Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 27, 2012, 05:37 PM   #1
troye
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lubbock, TX
What is kernel_task and why is it taking up so much memory?

I have 4GB of RAM on my iMac and this kernel_task is taking up between 335MB-450MB.

This is making it hard for me to run both Motion 5 and Final Cut at the same time.

What is kernel_task and is there a way to make it take up less RAM at any given time? Thanks.
troye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2012, 05:38 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by troye View Post
I have 4GB of RAM on my iMac and this kernel_task is taking up between 335MB-450MB.

This is making it hard for me to run both Motion 5 and Final Cut at the same time.

What is kernel_task and is there a way to make it take up less RAM at any given time? Thanks.
Kernel task is your operating system.
  1. Launch Activity Monitor
  2. Change "My Processes" at the top to "All Processes"
  3. Click on the CPU column heading once or twice, so the arrow points downward (highest values on top).
  4. Click on the System Memory tab at the bottom.
  5. Take a screen shot of the whole Activity Monitor window, then scroll down to see the rest of the list, take another screen shot
  6. Post your screenshots.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2012, 06:21 PM   #3
troye
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lubbock, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Kernel task is your operating system.
  1. Launch Activity Monitor
  2. Change "My Processes" at the top to "All Processes"
  3. Click on the CPU column heading once or twice, so the arrow points downward (highest values on top).
  4. Click on the System Memory tab at the bottom.
  5. Take a screen shot of the whole Activity Monitor window, then scroll down to see the rest of the list, take another screen shot
  6. Post your screenshots.
Here is the screen shot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-06-27 at 6.17.53 PM.png
Views:	15497
Size:	196.0 KB
ID:	345459  
troye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2012, 06:26 PM   #4
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by troye View Post
Here is the screen shot
Read step #2 again. It's in bold text.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2012, 06:47 PM   #5
troye
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lubbock, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Read step #2 again. It's in bold text.
sorry about that.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-06-27 at 6.47.05 PM.png
Views:	14343
Size:	186.7 KB
ID:	345463  
troye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2012, 07:11 PM   #6
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by troye View Post
sorry about that.
Everything looks normal to me. It doesn't look like anything should be contributing to performance problems.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2012, 08:40 PM   #7
TyroneShoes2
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by troye View Post
I have 4GB of RAM on my iMac and this kernel_task is taking up between 335MB-450MB.

This is making it hard for me to run both Motion 5 and Final Cut at the same time...
Not really, because you still have nearly a Gig unused. Neither program is paging VM at any particular heavy rate, so a lack of RAM is not your bottleneck, and more RAM will likely not help.

The best thing is to run them separately; if that is impractical, you need a bigger boat.
__________________
10 Macs, including the first 128K Mac and a late-2011 MBA, 7 iPods, 2 iPhones, iPad 1, iPad 3, and lord knows how much Apple software over the years.
TyroneShoes2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 11:25 AM   #8
aismaiil
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Hi there. This is my screen shot. My kernal_task goes up to 700MB sometimes when I have no applications open whatsoever other than finder, activity monitor and safari. I just want to know whether it's normal or not, because I know RAM has nthing to do my MBP's performance as I upgraded it to 8GB and I have over 4GB of free RAM, but it gets really slow sometimes with the beach ball being a pain in the a**, I don't know whether I should just switch my HD to an SSD! Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-08-01 at 19.13.01.png
Views:	4200
Size:	801.2 KB
ID:	351011   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-08-01 at 19.21.03.png
Views:	2605
Size:	833.4 KB
ID:	351012  
aismaiil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 11:29 AM   #9
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by aismaiil View Post
Hi there. This is my screen shot. My kernal_task goes up to 700MB sometimes when I have no applications open whatsoever other than finder, activity monitor and safari. I just want to know whether it's normal or not, because I know RAM has nthing to do my MBP's performance as I upgraded it to 8GB and I have over 4GB of free RAM, but it gets really slow sometimes with the beach ball being a pain in the a**, I don't know whether I should just switch my HD to an SSD! Thanks
The Mac OS X kernel_task will use varying amounts of memory and CPU, depending on what it's doing. You have plenty of memory available and no page outs, so any performance issues you may have are not memory-based. If you're getting beachballs on Safari, it could be Flash-related. For Flash-related issues:
  • Find your Flash version and make sure it's the latest version available. Never install or update Flash from a pop-up on a website. Always go to Adobe's site to get Flash or updates.
  • Install ClickToFlash (Safari), Flashblock (Firefox) or FlashBlock (Chrome) to control which Flash content plays on websites.
  • Try using the YouTube HTML5 Video Player to watch YouTube videos, when available. (May impact fullscreen viewing. See link for details.) Some have reported better performance with HTML5, while some have reported worse. Try it and find out what works best for you.
GGJstudios is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 11:17 AM   #10
TweakOnline
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Europe
Guys, is this normal?
On my 15'' MacBook Pro Retina Kernel Task uses more than 1GB of ram, why!?
__________________
An Apple a day, Microsoft away.
TweakOnline is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 11:29 AM   #11
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweakOnline View Post
Guys, is this normal?
On my 15'' MacBook Pro Retina Kernel Task uses more than 1GB of ram, why!?
Because you have plenty of RAM, and if it isn't used, it is useless and you might as well not have it.
gnasher729 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 01:50 PM   #12
TweakOnline
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnasher729 View Post
Because you have plenty of RAM, and if it isn't used, it is useless and you might as well not have it.
8GB of ram isn't much and if I'm using Adobe Photoshop or Aperture it still uses up to 1GB of ram.

Next time I'll buy a Mac it will be definitely have 16GB of ram... :/
__________________
An Apple a day, Microsoft away.
TweakOnline is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 01:54 PM   #13
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweakOnline View Post
8GB of ram isn't much and if I'm using Adobe Photoshop or Aperture it still uses up to 1GB of ram.

Next time I'll buy a Mac it will be definitely have 16GB of ram... :/
OS X will use whatever RAM is available. That's what RAM is there for. It doesn't mean you're maxing out your RAM if it's all being used. The only thing you need to watch for is page outs under normal workload.

To determine if you can benefit from more RAM, launch Activity Monitor and click the System Memory tab at the bottom to check your page outs. Page outs are cumulative since your last restart, so the best way to check is to restart your computer and track page outs under your normal workload (the apps, browser pages and documents you normally would have open). If your page outs are significant (say 1GB or more) under normal use, you may benefit from more RAM. If your page outs are zero or very low during normal use, you probably won't see any performance improvement from adding RAM.

Using Activity Monitor to read System Memory and determine how much RAM is being used
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 12:20 AM   #14
phalgun27
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
kernel_task is above 200%

Hi,

I have 13in MacBook Pro. It is 1 year old.
4GB RAM
500GB Hard Disk
2.4GHz
10.8.2 OSX

I think high %CPU use of kernel task is because of flash

I have attached two screenshots.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-02-09 at 11.42.07 AM.png
Views:	2031
Size:	153.2 KB
ID:	395580   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-02-09 at 10.54.45 AM.png
Views:	1177
Size:	147.5 KB
ID:	395581  
phalgun27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 01:10 AM   #15
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by phalgun27 View Post
Hi,

I have 13in MacBook Pro. It is 1 year old.
4GB RAM
500GB Hard Disk
2.4GHz
10.8.2 OSX

I think high %CPU use of kernel task is because of flash

I have attached two screenshots.

Thanks
It seems very unlikely to me that it is caused by Firefox/Shockwave Flash. Did you quit Firefox and then check if kernel_task used less CPU?

I'd check to see if you have an third-party kernel extensions, and try removing those. Or start with a Safe Boot and see if the problem occurs then.
LPZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 05:59 AM   #16
phalgun27
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
It seems very unlikely to me that it is caused by Firefox/Shockwave Flash. Did you quit Firefox and then check if kernel_task used less CPU?

I'd check to see if you have an third-party kernel extensions, and try removing those. Or start with a Safe Boot and see if the problem occurs then.
How can I find third party kernel extensions and how can I safe boot? I noticed when play chess from chesscube.com which uses flash, kernel task is going up from 5% to 220% and system got slow. Also my Mac is getting very hot in 30 mins. Is this normal?

I used to play chess but I have never experienced this problem until last 3 days.

Do you think this is because my mac is getting very hot? I was not using flash player but the kernel task went above 300%

I will try to safe boot and check. I have attached another screenshot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-02-09 at 1.57.07 PM.png
Views:	549
Size:	140.0 KB
ID:	395610  
phalgun27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 08:56 AM   #17
phalgun27
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
It seems very unlikely to me that it is caused by Firefox/Shockwave Flash. Did you quit Firefox and then check if kernel_task used less CPU?

I'd check to see if you have an third-party kernel extensions, and try removing those. Or start with a Safe Boot and see if the problem occurs then.
LPZ,

I ran mac in safe mode...kernel task is below 10% even though I ran flash but the system got slow like in normal mode.

Attached is a copy of screenshot

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-02-09 at 7.44.45 PM.png
Views:	1334
Size:	147.2 KB
ID:	395648  
phalgun27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 10:20 AM   #18
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by phalgun27 View Post
LPZ,

I ran mac in safe mode...kernel task is below 10% even though I ran flash but the system got slow like in normal mode.

Attached is a copy of screenshot

Thanks
There are no page outs, so you have sufficient RAM. In the screenshot, you do have two browsers open, and it appears that Spotlight is working at indexing your filesystem. That could explain the slowness.

To see if any third-party kernel extensions are involved, reboot without using Safe Boot and then open Terminal (in Utilities). Copy and paste the following into Terminal and press return:

Code:
kextstat | grep -v com.apple
This should produce a list of any non-Apple kernel extensions that are loaded (if any). Please post the output.
LPZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 09:27 PM   #19
phalgun27
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
There are no page outs, so you have sufficient RAM. In the screenshot, you do have two browsers open, and it appears that Spotlight is working at indexing your filesystem. That could explain the slowness.

To see if any third-party kernel extensions are involved, reboot without using Safe Boot and then open Terminal (in Utilities). Copy and paste the following into Terminal and press return:

Code:
kextstat | grep -v com.apple
This should produce a list of any non-Apple kernel extensions that are loaded (if any). Please post the output.


There might be malfunction of a exhaust fan. I installed iStat Pro and it says exhaust fan is 0rpm. My Mac is over-heating, especially on the left side of the keyboard. I am not hearing fan sound from last 2 days. Before that there was weird sound coming from my fan (for couple of mins and then goes off), it is like a cracking sound. I thought there might be dust particles in my fan. Now I do not hear fan sound at all. Do you think this might be the reason for kernel_task having high % CPU?

I am unable to run AHT. I guess I need to connect my Mac to ethernet and then try AHT. Do I need to run SMC? Clear the dust particles in the exhaust fan?

I will check for kernel task third party extensions and let you know.

Thanks



Thanks
phalgun27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 10:33 PM   #20
phalgun27
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
There are no page outs, so you have sufficient RAM. In the screenshot, you do have two browsers open, and it appears that Spotlight is working at indexing your filesystem. That could explain the slowness.

To see if any third-party kernel extensions are involved, reboot without using Safe Boot and then open Terminal (in Utilities). Copy and paste the following into Terminal and press return:

Code:
kextstat | grep -v com.apple
This should produce a list of any non-Apple kernel extensions that are loaded (if any). Please post the output.
Below is the output I got

Last login: Sun Feb 10 09:56:23 on console
Phalguns-MacBook-Pro:~ Phalgun$
Phalguns-MacBook-Pro:~ Phalgun$ kextstat | grep -v com.apple
Index Refs Address Size Wired Name (Version) <Linked Against>
Phalguns-MacBook-Pro:~ Phalgun$ kexstat
-bash: kexstat: command not found
Phalguns-MacBook-Pro:~ Phalgun$ kextstat | grep -v com.apple
Index Refs Address Size Wired Name (Version) <Linked Against>

In one of the forum I posted, they suggested me to replace my logic board.
I guess my exhaust fan is not working, my Mac is getting heated up. Do you think I need to replace logic board? I thought cleaning my exhaust fan would work
phalgun27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 10:49 PM   #21
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweakOnline View Post
Guys, is this normal?
On my 15'' MacBook Pro Retina Kernel Task uses more than 1GB of ram, why!?
It's because the OS has become bloated in recent versions. It may sound silly, but that is basically the problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by phalgun27 View Post
How can I find third party kernel extensions and how can I safe boot? I noticed when play chess from chesscube.com which uses flash, kernel task is going up from 5% to 220% and system got slow. Also my Mac is getting very hot in 30 mins. Is this normal?

I used to play chess but I have never experienced this problem until last 3 days.
Flash sucks on macs, but it could just be doing stuff in the background. They do get hot. I want you to go look up the definition of kernel so you better understand it. The kernel essentially allows the OS to communicate with underlying hardware. You can't do much regarding the amount of resources it consumes. If you think you have a problem, take to Apple or run hardware tests. Do not make assumptions without data.

Quote:
Originally Posted by phalgun27 View Post

In one of the forum I posted, they suggested me to replace my logic board.
I guess my exhaust fan is not working, my Mac is getting heated up. Do you think I need to replace logic board? I thought cleaning my exhaust fan would work
How hot? Macs do get hot, and I mean really hot. Replacing the logic board won't change that, and I'm not sure you realize how expensive that is. The logic board is the most expensive component in the thing due to how much stuff is permanently attached.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 11:38 PM   #22
phalgun27
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
It's because the OS has become bloated in recent versions. It may sound silly, but that is basically the problem.



Flash sucks on macs, but it could just be doing stuff in the background. They do get hot. I want you to go look up the definition of kernel so you better understand it. The kernel essentially allows the OS to communicate with underlying hardware. You can't do much regarding the amount of resources it consumes. If you think you have a problem, take to Apple or run hardware tests. Do not make assumptions without data.



How hot? Macs do get hot, and I mean really hot. Replacing the logic board won't change that, and I'm not sure you realize how expensive that is. The logic board is the most expensive component in the thing due to how much stuff is permanently attached.
The left side of the laptop is hot compared to the right. iStat Pro says the CPU temperature is around 54 to 80 deg C.

Logic board is really expensive. I guess it costs more than $1000.

Does malfunctioning of exhaust fan requires replacing logic board? There might be dust particles stuck in the fan. Should cleaning the fan would work?

Thanks

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
It's because the OS has become bloated in recent versions. It may sound silly, but that is basically the problem.



Flash sucks on macs, but it could just be doing stuff in the background. They do get hot. I want you to go look up the definition of kernel so you better understand it. The kernel essentially allows the OS to communicate with underlying hardware. You can't do much regarding the amount of resources it consumes. If you think you have a problem, take to Apple or run hardware tests. Do not make assumptions without data.





How hot? Macs do get hot, and I mean really hot. Replacing the logic board won't change that, and I'm not sure you realize how expensive that is. The logic board is the most expensive component in the thing due to how much stuff is permanently attached.

I am unable to run AHT on my Mac. There is no apple store at my place.
phalgun27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 11:50 PM   #23
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by phalgun27 View Post
The left side of the laptop is hot compared to the right. iStat Pro says the CPU temperature is around 54 to 80 deg C.

Logic board is really expensive. I guess it costs more than $1000.

Does malfunctioning of exhaust fan requires replacing logic board? There might be dust particles stuck in the fan. Should cleaning the fan would work?

Thanks
They can get this hot even if the fan is fine. Some people have lowered their internal temps by replacing the thermal paste on the cpu and gpu. Either way these temperatures aren't really uncommon among Macs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by phalgun27 View Post
I am unable to run AHT on my Mac. There is no apple store at my place.
They used to bundle it with the OS reinstall disks. I'm not sure now. I'd have to look it up.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 04:19 AM   #24
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by phalgun27 View Post
Below is the output I got

Last login: Sun Feb 10 09:56:23 on console
Phalguns-MacBook-Pro:~ Phalgun$
Phalguns-MacBook-Pro:~ Phalgun$ kextstat | grep -v com.apple
Index Refs Address Size Wired Name (Version) <Linked Against>
Phalguns-MacBook-Pro:~ Phalgun$ kexstat
-bash: kexstat: command not found
Phalguns-MacBook-Pro:~ Phalgun$ kextstat | grep -v com.apple
Index Refs Address Size Wired Name (Version) <Linked Against>

In one of the forum I posted, they suggested me to replace my logic board.
I guess my exhaust fan is not working, my Mac is getting heated up. Do you think I need to replace logic board? I thought cleaning my exhaust fan would work
OK, no third-party kernel extensions.

About the CPU temps--they really don't seem that high for a multi-core machine that is making heavy use of the CPU. Of course, cleaning an exhaust fan can't hurt, but I wouldn't be thinking of replacing a logic board (or anything else) right now. There are apps available that can be used to modify fan speeds, to provide extra cooling. One is called smcFanControl.

If you have the original OS install disk for your machine, load that disk and then restart holding the D key. This should get you the Apple Hardware Test.

But the real issue remains---is kernel_task still using 200% CPU after a normal boot? And if so, why?
LPZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 08:03 AM   #25
phalgun27
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
OK, no third-party kernel extensions.

About the CPU temps--they really don't seem that high for a multi-core machine that is making heavy use of the CPU. Of course, cleaning an exhaust fan can't hurt, but I wouldn't be thinking of replacing a logic board (or anything else) right now. There are apps available that can be used to modify fan speeds, to provide extra cooling. One is called smcFanControl.

If you have the original OS install disk for your machine, load that disk and then restart holding the D key. This should get you the Apple Hardware Test.

But the real issue remains---is kernel_task still using 200% CPU after a normal boot? And if so, why?
I have both smcFanControl and iStat Pro. The fan speed is 0 rpm in both the apps. I have changed the fan speed in smcFanControl but nothing happened. I guess the exhaust fan is not working.

I don't have OS install disk. I tried to boot holding D key but it didn't work. I even tried connecting ethernet and booting but it didn't work too. Are there any other techniques for doing AHT?

I noticed the kernel_task is above 200% when I am watching movies or using flash and when the Mac is getting hot.

The CPU Temperature was 80-90C (not F)
phalgun27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Tags
kernal_task

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kernel_Task Taking up 1.46GB evanparty10 Mac Basics and Help 0 Jan 17, 2014 06:42 PM
Huge memory consumption kernel_task and taskgated rayhigh OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Aug 15, 2013 10:46 AM
kernel_task taking over 150% cpu on my rMBP 15" hajime MacBook Pro 0 Jun 10, 2013 07:27 PM
Kernel_Task taking almsot 1GB of RAM! luke71933 MacBook Pro 21 May 8, 2013 12:11 AM
Kernel_task taking up too much RAM? 2012Tony2012 iMac 4 Dec 14, 2012 03:50 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC