport to HDMI adapter which are limited to that resolution, are two similar but different technologies. There are a lot of factors as to why it is limited.

Besides we are just talking about these monitors with the Macbook Air specifically which will be limited to 1920x1200. Just look at the Mac Mini and the new rMBP the HDMI ports on them are also limited to that resolution. If they are then I can bet that the MBA would be to.
bmw3wags is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 03:44 PM   #12
Philflow
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw3wags View Post
a mini displayport to HDMI adapter which are limited to that resolution.
Interesting. How do you know this?
Philflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 08:34 PM   #13
bmw3wags
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philflow View Post
Interesting. How do you know this?
Experience and some research. If you can get HDMI to work with 1440p let me know.
bmw3wags is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 02:30 AM   #14
Philflow
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw3wags View Post
Experience and some research. If you can get HDMI to work with 1440p let me know.
Do you mean you personally tried a Macbook Air 2011 (or later) with a 2560x1440 monitor through mDP to HDMI?
Philflow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 11:47 PM   #15
rookpsu
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Not the ringing endorsement I had hoped to give

Ok. Well... Having had a 2011 27'' iMac and being somewhat color conscious as an amateur photographer I can say that with the exception of the bezel, the PQ is pretty damn solid. The colors and rich and images sharp

BUT...

I rolled the dice and went for the tempered glass version - which the sellers warn run the risk of shipping with dust behind the glass.

Well, there wasn't any dust.

BUT...

There is what looks like a god damn crumb of Styrofoam about a centimeter off the bottom edge on the right corner... behind the glass. F Me.

AND...

If you jack the brightness up and toss on a pure black image you'll definitely notice some bleed in the corners. You'll see it clearly in the image below but it's being grossly exacerbated by the camera sensor.

BUT...

for $360 (Monitor plus Dual-link DVI from Monoprice) I'm still satisfied. Very satisfied.



rookpsu is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 01:14 AM   #16
MR1324
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
very interesting. this is the first time i've heard about this monitor. i'm definitely picking one up soon!
MR1324 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 03:02 AM   #17
Dangerous Theory
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK
How shoddily are those things being put together if the seller themselves warn of dust in the screen? I do wonder about their longevity.
Dangerous Theory is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2012, 02:35 AM   #18
n8236
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
I am still considering whether to pull the trigger or not. Basically, these cheaper Korean brands (Shimian, Yamakasi, Achieva, CrossOver) all run the LG IPS panels which Apple uses for their Cinema screens.

There multiple variations of each brand (some more than others) and comes with different options (built-in speakers, HDMI stero, tempered glass, etc).

Unfortunately, one of the biggest drawbacks is their main use of DL-DVI. If you search MBA or MBP with any of these monitors, you'll find a few articles stating u need certain DL-DVI, Thunderbolt, MiniDisplay hardware to make it work.

You can't find any other monitor of that size with that sort of resolution w/o spending a fortune.
__________________
MBP Duo Core (02/14/06) : Pro Core 2 Duo (12/23/08) : MBP i7 (04/16/10) : MBP i7 v2 (02/03/11) : MBPr (08/25/12)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/405480361.png
n8236 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2012, 03:24 AM   #19
aeboi
macrumors 65816
 
aeboi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bay Area
As long as you take the $60+ USB/MDP adapter into consideration when purchasing, you shouldn't be disappointed. It's simply not plausible to get the max resolution (with a MBA) w/o one of those "pricey" adapters.

If you want a similar monitor for more money and one that doesn't require one of those adapters, you left with an option such as this one which has a DP connection:
http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0384780
aeboi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2012, 04:10 AM   #20
smithy1185
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
I bought the Shimian in April and it has been well worth it. I'm still really impressed with it. I wouldn't buy the tempered glass version though because it's just one more thing to potentially have a problem. The monitor worked perfectly with my 08 MBP but I didn't need any adapters for it. I plan to pickup an Air next week when I get back from vacation so I can't speak about that, but like others said you would need the DL-DVI adapter and not HDMI.

Being a gamer, I'm glad most of these monitors are pretty bare bones without a scaler and OSD, but having only one output is a nuisance sometimes. The only problems mine has are 1 stuck pixel in the upper left I never notice, a slight tilt to the left which was corrected by a folded piece of paper, and it does buzz at full brightness on huge white images/websites (doesn't bother me since I always have music or a fan going). Despite this, I think it's a great value for the money and I'd order another one in a heartbeat.
smithy1185 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 09:25 PM   #21
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Surprised there isn't more talk about these on here. My buddy just informed me on these and he bought two of these from Green-Sum. They come with HDMI, speakers and US power plug since all the cheaper ones only have the Korean plug on them.

I can't wait to check them out. I'd love two of them myself to replace my dual 23" ACDs.

Does anyone know if they are glossy or matte?
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 09:36 PM   #22
MR1324
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I purchased this one:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/230774446127...#ht_9921wt_936

It arrived in 3 days! I'm extremely pleased with the screen quality and build. Many people have complained about the stand, but I see nothing wrong with it as it does what it is supposed to. Although I ordered the perfect pixel version, there were still a good amount of dead pixels (10-20). However, the pixels are so small that they are almost impossible to see. Had I known that the advertised "perfect pixel" ones also come with dead pixels, I would have just bought the normal version and saved some money. Per the seller's policy, I'm going to try to get a partial refund for the monitor due to the # of bad pixels. Here is a link comparing the different versions of these displays:

http://www.swiftworld.net/2012/04/14...ds-and-models/
MR1324 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 12:36 PM   #23
gregaz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I know this is a MBA thread, but if anyone could shed some light on a MBP/27" IPS issue I am having (details here), I would greatly appreciate it. Perhaps it would help others as well.

*** Updated with the solution at the link above.

Last edited by gregaz; Nov 1, 2012 at 12:59 PM.
gregaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2013, 02:47 PM   #24
RepusJonathan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Does the mid 2012 macbook air integrated GPU have enough power to drive the monitor? :/

Last edited by RepusJonathan; Sep 21, 2013 at 04:08 PM.
RepusJonathan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2013, 07:10 PM   #25
Agent-P
macrumors 68020
 
Agent-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by RepusJonathan View Post
Does the mid 2012 macbook air integrated GPU have enough power to drive the monitor? :/
It should be able to run it. I can't speak from experience how well it runs (I have a 1080p monitor, not 1440p), but it definitely is capable.
__________________
I have a dream that one day iOS users, Android users, and Windows Phone users will be able to sit down together at the table of brotherhood.
---------------
Xbox Live/PSN: ClassyPandaBear
Agent-P is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to display 2560x1440 using MacBook Air (2011) unagimiyagi MacBook Air 13 Apr 13, 2014 03:26 PM
27" 1080p IPS monitor vs 2560x1440? ZaYoOoD Mac mini 52 May 25, 2013 07:33 AM
Retina Macbook Pro with three 2560x1440 screens - possible? Artagra MacBook Pro 1 Feb 14, 2013 02:56 PM
Do the new Airs and Pros use IPS screens? safe1 MacBook Air 5 Jun 12, 2012 04:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC