Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sairo

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 25, 2012
The Netherlands, Almere
Hello guys,

Im new to the Mac world (used them before at school, but never owned one) and I'm looking for some advice. I already tried the search function, but I don't get the information I'm looking for out of the threads.
I also tried google, but most of the information is outdated.

I own a mid 2010 MBP, with currently the stock 250GB Hitachi hard drive and I'm looking for an upgrade.
At first I was looking at the 500GB drives but then I bought why not go to 750GB for a little bit of extra?
I'm a graphic designer so the extra space won't hurt.

Then came the first complication; do I buy a 5400 rpm or a 7200 rpm?!
I know most of you will say the difference isn't that noticeable, but it will improve my boot time of apps like photoshop and lightroom.
Will the 7200 be a noisy battery sucking drive? Or does the power consumption of 7200 drives these days almost equalizes the 5400's?

The second complication is; what brand? I was looking at Seagate disks (the Seagate ST9500325AS |500GB 5400RPM| & Seagate ST9750420AS |750GB 7200RPM|) because of the pricing and reviews.
I have a Windows pc running and always been into the Western Digital disks, but I can't find positive feedback on those drives for the MacBooks so that brand is a doubter. The Samsung disks didn't impress. Then I bought to be a smart guy and put a Hitachi in it like the stock, but I could only find the Hitachi Travelstar 5K750 (750GB 5400RPM).

So basically I'm looking for help and opinions.

1. Will I notice that I'm running a 7200rpm disk? (sound & battery drain)
2. Which brands work well with the MacBooks?

An SSD is not affordable for me when it comes to 500GB.

Thanks in advance!

JTToft

macrumors 68040
Apr 27, 2010
Aarhus, Denmark