USB 3.0 Seagate Backup Plus - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 29, 2012, 11:34 PM   #1
2Turbo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Thumbs down USB 3.0 Seagate Backup Plus

Anyone know if external drives like seagates backup plus will work correctly with USB 3.0 on the new Air?
2Turbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 10:00 AM   #2
2Turbo
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Does anyone here use USB 3.0 HDD's on the new MBA? Whats your experience been like?
2Turbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 10:02 AM   #3
AcesHigh87
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
I don't have a computer with USB 3.0 or know anyone with a mac that has one. However my PC owning friend has 2-3 USB 3.0 drives and they perform well. The speed is excellent; way better than USB 2.0 and even quite a bit better than Firewire 800.
__________________
21.5" iMac (Mid 2011), 2.8GHz i7, 20GB of RAM, 1TB HDD | 13" macbook (Early 2008), 2.4 GHz C2D, 2GB RAM, 60GB G-Skill SSD | 16GB iPhone 5S | Apple TV | 16GB iPod nano (7th Gen)
AcesHigh87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 10:53 AM   #4
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
I just received a Seagate "Expansion" 1TB portable USB 3 drive to use with my new MacBook Air.

http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Expans...+expansion+1tb

I used it last night to do a Time Machine backup (after formatting it for OS X) and it was quite fast. Watching "Activity Monitor" it seemed to run at 70-80 MBs most of the time. Occasionally it would slow down to 30-40 MBs probably when writing many small files, or when my system was busy doing something else.


-howard
hfg is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 12:13 PM   #5
trondah
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Turbo View Post
Does anyone here use USB 3.0 HDD's on the new MBA? Whats your experience been like?
I have a Goflex 2.5" with USB3, and it's fast as hell compared to USB2. Glad I upgraded from my 2011 MBA
trondah is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 01:54 PM   #6
2Turbo
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by trondah View Post
I have a Goflex 2.5" with USB3, and it's fast as hell compared to USB2. Glad I upgraded from my 2011 MBA
Thanks man. Do you think it would cause problems or overheating to leave mine plugged in all the time at my desk?
2Turbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 02:13 PM   #7
jgc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada
How can you read what your transfer speed is? On my PC it just shows up, but not on my Mac.
jgc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 03:11 PM   #8
Jb07
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Turbo View Post
Thanks man. Do you think it would cause problems or overheating to leave mine plugged in all the time at my desk?
Do you mean leaving it plugged in to an outlet or your computer? If it's plugged into the outlet it won't be spinning because it isn't working. If you leave it plugged into your computer it will decrease the life of the HD because it is constantly spinning.
__________________
iPhone 5 - 32GB (2x), MBA 13"-2011, MBP 15"-2010
Jb07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 03:28 PM   #9
KPOM
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I purchased a USB 3.0 enclosure from NewEgg and created my own backup drive using a hybrid HDD. I get transfer speeds of about 80MB/s. With an SSD I get about twice that. It works well.
KPOM is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 04:03 PM   #10
2Turbo
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jb07 View Post
Do you mean leaving it plugged in to an outlet or your computer? If it's plugged into the outlet it won't be spinning because it isn't working. If you leave it plugged into your computer it will decrease the life of the HD because it is constantly spinning.
I mean leaving it plugged into the USB port. It runs on USB power so will be drawing all power from the Air (not wall socket).

I don't see how decrease in life span is any different than internal HDDs? The whole point is theres not enough room when you're used to 1TB in MBP.
2Turbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 04:05 PM   #11
KPOM
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Turbo View Post
I mean leaving it plugged into the USB port. It runs on USB power so will be drawing all power from the Air (not wall socket).

I don't see how decrease in life span is any different than internal HDDs? The whole point is theres not enough room when you're used to 1TB in MBP.
When you close the lid, the HDD will power down. However, because something is plugged into the USB port, the MacBook Air won't drop into "deep sleep" if you unplug it, meaning it will draw a bit more power while asleep than otherwise.
KPOM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 05:31 PM   #12
AcesHigh87
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgc View Post
How can you read what your transfer speed is? On my PC it just shows up, but not on my Mac.
Black Magic Speed Test (mac app store) is the easiest solution. Letís you test the kinds of speeds your drives are capable of.
__________________
21.5" iMac (Mid 2011), 2.8GHz i7, 20GB of RAM, 1TB HDD | 13" macbook (Early 2008), 2.4 GHz C2D, 2GB RAM, 60GB G-Skill SSD | 16GB iPhone 5S | Apple TV | 16GB iPod nano (7th Gen)
AcesHigh87 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 05:39 PM   #13
2Turbo
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by KPOM View Post
When you close the lid, the HDD will power down. However, because something is plugged into the USB port, the MacBook Air won't drop into "deep sleep" if you unplug it, meaning it will draw a bit more power while asleep than otherwise.
Ok, I could just eject and unplug before sleeping to avoid this.
2Turbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 11:45 AM   #14
DarwinOSX
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcesHigh87 View Post
The speed is excellent; way better than USB 2.0 and even quite a bit better than Firewire 800.
Real world, not theoretical, FW 800 is about even in speed. Which is saying a lot since FW 800 has been around for many years.
__________________
Mac user since 1984.
DarwinOSX is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seagate Backup Plus Thunderbolt with SSD Blue Jakester Mac Peripherals 13 Apr 16, 2014 09:57 PM
Seagate Backup Plus being discontinued? boatcapt Mac Peripherals 8 Dec 11, 2013 04:16 PM
External HDD for new iMac 27" backup - Seagate Backup Plus Desktop USB 3.0 faxao iMac 0 Oct 1, 2013 04:30 AM
Seagate Backup plus for Mac won't allow backup? Jonathanm1222 Mac Peripherals 2 Jun 1, 2013 07:39 PM
Firewire for Seagate Backup Plus? elpmas Buying Tips and Advice 1 Dec 26, 2012 06:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC