Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 2, 2012, 02:50 AM   #76
miles01110
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmarts View Post
does it the new version still allow you to highlight and zone areas?.
Yes. Some of the demo videos show zoning.
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2012, 12:53 PM   #77
joeysarks
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Detroit
Not good...I used to play this game for days straight. Sooooo addictive!
joeysarks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 01:46 PM   #78
ELMI0001
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Olympic Hills GC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chundles View Post
Will porntipsguzzardo still work?
ha! hadn't thought of that phrase since junior high.
__________________
Al-MacBook, 13-inch, Late 2008, C2D 2.0ghz, 4gb ram, 500 gb SSD; 32gb iPhone 5S, blue nano; iPad (3rd Gen); Apple TV(3rd Gen)
ELMI0001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 03:16 PM   #79
McCaffers
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Yeah it looks awesome.

Will it actually require a internet connection? Its one of the best games to play on the move.
__________________
Me
McCaffers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 03:54 PM   #80
ELMI0001
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Olympic Hills GC
Quote:
Originally Posted by McCaffers View Post
Yeah it looks awesome.

Will it actually require a internet connection? Its one of the best games to play on the move.
From everything I've read today it will definitely require an internet connection.
__________________
Al-MacBook, 13-inch, Late 2008, C2D 2.0ghz, 4gb ram, 500 gb SSD; 32gb iPhone 5S, blue nano; iPad (3rd Gen); Apple TV(3rd Gen)
ELMI0001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 09:28 PM   #81
Schtumple
macrumors 601
 
Schtumple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: benkadams.com
 
Send a message via Skype™ to Schtumple
Quote:
Originally Posted by ELMI0001 View Post
From everything I've read today it will definitely require an internet connection.
That's kinda crappy beyond many measures. I don't get why it's needed for it to call home ALL the time, I know pretty much everyone has an internet connection now, but I mean even Steam games don't have to call home every time you fire them up and their distribution is online.

SimCity is awesome, EA is a bane on the games industry.

Anyone notice how there's a pretty similar correlation in ethos between the big games distributors and record labels? Maybe they hired on some of their execs.
__________________
Schtumple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 01:10 AM   #82
NuggetSauce
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Let's see if my city will actually make money without me using cheat codes.
NuggetSauce is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 02:48 AM   #83
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schtumple View Post
That's kinda crappy beyond many measures. I don't get why it's needed for it to call home ALL the time, I know pretty much everyone has an internet connection now, but I mean even Steam games don't have to call home every time you fire them up and their distribution is online.

SimCity is awesome, EA is a bane on the games industry.

Anyone notice how there's a pretty similar correlation in ethos between the big games distributors and record labels? Maybe they hired on some of their execs.


EA are not the pioneers of this form of DRM.

And sadly as inconvenient as it is, if this is the only way to successfully combat rampant piracy in the pc gaming world (and yes it is rampant) in order to actually fund pc game development it's a price end users are going to have to pay.

It's nothing to do with greedy ethos, it's to do with trying to keep a business profitable. Remember music, book, film and game publishing is a high risk venture. Only 5% of titles actually go on to reap massive profits and whilst that's wonderful, you have to realise that profit doesn't go into 'greedy execs' wallets - it goes into off setting massive losses that the remainder of the games outputted create.

This is the same for music, film, and book publishing. Why do you think so many publishers and game developers go out of business.

Now add rampant piracy into the mix, diluting an already risky venture and yes it tips the balance completely. Book publishers are now finding themselves in similar water with the rise in ebook piracy.

So yes always on DRM such as this maybe the only way to actually continue seeing big companies invest millions in developing games for it.


Thumb resize.


Look at the top 10 games pirated.

Now put yourself in EA's shoes and see that 14 million games in the top 10 alone were stolen. That's $600,000,000 worth of games and that's just the top 10.....

Now ask why we don't see lots of original iP's anymore, why we have strict persistent online DRM going forward..... The answer is greed, but not on EA's part, but on the consumer.
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh

Last edited by maflynn; Aug 13, 2012 at 05:15 AM. Reason: Please use TIMG instead of IMG when posting large images
MacRumorUser is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 12:47 PM   #84
Renzatic
macrumors 604
 
Renzatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Who puts the washers in the woods?
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
Snip
I won't deny that piracy is a problem, but I always take issues with reports like these. These reports tend to be greatly overinflated, and assume that every single single pirated copy is a lost sale. In some cases, it may very well be, but it doesn't consider...

1. A person pirating the copy would've bought the game to begin with.

I knew this one guy, a friend of mine's girlfriend's boyfriend, who pirated stuff just to pirate it. Anything he could get his hands on, he got. Just so hey could say he had it.

His type is the worst of the worst. But truthfully, he'd never buy even a quarter of the stuff he downloads to begin with. Is he a lost sale? Did his downloading of some random piece of software put whatever company that produced it into a deficit because he downloaded it?

2. That the person pirated the game as a demo, with intentions of buying it if he likes it.

I've done this before. There have been occasions where I wanted to see how well a game would run before I buy it, but the game didn't have a demo to test out with. I grab a copy, try it out for 20 minutes, then go out and buy it if I like it.

Yet if my download were considered among those stats, I'd be considered a lost sale that cost the company $100,000 or so.

3. Some people actually grab pirated copies for games they buy. I did this just the other day with L.A. Noire. Apparently Rockstar did a halfassed job getting their always online DRM Rockstar Social Club working on machines with Windows on it. I'd load up the game, and watch it try to synchronize to their servers for infinity. To even attempt getting it to work, I had to remove half of my security features. Even then, it wasn't guaranteed it'd work. So instead of potentially putting my computer at risk for something that may or may not work, I grabbed a pirated copy and used the crack on my officially bought version. Worked like a charm.

...yet the software companies would consider my download a lost sale.

Number #3 is actually my biggest issue with the whole online DRM schemes. They don't stop piracy, yet punish those who legitimately bought their games. You sometimes have to jump through hoops just to get the damn things to work, while the pirates who got it off Pirate Bay are playing it trouble free. It accomplishes nothing besides punishing your customers.

And it's not even necessary. Witcher 2 came out DRM free after the first week, and yet CD Projekt still sold tons of copies, and are still selling more. Was the game pirated? Sure it was. But it was pirated no more or less than the DRMed games. In the end, these companies might as well let their honest customers enjoy as trouble free an experience as they can provide.
Renzatic is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 05:24 PM   #85
Tymmz
macrumors 65816
 
Tymmz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
...
$8 billion ipod
Tymmz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 09:34 PM   #86
Schtumple
macrumors 601
 
Schtumple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: benkadams.com
 
Send a message via Skype™ to Schtumple
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
words
The game will be cracked within weeks of it's launch, I will buy the game, but I will download the patch that stops this call home nonsense.
__________________
Schtumple is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 10:46 AM   #87
Lichqueen
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hong Kong
SimCity Coming to Mac in February 2013!

http://www.businesswire.com/news/hom...-February-2013
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1(6-Core, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD, D700)
iPhone 5s
iPad 2
Lichqueen is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 10:55 AM   #88
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rigel IV
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lichqueen View Post
SimCity Coming to Mac in February 2013!

http://www.businesswire.com/news/hom...-February-2013
Close. The Mac version is "TBD" while the PC version is February.

http://www.simcity.com/en_US/buy/simcity

Thumb resize.
__________________
It's true, we are aliens. But what are you going to do about it? It's a two-party system. You have to vote for one of us.
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 11:10 AM   #89
stujmac26
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Close. The Mac version is "TBD" while the PC version is February.

http://www.simcity.com/en_US/buy/simcity

Thumb resize.
Nope - EA confirmed today at Gamescon that the Mac version will also be out in February, and that Origin is launching for Mac this year

http://www.ign.com/articles/2012/08/...-coming-to-mac
__________________
64GB iPhone 5 Mac Pro (Mid 2010) Apple TV 2 64GB New iPad
stujmac26 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 11:15 AM   #90
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rigel IV
Quote:
Originally Posted by stujmac26 View Post
Nope - EA confirmed today at Gamescon that the Mac version will also be out in February, and that Origin is launching for Mac this year

http://www.ign.com/articles/2012/08/...-coming-to-mac
I only quoted and posted a screen shot right from the SimCity purchase page; its says TBD.
__________________
It's true, we are aliens. But what are you going to do about it? It's a two-party system. You have to vote for one of us.
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 11:20 AM   #91
stujmac26
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
I only quoted and posted a screen shot right from the SimCity purchase page; its says TBD.
So they haven't updated the site yet. Your post was misleading - EA confirmed today that it will be released for the Mac in February, alongside the PC.
__________________
64GB iPhone 5 Mac Pro (Mid 2010) Apple TV 2 64GB New iPad
stujmac26 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 12:22 PM   #92
Nuttydev
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bristol, England.
There's an upcoming beta (for Windows) if anyone is interested

http://www.simcity.com/en_US/beta/info
__________________
27" 2013 iMac; 13.3" 2012 Macbook Air; 64GB iPhone 6; 16GB iPad Mini
Nuttydev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 12:29 PM   #93
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rigel IV
I'm just so thrilled that it will be on OS X which means I will not have to BootCamp Windows as I was planning to in order to play it.
__________________
It's true, we are aliens. But what are you going to do about it? It's a two-party system. You have to vote for one of us.
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 01:13 PM   #94
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
I was hoping they wouldn't bother porting Origin to the Mac. Oh well.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2012, 04:58 AM   #95
miles01110
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
Signed up for the beta yesterday.
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 12:47 AM   #96
anshuvorty
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
re: current PSU and proposed upgraded graphics card

hi guys,

i really wanna play the new simcity at the highest res possible on my pc. however, i have the following setup and in need for some advice. on my current pc, I have a corsair cx430 power supply and a 9500gt video card. I am thinking of upgrading my video card to a gtx 550 ti. however, the gtx 550 ti requires a minimum of a 400 w psu with a rating of 24 amps on +12v rail. on my current cx430 psu, it has a rating of 28 amps on the +12v rail.

Is it ok to go ahead and buy the gtx 550 ti even though I am slightly above the minimum specs required to run this graphics card?

PS: I also have 2 hard drives and a Core 2 Duo E6700 (nothing is overclocked) as well as 2 monitors (a 22.5 inch Hanspree 1920x1080p monitor, and a Acer 18.3 inch 1366x768 monitor)

Thank you
__________________
2nd Generation iPod Touch (8GB), 6th Generation iPod Classic (80GB), 2nd Generation iPod Shuffle (Silver, 1 GB), 5th Generation iPod Touch (Black/Slate, 32 GB)
anshuvorty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 04:11 AM   #97
peskaa
macrumors 68020
 
peskaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by anshuvorty View Post
hi guys,

i really wanna play the new simcity at the highest res possible on my pc. however, i have the following setup and in need for some advice. on my current pc, I have a corsair cx430 power supply and a 9500gt video card. I am thinking of upgrading my video card to a gtx 550 ti. however, the gtx 550 ti requires a minimum of a 400 w psu with a rating of 24 amps on +12v rail. on my current cx430 psu, it has a rating of 28 amps on the +12v rail.

Is it ok to go ahead and buy the gtx 550 ti even though I am slightly above the minimum specs required to run this graphics card?

PS: I also have 2 hard drives and a Core 2 Duo E6700 (nothing is overclocked) as well as 2 monitors (a 22.5 inch Hanspree 1920x1080p monitor, and a Acer 18.3 inch 1366x768 monitor)

Thank you
Wait, you're asking if it's okay to buy if you're above the minimum? Surely any form of logic indicates yes? However why are you buying an old series card? Look at the current 600 series.
__________________
rMBP 15"(2012) 2.3 i7 | 16GB | 256GB | 650M
iMac 27"(2011) 3.1 i5 | 8GB | 1TB | 6970M
DS211j 2x2TB
peskaa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 06:18 PM   #98
Solomani
macrumors 68000
 
Solomani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ELMI0001 View Post
From everything I've read today it will definitely require an internet connection.
Well, it could be worse..... they might be dumb enough to infect the game with a WoW-style Auction House.
Solomani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 08:29 PM   #99
mrmarts
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Melbourne Australia
With this game i won't be able to wait and have to go through origin for this one, but i still prefer mac app store games as everything is in launchpad and easy to backup. I also hate the idea of running a app to run a game like steam, thats the reason why i never have tried it and hate using origin just to get Sim City.
__________________
Late 2013 13" MacBook Pro Retina | Time Capsule 2TB | iPhone 6 Plus 128GB Black | Apple TV 3 Living Room | iMac 27" Late 2013: i7 3.5 GHz, 16GB Ram, 3TB Fusion, 780M, |Ipad Air 128Gb Space Grey

Last edited by mrmarts; Feb 15, 2013 at 06:59 PM.
mrmarts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 11:51 AM   #100
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmarts View Post
This game brings back memories and would look great on my macbook retina but the game kinda still follows sim city societies as in the placing individual buildings, does it the new version still allow you to highlight and zone areas?.
Yes, but you can't directly control whether its high/low/medium density anymore.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Store is down [5th Apr 2013 - MERGED] lewdvig Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 16 Apr 5, 2013 06:09 AM
SimCity 2013 will it work on my MacBook Pro 2009 in Windows 7? melman101 MacBook Pro 22 Apr 4, 2013 06:38 AM
First Look at the New SimCity, Coming February 2013 MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 129 Mar 17, 2013 09:16 AM
New SimCity Coming to Mac in February 2013 MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 157 Mar 14, 2013 06:20 AM
Apple Store Down - 27 Feb 2013 [Merged] carl0sian Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 39 Feb 28, 2013 05:44 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC