Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lukketto

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 28, 2012
Hi guys,
I'm a researcher in mathematics, and I want to switch to Mac and I need some advices...
For a mathematician (photoshop, matlab, R, word, skype) which one, among MBA (11' i7 8Gb) and MBP (13' i7 8Gb 128SSD), is better?

TNX so much!

PS: Now I have a sandy bridge i7 2630qm (quad core) 8GB on a 24 inches monitor through hdmi.

Sackvillenb

macrumors 6502a
Mar 1, 2011
Canada! \m/
Well, for applications that do a lot of number crunching (e.g. matlab, photoshop, don't worry about stuff like Skype), you'll want the best processor, so upgrading to the 2.0 GHz i7 would be good, and 8 gigs of ram would also be good. But, from your description, it sounds like that what you are doing anyway, so I'm not sure what you are trying to compare or ask with the 11 vs 13"? Is it just the size of the screen? If so, I would consider how portable you need the machine (11" is better obviously), but, the 14" will give you more space on the screen, which is much more useful when doing lots of work, so based on that I might suggest the 13. Try comparing the sizes of windows you can use in the 11 and 13 and you'll see what I mean...